Sharp HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sharp HealthCare Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 475 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Sharp HealthCare CEO Chris Howard
Chris Howard
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Organized system, well established, good benefits(in 30 reviews)

  • "great benefits, good work life balance, overall good experience(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lower pay than other San Diego hospitals(in 19 reviews)

  • "upper management can be out of touch with staff(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Joiner 

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Everything is always good yeah

    Cons

    Nothing at all really yeah

    Sharp HealthCare2019-09-11
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good manager. Good co-workers.

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other hospitals.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-09-11
  3. "Best place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, awesome benefits, and amazing people!

    Cons

    Downward communication is not always the best but it has improved over time.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-09-06
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Service Representative in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great ethics, amazing management, over all a great place to work

    Cons

    Raises are not always that great

    Sharp HealthCare2019-08-27

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    August 28, 2019Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for your honest review.

  5. "Great place to work when you're settled down in life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, good work-life balance and good job security.

    Cons

    The career growth is slower than competitors.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-09-01
  6. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cerified Phlebotomist in Mira Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoy the atmosphere. Best company I've worked at

    Cons

    I wish they didn't take away the chances for overtime.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back the overtime

    Sharp HealthCare2019-08-17

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    August 28, 2019Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback. As you know Overtime is additional compensation based on resources and work but we appreciate all the employees that worked to help ensure Sharp maintained one of its core values in being the best place to receive care.

  7. "Sharp Grossmont ER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive pay. Very team oriented environment with support from coworkers and management. Lots of PTO immediately and opportunities for overtime

    Cons

    The ER was understaffed often which made my job a lot more busy.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-08-16

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    September 4, 2019Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for the great work you do for Sharp and your honest review!

  8. "Good but not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Surgery Liaison in La Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tuition reimbursement, helpful team and volunteers, rewarding work.

    Cons

    Sad 30 minute lunch, bureaucracy, upper management does not make contact with lower rank employees, hard to move up unless you are in the medical field.

    Advice to Management

    Make contact with new employees and give recognition without taking credit.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-08-26

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    August 27, 2019Human Resources

    We are sorry to hear about your experience. We are constantly looking to improve on overall transparency as well as improve our effectiveness as an organization.

  9. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - LVN 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, yearly bonuses and raises

    Cons

    HR wasn't any help when needed

    Sharp HealthCare2019-08-03

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    August 9, 2019Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for your feedback. You are encouraged, as a Sharp employee, to share details utilizing your internal resources, e.g. VP of HR, local CEO, etc. to provide specific information as a means of improving our service.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Wish I could continue working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked at Sharp for over 20 years and loved it. Wonderful manager and coworkers. Able to really make an impact with our patients. Great benefits and vacation.

    Cons

    I was injured on the job and was told I need to find a new position. I cannot lift as much as I used to and was told by my HR that I “could not be accommodated” in my RN role. I am following their instructions - apply for jobs that are posted. I was also told it is up to the Hiring Manager if they want to hire me. I am honest so told the Hiring Manager for the ONE interview out of MANY applications that I have... submitted that I had an on the job injury and cannot lift more than 10 pounds. Their demeanor towards me seemed to change and I was not hired. Wish I could stay with Sharp, but guess I need to try my luck with a competitor since no one will hire me here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t turn your injured employees away - we still have a lot to give.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-08-09

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    August 16, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Sharp HealthCare’s intent is to identify opportunities for our injured workers who are unable to return to their department. We would like to hear from you directly to further assist you. Please contact 858/499-5298. Thank you.

Found 475 reviews