Spiceworks Ziff Davis Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 of over 181 reviews

4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Spiceworks Ziff Davis President Steve Horowitz (no image)
Steve Horowitz
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company culture, encourages success and rewards you well when you hit targets(in 15 reviews)

  • "Casual dress code, approachable team members, free food(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It’s a mid-size company that has experienced some growing pains over the past few years(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great people and great efforts as a company

      Sep 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *You can tell that leadership is focused on creating connection, communicating with the teams, *Hiring process is a multi-step interview so it gives candidates a lot of insight into the company as well as evaluates potential candidates *New(er) efforts to bridge global divides and do team building across geographical lines *Recent hires 2020-2021 have brought on fantastic people with expertise from outside of SWZD *Internal mobility and promotion opportunities are real

      Cons

      Hiring process with the Operations team feels painstakingly slow No plans to gather everyone at least 1x a year (at least according to whats been shared) Lots of change - though this could be a positive depending on how you look at it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Sep 12, 2021 - Senior Editor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All pros in this comapny

      Cons

      No cons at all very good comapny

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great company to start at

      Aug 31, 2021 - IT Support Technician in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good work-life boundaries - Good communication with higher-ups - Decent benefits - Fully to partially remote depending on role

      Cons

      - Needs clearer standardization of job functions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Jul 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work environment and learning experience Perfect work life balance Flexible work timings

      Cons

      Did not find any cons as such

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If You Think This Is a Bad Company to Work For - You've Never Worked For A Bad Company Before

      Jul 8, 2021 - Delivery Team in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has been a breath of fresh air to work for since day 1. I say that with the perspective of someone who has worked in the digital marketing industry for over a decade in various roles and industries and have seen my fair share of challenges across the board. I've been through acquisitions, bad management/leadership, the worst morale imaginable, and other things that I've seen challenges with at SWZD over the past year or two internally, a lot of them being expressed in these reviews as cons. It is only due to the many years of prior experience in this field that has given me some very comforting perspective on these matters and I mean it when I say that these things have not once been a stressor for me in my daily work life here at SWZD. While not every company I worked to prior to this was either great or the worst, I saw a pattern of repeated mistakes across all of them that I haven't really seen at SWZD. Whether it was a lack of talent being hired, underpaying, high turnover, bad leadership, or other related mistakes, it always led to the same miserable feeling of my job feeling like a real drag and dreading over 40 hours of every single week. SWZD has had a fair share of changes since my time here and is still evolving. Personally, I think they've handled these changes very well all things considered - But most of all, I have always felt like a valued person here and have never once felt that leadership valued profits over my safety or personal priorities. This was especially evident during the worst of the pandemic and some really chaotic weather events early this year where I was most definitely struggling on a personal level and this was affecting my work mindset a lot. What brought me a lot of comfort during that time was knowing and being assured through regular communications with leadership and my team - that I wasn't alone and that I had support from my colleagues and company during a very challenging time for everyone. Leadership consistently continues to impress me and earn my trust through their honest and transparent communications to employees and that's something I've certainly never felt before in terms of leadership. I hope to work here for a long time to come and am absolutely grateful to have the opportunity to reach my career goals and work with some of the best people I've ever worked with or known.

      Cons

      Currently, the only thing I think could use improving overall is our hiring timeline as it seems to be pretty long. This was an issue that existed prior to acquisition as it took over 3 months for me to receive an offer from the time of my first interview. I've seen it take a similar amount of time (or even longer) to hire anyone once a role is published.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      You can join if you're used to handle pressure

      Jul 19, 2021 - Business Development Executive in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is a plus point and performance based incentives.

      Cons

      Dominant Management and a bit of pressure coz of sales field.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing place to work

      Jun 24, 2021 - Data Product Manager in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Culture of the org is amazing 2. Right place to grow in your career 3. Work life balance 4. Opportunities to move up the ladder 5. Benefits for employees is very impressive

      Cons

      Frankly haven't found any yet

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing people and workplace

      Jul 6, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had the opportunity to work with some of the brilliant minds and amazing projects throughout my journey. The people and culture is really amazing and everyone is really supportive. Great work-life balance

      Cons

      Nothing as such, but some projects have more tech debt and overall planning could be improved for these.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to learn and grow

      Jun 25, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get to work with latest Technologies Intelligent and Helping people

      Cons

      Too many managers Need to get more engineers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      good culture

      Apr 29, 2021 - Social Media Specialist in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job stability, great HR, Work life balance

      Cons

      nothing as such, Overall good experience

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 157 Reviews

    Work at Spiceworks Ziff Davis? Share Your Experiences

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis logo
    or