Point Grey Research Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Point Grey Research Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
Point Grey Research President and Chief Executive Officer James J. Cannon
James J. Cannon
0 Rating
  1. "Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Co-Op in Richmond, BC

    I worked at Point Grey Research

    Pros

    The people who work there are all mostly really nice, very helpful and very friendly. The company gives high importance to fitness - people run and bike regularly (there's a really nice bike room). The company provides a fully equipped kitchen, which is nice - there are salads, sandwiches and wraps that you can make for yourself. There's also fruits and yogurt and pop etc but it all gets boring eventually. It's good nonetheless - saves the effort of packing a lunch. Work itself was quite structured - tasks were mostly well defined and I was helped whenever I needed it, be it from my team or from other teams.

    Cons

    The pay could be better - not everyone enjoys the benefits that the company enforces on everyone.

    Continue reading
    Point Grey Research2016-07-15

    Point Grey Research Response

    July 18, 2016Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are in the process of reviewing our Co-op salaries so your feedback is most timely! We hope that you if you had a good experience that you feel welcome to apply again in the future should you have any remaining Co-ops terms left.

    Continue reading
  2. "It was great while it lasted but unfortunately, nothing lasts forever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Point Grey Research full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Culture and values was great, the vision and mission was clear and everybody really worked as one, as if it's your second family - Overall most people were great and friendly and made the overall work experience good - The benefits were definitely one of the better things about this company, from birthday gift, to free lunch, technology allowance, etc - Social events were overall nice and a great way to connect the whole company - Everybody took pride in what they do, and that really resonated throughout the whole company

    Cons

    - Nothing personal but there may be some managers who aren't really suitable to be in a managerial position - Schedules were ridiculous, sometimes even unrealistic - The workload/schedule/demand was foreseeable yet management was very slow to react i.e. hire more resources - While the benefits were great, depending on position, pay could be considered "low", but most likely because of the unique benefits so it's understandable perhaps - Towards the end of the company's "life", felt like no work/life balance anymore

    Continue reading
    Point Grey Research2019-04-25
  3. "Software Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Point Grey Research

    Pros

    Great environment, all the people are super friendly. Free lunch (sandwich, salad and soup) and hot lunch on Friday! And unlimited soda too.

    Cons

    Due to the natural of the company it is very slow-paced comparing to other software companies. Salary is on the lower end too.

    Point Grey Research2019-01-13
  4. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Point Grey Research for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, interesting work. The senior management team were the founders prior to the FLIR acquisition and they were amazing. Really cared about the company, the product and the employees. Can’t say if it’s thebsame since the acquisition.

    Cons

    Since it became a part of FLIR, the culture has changed and experienced a lot of attrition.

    Point Grey Research2018-10-04

    Point Grey Research Response

    December 3, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review as its great to hear of thoughts on your experience with FLIR IIS. It is natural for a company culture to change but we are working on building a culture to fit long term employees as well as the newer additions.

    Continue reading
  5. "Was the best of times, was the worst of times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Point Grey Research full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing collaborative environment that looked for new ideas an areas for improvement.

    Cons

    Owners sold the company to large US corporation

    Continue reading
    Point Grey Research2018-05-22

    Point Grey Research Response

    December 3, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your great thoughts on your experience while at Point Grey.

    Continue reading
  6. "intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Point Grey Research

    Pros

    - free lunch - good overall work place environment

    Cons

    -parking space is not quite enough

    Point Grey Research2017-07-13
  7. "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Point Grey Research

    Pros

    Interesting work Good benefits Very nice, very smart people Who says there's no such thing as a free lunch?

    Cons

    There usually many projects in your pipeline, and while that keeps things interesting, it's often unclear what your priorities should be. Everything can't be done first Not much room for advancement It's a bit out of the way unless you're in Richmond/Delta

    Continue reading
    Point Grey Research2017-03-11

    Point Grey Research Response

    December 3, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your feedback and appreciate your thoughts. We are continuing to make improvements and feel that we are being more transparent on what we have going on.

    Continue reading
  8. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Richmond, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Point Grey Research full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunch everyday. It gets pretty boring after several weeks of sandwiches. The company was growing to be acquired by Flir.

    Cons

    The board is greedy and doesn't seem to "care" about their employees. HR works for the company not for the employees.

    Continue reading
    Point Grey Research2016-10-14
  9. "Mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Point Grey Research full-time

    Pros

    Free lunch was nice, but the previous system was better than the current one. Smaller employer so it's easy to find time with people at all levels (including managers). Informal environment. Paid MSP. Product line is interesting for tech geeks. Work life balance is a strong point.

    Cons

    Engineering salaries are low, even for Canada; good luck surviving in Vancouver. Little flexibility in work hours (no work from home or telecommuting systems common in the tech industry). Privately owned company means no stock or equity. Very inconvenient location.

    Continue reading
    Point Grey Research2016-04-13

    Point Grey Research Response

    April 18, 2016Senior Recruiter

    Thanks for your feedback. It is good to know everyone's feedback good or bad. In regards to compensation, we do an annual salary review based on annual salary surveys within our industry and location to make sure everyone is paid within the market range. Our work hours are pretty standard within the high tech industry and based on the type of work we do, remote or telecommuting is unfortunately difficult. Location may be a bit out of the way for some people which is why we provide incentives like carpool allowances and pay for transit passes. Thanks again for your comments.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "It's a good short term place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Point Grey Research

    Pros

    They're very heavy on the benefits. There is currently a free lunch plan for employees, fairly strong benefits plan and paid MSP.

    Cons

    Not the best location to work in if you don't live in the Richmond area. Weird overall culture that doesn't quite seem to click.

    Continue reading
    Point Grey Research2015-10-13

    Point Grey Research Response

    April 18, 2016Senior Recruiter

    Thanks for your feedback and sorry for the delay in responding. Sorry that you felt the culture didn't meet your expectations. We are always looking for ways to improve the culture and will keep those points in mind. Thanks again for sharing.

    Continue reading
Found 13 reviews