Spiceworks Ziff Davis Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 of over 173 reviews

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Spiceworks Ziff Davis President Steve Horowitz (no image)
Steve Horowitz
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company culture, encourages success and rewards you well when you hit targets(in 15 reviews)

  • "Casual dress code, approachable team members, free food(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It’s a mid-size company that has experienced some growing pains over the past few years(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Most Horrible Company to work for!

      Jun 4, 2021 - Associate Editor in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good colleagues in the editorial team - a talented team

      Cons

      Extremely stressful work environment, management pressurizes employees with deadline-driven, heavy workloads, horrible managers especially in the editorial team, no proper training or time given to writers to learn the sector, PIPs are shot within 2 months of new employee joining, egoistic managers and bosses who have been given power to fire employees without any explanation, stingy with their leave policy, unrealistic work expectations which involve working after office hours and even on Sundays, low salaries paid and no compensation/benefits for making employees work 75-80 hours in a week

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best work culture

      Apr 17, 2021 - Associate Software Engineer in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Great work culture. 2. Work life balance. 3. Supportive management. 4. Good pay. 5. Work from anywhere option.

      Cons

      1. I have been working remotely for this company for more than an year. I did not find anything as minus.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best In Place. 'Work From Anywhere'

      Apr 5, 2021 - Business Development Executive in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm new to SWZD to comment of the company as of now. But yes people I have come across may it be the recruiting team or the operations who interviewed had a positive approach. The best part of SWZD is Work from any where policy.

      Cons

      As of now nothing specific to be mentioned.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      good culture

      Apr 29, 2021 - Social Media Specialist in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job stability, great HR, Work life balance

      Cons

      nothing as such, Overall good experience

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Work Culture

      Apr 4, 2021 - Social Media Specialist in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No extra work Pressure, Happy environment, Big company,

      Cons

      Manager will always shadow you by taking all credit of your work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company Values for Decent Pay

      Feb 17, 2021 - Devops Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      decent working pace mistakes are learned from and accepted fun culture progressive company values (Juneteenth & Election day holidays) unlimited PTO employee stock program 401K always considered employee health & safety first during coronavirus fully remote is okay

      Cons

      loose on structure, planning, acceptance criteria pay is at or just below (recruiters offering a bit more almost every time) no clear path to internal growth or promotion (like criteria for engineering tiers or career paths)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for sharing your input. It is good to hear that you agree with what is being done for our employees regarding benefits, time off, and the working environment. We realize the importance of having a career path for every employee and are diligently working to put that in place. We value our employees and their impact on the company. We have a compensation philosophy that we follow and are working towards making sure each employee is paid appropriately. Please feel free to set up a time with HR to discuss any of your concerns. We want to hear from you.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      US-Centric Organisation, Good Benedits

      Mar 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good - unlimited FTO, mental and physical healthcare packages, good pension etc.

      Cons

      Definitely gone downhill since merger. All leadership comes from US who seem to have little interest in offices outside of the country (perhaps even outside of Austin). No clear direction for business as a whole, much less individual paths. Very invested in acquiring, then not really sure what to do after the fact.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Gig

      Feb 8, 2021 - Account Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid product suite, good management and team.

      Cons

      Took some time to get acclimated with the merger.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members and our unique work perks. We care very deeply for our employees and love to hear successful stories about teams collaborating and becoming one team. We are growing quickly which we value your feedback. Your input informs what we do next so that we can cultivate our workplace for everyone’s success.

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company

      Jan 8, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved my time at Spiceworks

      Cons

      I felt it was a difficult and complicated business

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members and our unique work perks. We care very deeply for our employees and love to hear successful stories about teams collaborating and becoming one team. We are growing quickly which we value your feedback. Your input informs what we do next so that we can cultivate our workplace for everyone’s success.

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent people, great work environment

      Aug 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall great company to work for in Hyderabad. It has recently started its operation in Hyderabad in 2019. Modern tech stack Great resources and tools Global mindset Generous perks and outings Open work culture, less hierarchy Great Benefits and salary Flexible work hours Free food Cool office Care for growth and learning Working from home Understanding leadership, smart team and caring people MacBook for engineering team Start-up like nature yet part of the big multinational group

      Cons

      Little uncertainty in the direction

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members and our unique work perks. We care very deeply for our employees and love to hear successful stories about teams collaborating and becoming one team. We are growing quickly which we value your feedback. Your input informs what we do next so that we can cultivate our workplace for everyone’s success.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 149 Reviews

    Work at Spiceworks Ziff Davis? Share Your Experiences

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis logo
    or