Rapid7 Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Rapid7 Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Rapid7 President and Chief Executive Officer Corey E. Thomas
Corey E. Thomas
183 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance sucks so royally you have no idea until you land there to work(in 13 reviews)

  • "It is a great culture and there are great benefits(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance is somewhat difficult to manage, but that's mostly because the product feels personal(in 24 reviews)

  • "fast paced sometimes comes at lack of coordination(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best company in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good company and very positive environment

    Cons

    There are no cons really

    Rapid72020-01-31
  2. "Good place to work on emerging technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time

    Pros

    Agile environment, ship-first mentality, eagerness to embrace new technology to solve problems

    Cons

    Politics but that’s everywhere. Upper management advocate a culture of inclusion and respect but there is zero actual enforcement. Aside from business results there is little accountability for managers treating employees poorly or taking advantage of them

    Rapid72019-12-27
  3. "Positive experience for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Compensation and opportunities for advancement correlate directly with your contributions and dedication, it will not go unnoticed. - Innovation and experimentation are highly encouraged. You are free to use the technologies and solutions that best fit the task at hand. - The sense of community and work life balance is remarkable; they really go above and beyond to provide you with all of the resources you need for success.

    Cons

    - This company's culture is one of innovation and pushing the envelope. While the community is there to help you succeed, and will do all it can to set you up for success, you are expected to be a self starter and passionate about the work you do.

    Continue reading
    Rapid72019-11-27
  4. "Good Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Lovely office space Easy to colloborate

    Cons

    High paced the work never stops

    Continue reading
    Rapid72019-09-23
  5. Helpful (30)

    "Bitter taste for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free stuff Nice office Paid Lunches and trips

    Cons

    Extremely political 10 people quit or were forced to quit in 2018. Some of them had been there for years. Leadership is extremely weak, cowardly and cannot take criticism. Extremely comfortable with the status quo extremely rude and incompetent office management Arrogant and Rude senior members of the teams. Confidence killing leads. Encourage overworking - burnt out team members. Management deaf to advice

    Continue reading
    Rapid72018-12-10
  6. Helpful (21)

    "leader lied and ate their words"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    engineer are smart and technical skill is strong

    Cons

    my leader is really talkative. Even if in working time, he would ask some private question to team members, like their family status and also he shared his personal things, like baby, sister, etc. he knew my baby is coming very earlier. He asked me on Monday if i have any plan to do parental leave, I honestly answer not decided it yet and he honestly replied GM doesn't hope team members take long parental leave. On Thursday, company terminated me. Later on, HR told me he told HR he didn't know my baby is coming and there is no such kind of talk regarding to my parental leave.

    Continue reading
    Rapid72017-01-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Force multiplier - you get more out than you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rapid7 has a genuine dedication to learning and experimentation. The company is still a genuine meritocracy, good ideas come for all places and new thinking is an essential element. The company is growing, both in terms of number of people, in knowledge, and in the scope of problems we are able to take on.

    Cons

    For better or for worse, you have to be a fairly self-motivated person to succeed here. This isn't like joining some 10,000 person enterprise where a 3-month on-boarding program provides you with all the on the job training you could imagine. You learn by doing, just like everyone around you.

    Continue reading
    Rapid72016-07-18
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Plenty to learn, but it's a gamble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7

    Pros

    - Many smart people to work around, but the culture overinflates a few heads - The business truly seems to want their employees to succeed - Fun coworkers with a flexible, albeit extended schedule

    Cons

    - Expectations vary greatly depending on which office you work in - Management problems in remote offices goes largely unnoticed - The chest beating mentality often results in poor self-criticism. The casualties of this system are quickly dismissed with some professional flaw

    Continue reading
    Rapid72016-07-22
  9. Helpful (24)

    "Treat people unlawfully as they are just resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time

    Pros

    - perk like free drinks & snacsk, and from time to time food - liberal - even too liberal - work from home policy - benefits are fare; ESPP

    Cons

    - having some employee work more than 20 consecutive hours, against the law of course - treated employees as resources, rather than investing in their career - 'sink or swim', no local organized ramp-up process - company is 'proud' for more than 20% turnover - some people let go on the spot without any prior warnings - company mentions too many times that emplyees should think about their next workplace; while this is true, the cmpany should not be the ione to mention that - no QA

    Continue reading
    Rapid72016-06-07

    Rapid7 Response

    June 10, 2016

    We always pay attention to the reviews posted here as they can provide a good opportunity for us to hear more direct feedback than people might want to share when speaking with a manager or other company employee. We push ourselves to be honest about the things we can do better, and as hard as it is, to take feedback directly on the chin and see it as an opportunity to improve. We know we’re not perfect, but we truly want to create the best career experience possible for our employees, and being attentive and responsive to feedback is a very important part of that. That said, there are times when reviews leave us feeling bewildered, and this is one of those times. We know break ups are hard, but let’s try to stay classy, OK? We could go through a line-by-line refutation of this post, but I’m not sure that drives much value for readers. So instead I invite people to come and meet us in person (for a job interview perhaps!) or talk to our current employees and see whether they agree with the sentiments here. - Christina Luconi, Chief People Officer

    Continue reading
  10. "A more than positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Recent tech stack - Flexible hours - Amazing Management - Good benefits - Very competitive salary - Defined career progression path - interesting work - Great culture. CEO + the others are very involved and very down to earth Honestly, I would highly recommend this place.

    Cons

    - Work/life balance is somewhat difficult to manage, but that's mostly because the product feels personal. There is an emphasis on "we made this", which makes you want to do more.

    Continue reading
    Rapid72020-03-29
Found 271 reviews