Rapid7 Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Rapid7 Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Rapid7 President and Chief Executive Officer Corey E. Thomas
Corey E. Thomas
177 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Positive experience for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Compensation and opportunities for advancement correlate directly with your contributions and dedication, it will not go unnoticed. - Innovation and experimentation are highly encouraged. You are free to use the technologies and solutions that best fit the task at hand. - The sense of community and work life balance is remarkable; they really go above and beyond to provide you with all of the resources you need for success.

    Show More

    Cons

    - This company's culture is one of innovation and pushing the envelope. While the community is there to help you succeed, and will do all it can to set you up for success, you are expected to be a self starter and passionate about the work you do.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to take care of the talent you have, it doesn't go unnoticed!

    Rapid72019-11-27
  2. "Good place to work on emerging technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time

    Pros

    Agile environment, ship-first mentality, eagerness to embrace new technology to solve problems

    Cons

    Politics but that’s everywhere. Upper management advocate a culture of inclusion and respect but there is zero actual enforcement. Aside from business results there is little accountability for managers treating employees poorly or taking advantage of them

    Rapid72019-12-27
  3. "Good Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Lovely office space Easy to colloborate

    Cons

    High paced the work never stops

    Advice to Management

    Non

    Rapid72019-09-23
  4. Helpful (30)

    "Bitter taste for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free stuff Nice office Paid Lunches and trips

    Cons

    Extremely political 10 people quit or were forced to quit in 2018. Some of them had been there for years. Leadership is extremely weak, cowardly and cannot take criticism. Extremely comfortable with the status quo extremely rude and incompetent office management Arrogant and Rude senior members of the teams. Confidence killing leads. Encourage overworking - burnt out team members. Management deaf to advice

    Advice to Management

    Please consider taking steps to improve the working conditions in Toronto as opposed to telling people to be mindful before they post on Glassdoor. Note that the number of "is helpful" button on glassdoor is proof that no one working at Rapid7 believe the positive reviews.

    Rapid72018-12-10
  5. Helpful (21)

    "leader lied and ate their words"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    engineer are smart and technical skill is strong

    Cons

    my leader is really talkative. Even if in working time, he would ask some private question to team members, like their family status and also he shared his personal things, like baby, sister, etc. he knew my baby is coming very earlier. He asked me on Monday if i have any plan to do parental leave, I honestly answer not decided it yet and he honestly replied GM doesn't hope team members take long parental leave. On Thursday, company terminated me. Later on, HR told me he told HR he didn't know my baby is coming and there is no such kind of talk regarding to my parental leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    improve ethic management

    Rapid72017-01-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Force multiplier - you get more out than you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rapid7 has a genuine dedication to learning and experimentation. The company is still a genuine meritocracy, good ideas come for all places and new thinking is an essential element. The company is growing, both in terms of number of people, in knowledge, and in the scope of problems we are able to take on.

    Cons

    For better or for worse, you have to be a fairly self-motivated person to succeed here. This isn't like joining some 10,000 person enterprise where a 3-month on-boarding program provides you with all the on the job training you could imagine. You learn by doing, just like everyone around you.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course. You can't assume that everyone is equally committed and willing to work hard, but the cream rises to the top.

    Rapid72016-07-18
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Plenty to learn, but it's a gamble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7

    Pros

    - Many smart people to work around, but the culture overinflates a few heads - The business truly seems to want their employees to succeed - Fun coworkers with a flexible, albeit extended schedule

    Cons

    - Expectations vary greatly depending on which office you work in - Management problems in remote offices goes largely unnoticed - The chest beating mentality often results in poor self-criticism. The casualties of this system are quickly dismissed with some professional flaw

    Advice to Management

    Take a closer look into the way every office is run. It's difficult to add negative reviews as it is far from anonymous, skewing the rating. Try to find those who take pride in high turnover, they are often the ones laughing at the negative reviews.

    Rapid72016-07-22
  8. Helpful (24)

    "Treat people unlawfully as they are just resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time

    Pros

    - perk like free drinks & snacsk, and from time to time food - liberal - even too liberal - work from home policy - benefits are fare; ESPP

    Cons

    - having some employee work more than 20 consecutive hours, against the law of course - treated employees as resources, rather than investing in their career - 'sink or swim', no local organized ramp-up process - company is 'proud' for more than 20% turnover - some people let go on the spot without any prior warnings - company mentions too many times that emplyees should think about their next workplace; while this is true, the cmpany should not be the ione to mention that - no QA

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    be respect and lawful and don't treat people management as the last drop in the pipe - when time permits.

    Rapid72016-06-07
  9. "great company, good products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Researcher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, incredible office spaces all recently redesigned. Clear mission focus on security delivered across several products.

    Cons

    Many products and siloed teams, but that may be improving

    Rapid72020-01-16
  10. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Purchasing 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * A lot of free swag from the company * Work remotely once in a while

    Cons

    * Lots of red-tape to get things done

    Rapid72020-01-15
Found 264 reviews