PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PetSmart Reviews

Updated 25 September, 2018
3,837 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
47 Ratings

3,837 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Working with animals abd follow employees" (in 322 reviews)

  • "The company really supports the interns in their programs and allows them to learn a lot about what it would be like to work there after graduation" (in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to get full-time, very hard to get fired which means a few workers who don't do their work" (in 195 reviews)

  • "not that many hours as part time" (in 147 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Its good to work at petsmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier
    Recommends

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Helpful and understanding bosses that are always willing to help make the schedule fit your life and you get a discount if you have pets it helps

    Cons

    I just wish there were more hours available so that I didn't have to have 2 part time jobs in the summer

    PetSmart Response

    6 Jun, 2018 – Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide review. Great to hear you're enjoying your experience and some of the great benefits we offer. Thanks, again!


  2. "learning curve can be steep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    15% off merchandise
    great people to work with
    got to pet puppies and see/work with various animals

    Cons

    They don't teach you enough about the animals they sell or product, very basic information is given, most info needed to do job was learned on our own time.

    communication was lacking in all departments, no one tells you the sales going on, or if there is something special that needs to be done in petcare

    not enough people in the store, in the evenings there are only three people running the store(in our store at least) 1 manger 1 petcare 1 cashier, thats it...if it got busy you can expect long lines of endless customers. lots of angry people looking for workers and sometimes we needed all three people to be on cash which left no one on the floor. it sucked big time.

    you see a lot of animal death especially in fish ( had to scoop dead fish out of the feeder tank daily (once in the am and throughout the day and before you close)

    high stress, if your in petcare there is a list you have to do each opening + a big cleaning task while you also deal with customers it is a very steep learning curve don't expect to be done it all in 4 hours if your the only one manning the floor (it does get better with time though)

    no real room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    please give more in depth information and training for petcare, its too basic and definitly doesnt cover the questions pet parents are asking

    i don't know who is in charge of fixing tanks but they really need to get there act together the feeder fish tank in our store broke (wasn't filtering) and we had put in the order at like 10 am in the morning to get if fixed but it took them a week to come in and look at it. needless to say we moved as many as we could into another tank but there was a mass die off (at least 100+ fish) they may be disposable to you but there are still living creatures and this shouldn't have happened.

    PetSmart Response

    9 Aug, 2018 – Employer Branding

    Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We welcome all feedback and suggestions, as we tirelessly strive to create a positive and healthy environment for our pets, pet parents and... More

  3. "Good place to work for beginners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier/Pet Care Associate in Burnaby, BC
    Current Employee - Cashier/Pet Care Associate in Burnaby, BC

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working with animals is really uplifting and they have adoption policies instead of selling them

    Cons

    Some business hours can be really slow and others really busy, but that's all businesses really.


  4. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    It's a really fun job and hard work. Working with dogs is great. The team is awesome.

    Cons

    More hours would be nice

    PetSmart Response

    2 Jul, 2018 – Employer Branding

    Thank you for leaving a review! We appreciate you taking the time! Wonderful to hear how much you enjoy your fellow associates and working with pets each day. We're glad you find the work... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Leader in Surrey, BC
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Leader in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow, good benefits and decent wages

    Cons

    Lots of pressure from upper management, very little work life balance, many early mornings/late night shift work

    Advice to Management

    More support (labour) is needed for your core managers. It is a constant struggle trying to complete all necessary tasks properly while maintaining store standards and delivering excellent customer service. The pressure to get it all complete leaves very little in work/life balance.

    PetSmart Response

    10 Jul, 2018 – Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's wonderful to hear that you had the opportunity to grow and that you enjoyed the benefits during your time at PetSmart. We also really... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Was decent employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Leader in Vancouver, BC
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Leader in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people you work with, it's retail so you sure get a mix of everything. Bonus is great if you make it.

    Cons

    Too many changes like extra work, eg.. Online orders, delivery.. but no extra hours to make up for it. Monthly videos that you are graded on is a pain. Surveys were brought back... Watch out if you get bad ones and the time it takes to resolve and you answer to DM... Again no extra hours for it. Scorecard, if you don't make it during quarter, no bonus for you. This is a pet store so there is alot more to learn that other retailers. Oh and if you do decide to work here, fight for a higher increase in money because they're cheap, ask and you shall receive.

    Advice to Management

    More praise to the employees, they deserve it.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Store leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Leader in Waterloo, ON
    Former Employee - Store Leader in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Working with animals and people.

    Cons

    Pets and people are not the priority anymore, (They use to be). Money is all that is important.

    Advice to Management

    Get a life. Honestly! They live to work, and you can can only do well as a leader in this company if you are a slave to them.

    PetSmart Response

    26 Jul, 2018 – Employer Branding

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Our primary focus is on pets and pet parents, and I can see how this could concern you. We are always looking for ways to improve, so we’ll share this feedback... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Animals are great to work with.

    Cons

    The training is lacking. Videos don’t work and reading materials were not provided. Schedule changes weekly without being told or asked. Constantly working over 5 hours without any breaks. Tools to do the job are poor quality and/or broken. Immature fighting/gossip by all employees. Cleanliness is virtually nonexistent, I wouldn’t bring my own pets here.

    PetSmart Response

    23 Jul, 2018 – Employer Branding

    Thank you for the feedback. We are committed to creating a positive and safe environment for our pets, pet parents and associates, and we'd like to understand more about your experience so we can... More


  9. "Store leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment, great people. HO personnel very humble and approachable.

    Cons

    Possible high turn over. Lots of students are the ones who apply


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Went downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Helping people and seeing animals were awesome, some really great people there

    Cons

    Lots of good working have quit or been fired and the store is filled with inexperienced people or harsh people

    Advice to Management

    Increase training and listen to associates

    PetSmart Response

    13 Jun, 2018 – Employer Branding

    Thank you for leaving a review. While I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your co-workers and interacting with pets, I'm sorry to hear there were some challenges. Please feel free to contact the CareSmart... More


Showing 3,837 of 3,873 reviews
Reset Filters