Rapid7 Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Rapid7 Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 250 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Rapid7 CEO Corey E. Thomas
Corey E. Thomas
165 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Force multiplier - you get more out than you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rapid7 has a genuine dedication to learning and experimentation. The company is still a genuine meritocracy, good ideas come for all places and new thinking is an essential element. The company is growing, both in terms of number of people, in knowledge, and in the scope of problems we are able to take on.

    Cons

    For better or for worse, you have to be a fairly self-motivated person to succeed here. This isn't like joining some 10,000 person enterprise where a 3-month on-boarding program provides you with all the on the job training you could imagine. You learn by doing, just like everyone around you.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course. You can't assume that everyone is equally committed and willing to work hard, but the cream rises to the top.

    Rapid72016-07-18
  2. Helpful (28)

    "Bitter taste for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free stuff Nice office Paid Lunches and trips

    Cons

    Extremely political 10 people quit or were forced to quit in 2018. Some of them had been there for years. Leadership is extremely weak, cowardly and cannot take criticism. Extremely comfortable with the status quo extremely rude and incompetent office management Arrogant and Rude senior members of the teams. Confidence killing leads. Encourage overworking - burnt out team members. Management deaf to advice

    Advice to Management

    Please consider taking steps to improve the working conditions in Toronto as opposed to telling people to be mindful before they post on Glassdoor. Note that the number of "is helpful" button on glassdoor is proof that no one working at Rapid7 believe the positive reviews.

    Rapid72018-12-10
  3. Helpful (20)

    "leader lied and ate their words"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    engineer are smart and technical skill is strong

    Cons

    my leader is really talkative. Even if in working time, he would ask some private question to team members, like their family status and also he shared his personal things, like baby, sister, etc. he knew my baby is coming very earlier. He asked me on Monday if i have any plan to do parental leave, I honestly answer not decided it yet and he honestly replied GM doesn't hope team members take long parental leave. On... Thursday, company terminated me. Later on, HR told me he told HR he didn't know my baby is coming and there is no such kind of talk regarding to my parental leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    improve ethic management

    Rapid72017-01-12
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Plenty to learn, but it's a gamble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7

    Pros

    - Many smart people to work around, but the culture overinflates a few heads - The business truly seems to want their employees to succeed - Fun coworkers with a flexible, albeit extended schedule

    Cons

    - Expectations vary greatly depending on which office you work in - Management problems in remote offices goes largely unnoticed - The chest beating mentality often results in poor self-criticism. The casualties of this system are quickly dismissed with some professional flaw

    Advice to Management

    Take a closer look into the way every office is run. It's difficult to add negative reviews as it is far from anonymous, skewing the rating. Try to find those who take pride in high turnover, they are often the ones laughing at the negative reviews.

    Rapid72016-07-22
  5. Helpful (24)

    "Treat people unlawfully as they are just resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time

    Pros

    - perk like free drinks & snacsk, and from time to time food - liberal - even too liberal - work from home policy - benefits are fare; ESPP

    Cons

    - having some employee work more than 20 consecutive hours, against the law of course - treated employees as resources, rather than investing in their career - 'sink or swim', no local organized ramp-up process - company is 'proud' for more than 20% turnover - some people let go on the spot without any prior warnings - company mentions too many times that emplyees should think about their next workplace; while... this is true, the cmpany should not be the ione to mention that - no QA

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    be respect and lawful and don't treat people management as the last drop in the pipe - when time permits.

    Rapid72016-06-07

    Rapid7 Response

    June 10, 2016

    We always pay attention to the reviews posted here as they can provide a good opportunity for us to hear more direct feedback than people might want to share when speaking with a manager or other company employee. We push ourselves to be honest about the things we can do better, and ...

    Show More
  6. "The best company I ever work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Energetic, creative, imaginative, and all-inclusive working environment. I have worked several big companies in the past, this is the best company I ever worked. I love the first day experience at Rapid7 and the new employee’s training: interesting and educational. I also like periodic all hands town hall meeting. CEO or other executives share with us about company’s news and plan. Answered our questions. Very... impressive executive team. We feel that we are all ONE team. The benefit package is good. The facility is well decorated and fun. We work hard and play hard.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have nothing but positive feedback.

    Advice to Management

    We all sail the same big boat. Keep it up Captain Thomas!

    Rapid72019-09-21
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Too Much Friction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Corey and his team are doing a great job. This can be viewed from financial results and how they try to expand the product portfolio. They improved employee benefits, showing that they care about their people. * There are some good engineers and good people that you can especially have a "real conversation" with and learn from. But only a couple... * Site reliability engineering team is brilliant. They have... a good team cohesion.

    Show More

    Cons

    * There is a frat culture in Dublin office. Bros taking care of each other and deciding people’s faiths behind closed doors. There is too much gossip going on. You have to prove yourself to certain people, not through your work, but... I do not know what are their criteria. If you are not liked – for some reason - then there goes the workplace bullying. * Management in the office seems to be powerless about it.... Or maybe indifferent; accepted the situation; even supportive in cases. Promotions suggest this. * HQ is trying to implement its own cultural values, which are excellent, but there is a condescending attitude towards them within Dublin office, as “too American” or “too corporate”; part of the frat outlook. * There is no feeling of purpose or goal, so that people can rally around it. What is the competition? What do customers want? These are not part of the daily conversation. * HR is in Belfast and they have no clue about what is going. I am not sure if they are able to solve issues there. * There is too much politics going on in a small workplace. * Too much technical debt. There is the feeling of flogging a dead horse, constantly.

    Show More
    Rapid72019-08-24

    Rapid7 Response

    August 30, 2019Director, People Strategy

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. Rapid7 genuinely hopes to be a company where everyone has the support that they need to be successful, so it is disappointing to hear that was not your experience. I understand it may have been awkward, but I do wish that you had raised this during ...

    Show More
  8. "Great place, not without its flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Software Engineering in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very smart, dedicated and driven individuals. Culture is great and there is a really big focus on developing the people within the company (and promote them). As the company has continue to experience success, benefits and other perks have continued to get better as well.

    Cons

    Competing priorities can make it feel like chasing shiny objects some times (although it is getting better). Some organizations within the company are constantly spread thin which means getting things is sometimes difficult or that things will need to be done without prior review by the appropriate people.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to remote work, it is no longer the future but the present and one way we can attract top talent. Keep speaking to the vision for the company and the "why" behind what we do.

    Rapid72019-08-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to explore.

    Cons

    disorganized, and can get very hectic at times.

    Rapid72019-07-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic employer, cannot emphasize this enough!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Security Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Virtually unlimited support/development opportunities from all the way up to the CEO -Great perk of being able to buy books without hitting departmental budgets -Investing a lot in offices, but also having the flexibility of working from home

    Cons

    None..really. It's a really great place to work

    Rapid72019-06-30
Found 250 reviews