Safe Software Reviews

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 43 reviews

4.6
96%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Safe Software President Don Murray (no image)
Don Murray
20 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Culture, People and Learning Environment

    Feb 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Questions are answered and encouraged - The staff are friendly, inviting and skilled in what they do - The work itself is engaging - Both the Dev and Non-Dev teams don't have barriers (or at least what I have seen) - The CEO's Don and Dale created an environment where power hierarchies do not exist/are not uncomfortable. - Great workspace/environment especially after moving to the new building. - Very focused on having the work-life balance - Flexible work schedules with WFH available as well

    Cons

    - Room for growth is hard to see - Too many younger employees making mentorship thin and spread out

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Safe Software Response

    HR Generalist

    Hi Safer! Thanks for making time to leave us a review and for providing us with your sincere feedback. We are a team that focuses on putting our people first and with that comes finding ways that we can improve transparency with career development and growth within Safe. Our HR and leadership teams are proactively working on a project right now that tackles these concerns to visualize long-term growth and professional development. Stay tuned!

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Excellent working environment

    Jan 11, 2021 - Administration Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent working environment. Community lunches. Own offices. On-site gym.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Only a job, definitely not a career

    Jan 21, 2020 - Administration in Surrey, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Steady work. - Average salary. - Variety

    Cons

    - No career advancement. - No salary advancement. - Don't care about non-developers. - Staff are only tools, if you don't like it leave attitude. - Owners only care if they are having fun. As soon as it becomes uncomfortable or actual work they don't want to be involved.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Safe Software Response

    HR Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your candid feedback. At Safe, we seek to continuously improve the employment experience, so I'm happy to share that we are in the stages of creating a career development and transparent salary grid for all of our staff. This will help clarify career and salary advancement opportunities across the organization, so our employees have an idea of where they can take their career next at Safe. We care deeply about our team and strive to ensure that we're soliciting feedback where we can to provide the most meaningful experience. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we wish you all the best!

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company

    May 11, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great culture that promotes personal/skills growth - autonomy and no micro-management - everyone is eager to help each other; encourages sharing of ideas/opinions

    Cons

    - individual offices can reduce collaboration between teams - not a lot of vertical opportunities (promotions)

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Safe Software Response

    HR Generalist

    Thank you for leaving your honest feedback for the team, Safer! It's humbling and so nice to hear that our staff feel like they receive the support they need from the company and their peers to carry out their roles and responsibilities at Safe. We value teamwork and creating a safe space for you to work and innovate. As the company continues to grow and scale, we will be looking at ways we can continue to improve our space and its physical layout to foster greater collaboration as well as identify growth and professional development opportunities for our team. These tasks do take time to implement, but rest assured our team is brainstorming ways we can do and be better for you!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Software developer

    Apr 20, 2019 - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, great boss, nice new location

    Cons

    Surrey location can be inconvenient depending on where you live

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Safe Software Response

    HR Generalist

    So happy to hear that you've enjoyed being a part of our Safe team! Our team means everything to us and we try to do what we can to solicit continuous feedback to improve our practices and offerings as an organization. We moved into this new space with our amazing team in mind so we could be more commuter-friendly for our staff who take public transit and to be closer to the heart of Surrey where health and tech are blossoming. Thanks for the great review, Safer!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    A great place to work!

    Jan 24, 2019 - BC - British Columbia in Surrey, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful culture and it starts with the owners

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for career progression. The company is growing and this may be improved over time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Safe Software Response

    HR Generalist

    Hi Safer! Thanks for stopping by our Glassdoor page to leave a review. At Safe, we think it's important to account for all feedback from our staff to help us make Safe Software better for its employees. As we grow and scale as a company, we are looking at focusing on creating clearer career development plans for our team so the work is already underway! Thanks for being a part of our journey.

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good Company but lack of opportunities

    Feb 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, nice office, no stress workplace.

    Cons

    Salary, technology stack, location in Surrey, very slow growth.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Safe Software Response

    HR Generalist

    Thanks for leaving us a review and bringing your feedback to our attention. We are happy to hear that you've enjoyed working alongside your colleagues and the beautiful new office space we've moved into during your time at Safe. Our team is our number one priority, so we do make sure that we look at salary market data regularly to ensure we are on-side with compensation. We want to ensure that we can continue to provide wonderful perks and benefits for our team, such as our profit sharing bonus, so we are very deliberate with our hiring. This is to ensure we can sustain steady growth moving forward!

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Safe Review

    Sep 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are a lot of office-wide events that allow colleagues to get to know one another and mingle a bit. It's great to see different departments sitting down for lunch together.

    Cons

    Lower compensation than other companies.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Safe Software Response

    Recruitment Specialist

    We're so glad to hear that you've enjoyed and see the value in our company-wide social events. Our large lunchroom space is certainly conducive to allowing your staff members across all departments to mix and mingle during our community lunch days, regular lunch hours, coffee breaks and even after working hours when they're hanging out playing board games! Compensation is an area that we review on a regular basis during the year to keep ourselves in line with competitive market rates in the high tech industry. For this, we make sure that we take into account various Salary Surveys with data focused across the BC Lower Mainland. Thanks for stopping by our Glassdoor page to leave us a review! We're glad you had a positive experience working with us at Safe and wish you all the best in your next adventure!

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love working here.

    Jun 3, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company culture, fantastic co-workers. Can be proud of what we do and the product we make. Beautiful work space with private offices, a massage room, a great gym. Lunch options are stocked by someone who cares and brings a great variety of things. There are opportunities to participate in lunch time soccer, hockey, running, and yoga. Bike to work is hugely supported (mud room for cycling folks). Olympics and World Cup soccer viewing on the big screen on comfy couches. Flexible schedules, work-life-balance (and family) are important. Don and Dale are great visionaries and leaders.

    Cons

    Business park is in Surrey. You have to drive or take transit which requires a bus and can take a long time if you are coming from North Shore or Vancouver. Not a lot of food options in the area - makes it harder for going out for lunch or even socializing after work.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Safe Software Response

    HR team member

    We're glad you love working here! Our people are the heart and soul of Safe. It's true that taking a bus from the North Shore can take a bit of time - the good news is that we have a direct shuttle service to and from the Skytrain which can help ease the commute.

  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Best experience of my career to date

    Mar 4, 2015 - Java Developer in Surrey, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Humble, happy, healthy, playful people. Work-life balance is terrific, senior management values families and want you to spend time with them. Fully stocked kitchen, games room, TV, private offices for everyone!

    Cons

    Some grumpy / unhappy people, but also some very positive people. You're probably going to get that anywhere though. They didn't cover MSP while I was there. Hard to gauge how you're doing, probably varies from manager to manager however.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Safe Software Response

    HR team member

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback - it is really humbling to hear that working at Safe was such a great experience for you. Your suggestion about MSP is duly noted. As well, we appreciate your comments about receiving feedback. It is important to all of us at Safe to provide/receive ongoing feedback, coaching and mentoring. We will strive to be more proactive in this area.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

Popular Careers with Safe Software Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Safe Software? Share Your Experiences

Safe Software logo
or