Screwfix Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Screwfix CEO John Mewett
John Mewett
117 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "it isn't to bad as you do a 7am - 3pm or a 10am - 6pm if you are full time(in 17 reviews)

  • "Terrible rota management, always changing managers, 6am starts(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great work place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time

    Pros

    Family enviroment with the support and structure needed to progress

    Cons

    Work life balance can sometimes be off

    Screwfix2020-03-19
  2. "Positive Change"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working times work life balance

    Cons

    Are worse off stores, which may struggle to improve

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-03-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Top employer with excellent opportunities to grow within the company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic pay and holiday packages, flexible working hours, opportunities for growth and development, good work-life balance, well established in the market

    Cons

    Head office is too far from London

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-01-28
  4. "Outstanding Conpany to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary, 20% Staff Discount, Job progression, Work life balance.

    Cons

    Haven't come across any cons as of yet

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-01-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good work life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Yeovil, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    • I’ve been at Screwfix over 5 years now & have a good work life balance. Which allows me to be flexible around my hobbies. • The management team are supportive when it comes to workload & development. • There’s not many businesses in this area where I get to be based in the west country, yet work with companies such as Google & Facebook. • The food in The Hub (canteen) is pretty good & cheap.

    Cons

    • Difficult to pin point any real downsides, more just small grumbles – such as Yeovil traffic light system, which even Screwfix can't fix.

    Screwfix2020-01-07
  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    High turnover of staff

    Screwfix2019-12-30
  7. "Don't believe the hype"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teams Decent bonus Decent work life balance

    Cons

    Mental health issues not taking seriously Quickly hung out to dry Squeezing of pay roll Culture used as an excuse for anyrhing and everything. Area managers basically generic email senders, no support all from the old boys network.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-12-04

    Screwfix Response

    December 23, 2019Talent Director

    Firstly, we’d like to thank you for leaving your review. We're very concerned about what you said about mental health issues. We strive to do the best for our people so we would welcome a chance to discuss this further with you. Please email reviews@screwfix.com to provide us with more details so we can investigate.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Sales Supervisor in Beverley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, work life balance, staff.

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Screwfix2019-11-15

    Screwfix Response

    November 18, 2019Talent Director

    Thank you very much for your review, great to hear you love it!

  9. "A changing world"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time

    Pros

    Still a great company to work for, offering a decent work/life balance

    Cons

    There has been a real shift in focus and pace over the past year, the old family culture is gradually being replace by far more target driven one, increasing pressure all round

    Screwfix2019-10-11

    Screwfix Response

    October 14, 2019Talent Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry you feel our family feel is being replaced, that's definitely not something we're encouraging. As we're in the midst of Peak, we appreciate the pressure can be higher on stores but if there's anything in particular you'd like to highlight then please get in touch via reviews@screwfix.com

  10. "Awesome place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture Work life Balance Opportunity to develop

    Cons

    Not that springs to mind

    Screwfix2019-09-25

    Screwfix Response

    October 11, 2019Talent Director

    Thanks for leaving your review - it makes us so happy to see reviews like this!

Found 55 reviews