Screwfix Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Screwfix CEO John Mewett
John Mewett
117 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "it isn't to bad as you do a 7am - 3pm or a 10am - 6pm if you are full time(in 17 reviews)

  • "Terrible rota management, always changing managers, 6am starts(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Buyer in Yeovil, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture, flexible working hours, leading hardware retailer

    Cons

    Traditional hierarchy, Resistive to change, Complex processes

    Screwfix2020-05-24

    Screwfix Response

    June 1, 2020Talent Director

    Thank you for leaving a review. It's great to hear you enjoy working here and would recommend us as a place to work. If you would like to go into any further detail on anything you have stated, feel free to email us on reviews@screwfix.com

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be great but lost their way"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in West Bromwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team, reasonable shifts, staff discount

    Cons

    Constantly short staffed, lieu hours worked that you never get back. Pay grade is terrible if you climb up through the ranks, but give external employees better pay. Never enough time to train new employees, so they're thrown in at the deep end. Corporate policies, set you up to fail!

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-05-31

    Screwfix Response

    June 1, 2020Talent Director

    Thanks for leaving a review. I'm sorry you have had this experience. We train all of our colleagues on Health and Safety and manual handling and would encourage you to speak with your manager if you're experiencing any health related problems due to your job. In regards to training, we take pride in every new starter having adequate training to feel confident to perform their job well, if you would like to discuss this with us further please email us on reviews@screwfix.com Our stores are very busy with high daily footfall, meaning colleagues are likely to be active for most of their shift, we do our best to clearly state this in any pre-joining materials and would again encourage you to speak with your line manager if you feel it is unmanageable. I hope this helps.

  3. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Website Merchandiser in Yeovil, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great flexible working hours. Good discount. Great team to work for!

    Cons

    Change doesn't happen fast! Communication between departments can be poor

    Screwfix2020-05-14

    Screwfix Response

    June 1, 2020Talent Director

    Thank you for leaving a review. It's great to hear you had a positive experience working here. Good luck with what you are doing now!

  4. "Pay & Equality"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Assistant in Bermondsey, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay frequently increases. Clear pathway to progress from low-level to managerial positions. Kind and pleasant working environment.

    Cons

    Lack of flexibility if you are staff contracted to work weekends. Work can be physically draining, a lot of heavy lifting as it is a lot of building materials that customers require e,g, grout, paint, tools etc. Clear progression to supervisor or assistant manager level, however there is a lot of favouritism that occurs, meaning people who are leadership material can get overlooked.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-05-07

    Screwfix Response

    June 1, 2020Talent Director

    It's great to hear you're aware of our progression routes and enjoy the working environment. Prejudice however, is absolutely not something we condone and would take action against. If you would like to provide us with further detail please email us on reviews@screwfix.com and we can look into this further. Prejudice against BAME colleagues (and all colleagues) would be something we take very seriously, we treat everyone on merit and don’t tolerate discrimination of any kind, our progression programmes do have a diverse population but as we don’t collate ethnic backgrounds we don’t have any stats that say % of colleagues being promoted are from X background. With regards to the work being physically strenuous, our stores are very busy with high daily footfall, meaning colleagues are likely to be active for most of their shift, we do our best to clearly state this in any pre-joining materials but we encourage you to speak with your line manager if you feel it is unmanageable. Thank you.

  5. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, all staff and kind and understanding

    Cons

    Delivery are often very long

    Screwfix2020-04-23
  6. "Our health doesn't mean as much as their wealth"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix

    Pros

    Not sure if they outweigh the cons right now

    Cons

    company is willing to risk mine and my family health to help keep people who are bored during lockdown(who shouldn't be leaving the house) entertained. Hardly any emergency trade needs. Last time I checked boredom wasnt on the list of reasons your allowed to leave the house. Manager seems stressed to the max and everyone is stressed and not wanting to be here as it's a pandemic not some summer flu.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-04-04

    Screwfix Response

    June 1, 2020Talent Director

    Screwfix was categorised as an essential retailer by the Government. We have remained open with a range of products to help keep homes warm, safe and with power, and to support customers with the products they need at home. In line with Government advice, we are providing a service that minimises social contact and we can assure you that we will do all that we can to protect our colleagues, customers and their families. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. If you're comfortable to please email reviews@screwfix.com with further details of the store you are referring to so we can look into this further.

  7. "Great work place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time

    Pros

    Family enviroment with the support and structure needed to progress

    Cons

    Work life balance can sometimes be off

    Screwfix2020-03-19
  8. "No the company it used to be"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security, good pension, staff discount, the people you work wuth

    Cons

    It does depend on what store you work in Branch managers and area managers differ massively. Unfair rotas, lack of staff, expected targets high, high staff turn over, lack of care from higher management, used to be a really nice place to work however over the last 18 months its just a money making machine at any cost staff are now just a number kingfisher are strangling the life out of it.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-03-27

    Screwfix Response

    March 30, 2020Talent Director

    Thank you for leaving a review. Colleague feedback is one of the most important things to us and our business, we actively encourage stores to let us know what's working well and what's not via the in-store feedback forums, so I am sorry if you felt that wasn't listened to. If you'd like to discuss anything in further detail you can email us on reviews@screwfix.com

  9. Helpful (6)

    "I do not feel proud to work for Screwfix anymore."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    progression, fun people, easy job

    Cons

    profit over people, no interest in staff safety

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-04-11
  10. "Super fun"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Screwfix part-time

    Pros

    Super fun. Great people and atmosphere

    Cons

    Hours could be a little hard when you have other obligations like being a student

    Screwfix2020-03-23
Found 544 reviews