Pinterest Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Pinterest Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Pinterest CEO Ben Silbermann
Ben Silbermann
192 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is very respected--my team management pushes us to take at least four weeks a year off(in 36 reviews)

  • "Nice office, great location, free food(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's grown quickly in the past few years, and growing pains are inevitable(in 17 reviews)

  • "The company is growing now and isn't as small as it was during my internship(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Valuing Impact & Creativity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Sourcer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my time at Pinterest, I've grown tremendously through the support of my team. I've been given the chance to work on high impact, challenging problems, and can see the direct throughline of my output to the company's mission. My time at Pinterest has flown by, mainly because of the great and challenging work, the great coworkers, and a product I personally use and can stand behind.

    Cons

    Decisions are sometimes made without transparency, or take a long time, which sometimes means IC's have to scramble to hit goals. But we're focusing on making decisions quicker and I think we're on the right track.

    Pinterest2019-12-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Function in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good Culture: one of the 'friendliest' companies I've ever worked for. People also truly almost always try to do the right thing and put our users aka 'Pinners' first - Manager: I'm lucky enough to work with a solid manager who's shown to have my best interests at heart. Has lobbied for me during promo time and built a good trust and working dynamic - Work Life Balance: you won't get totally crushed, all the... time. People step up when needed, but otherwise working weekends is minimal, people respect vacations and minimal email responses required at night - Comp: very satisfied with my compensation. Have turned down other strong offers given they can't match what Pinterest is currently offering me

    Show More

    Cons

    - Pace/Execution: 'Niceness' has a flip side and means often people don't take large risks or execute fast enough. Our product roadmap hasn't dramatically changed in many years. This means we won't likely bend our growth curve anytime soon, but also means we probably won't run into Facebook-esque scandals

    Advice to Management

    Let's move and innovate faster! We all want Pinterest to succeed, and we already have the strong foundation and core product for it

    Pinterest2019-11-11
  3. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compelling culture and product. Great colleagues made it worth coming to work.

    Cons

    Hyper-growth creates the problems hyper-growth creates.

    Pinterest2019-11-11
  4. "Best job I’ve ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I truly enjoy coming into work every day. Everyone makes me feel loved. I love how I can see clear career paths, and I can contribute my gifts/talents and they are appreciated.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times

    Pinterest2019-10-26
  5. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful company to work for and seriously I get to work with the best people from the top down

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. You’re amazing!

    Pinterest2019-10-25
  6. Helpful (4)

    "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission driven culture and desire to differentiate from other platforms.

    Cons

    No product vision. No innovation engine. CEO does not understand the revenue products

    Pinterest2019-10-28
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Lots of bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun because lots of young people

    Cons

    Bad infrastructure made it hard to work (slow build time for Optimus repo, poor code quality control led to repo often being broken), bad management leading to churn in team, no senior engineers because of churn

    Pinterest2019-10-31
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of churn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some very pleasant and earnest colleagues

    Cons

    Political and clique-y. Managers who fell up. Product gets worse.

    Advice to Management

    Cast a wider hiring net.

    Pinterest2019-10-30
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Kind of a hot mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In theory a very sellable product. Actually really compelling insights about what people are into personally vs the face they put out into the world. Strong hire with Andrea Mallard at CMO.

    Cons

    1. Compelling narrative but does not play out in reality for most advertisers, making it actually a hard product to sell. 2. Stagnating growth in US and lack of male audience requires a decent amount of spinning 3. Sales leadership is all over the place, they solve missing revenue goals by endless reorgs, which is leading to mass attrition of sales people. They are highly distractable by the latest big “deal” and... fail do not have a solid plan in place to diversify revenue or focus on the big picture. 4. As a seller, it’s feast or famine. Revenue targets are often irrational leading often based on ambition rather than reality to a demotivated sales force. Compared to competitors, I would say this is one of the worst companies to work for if you like compensation stability. Pinterest is young, but not so young that they should have this much trouble setting realistic goals.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house on sales leadership. With a majority female sales force, it’s a shame that much of the senior sales team is male, the imbalance leads to poor optics and awkward conversations. Consider hiring people from companies other than Google. Hire some actual people managers for a change and not just people who like to hear themselves talk. Francoise needs to spend more time with sellers and customers to see the... disconnect between our product and the market needs.

    Show More
    Pinterest2019-10-13
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Comfortable but slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - 3 meals a day - nice people - very good work life balance - decent perks - good exposure to a variety of projects - safe comfortable work projects because we are playing catch up

    Cons

    - nobody takes up ownership outside of their OKRs - everybody plays it safe, no risk-taking - everything moves super slow - not my responsibility so i don't care attitude - too many people taking PTO, 3/10 OOO email responses - no mobility, too many external hires for middle management who don't really serve any purpose - pay is suppressed

    Advice to Management

    - seriously consider setting more accountability for people - remove underperforming folks - be more aggressive and act like a true under dog, culture is way too beta and nice

    Pinterest2019-09-23
Found 251 reviews