PetSmart Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
375 Ratings
Pros
  • "working with animals , interacting with pet parents(in 412 reviews)

  • "You learn so much about dogs as well as customer service and animal behavior(in 175 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most animals like the peanut butter(in 430 reviews)

  • "takes a while to get used to dogs for service(in 256 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "cashier"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sault Ste. Marie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there my experience was very good

    Cons

    no any disadvantage because according to me we should not say anything bad where we learnt alot.

    Continue reading
  2. "Fun job but can be very frustrating"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Pet Care Specialist in North Toronto, ON

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Get to spend time with animals Decent employee discount Safe and inclusive, great coworkers

    Cons

    Unrealistic time limits set for tasks by corporate Petcare gets paid same as associates despite working harder Stores are understaffed

    PetSmart Response

    August 9, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    We always appreciate hearing feedback from our associates and are happy that you took you the time. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you for the review and for your commitment to helping pets enjoy happy and healthy lives.


  3. "nice to work with pets but hard to get full time"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    fun team, work with animals, work with humane society, make friends

    Cons

    pay is not too good, management wont let me go full time

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    July 21, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share and bringing your experience to our attention. Please feel free to contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to speak further about the things mentioned above.

  4. "2 years at Petsmart"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Care Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours for flexible availability Good part time work for students

    Cons

    Depending on management, animals are not the priority Lack of full time positions

    PetSmart Response

    July 13, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate all that you do for pets! We would also like to connect with you via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so we can understand more about some of the things you mentioned above, as the safety of pets is our #1 priority. Thanks again!

  5. "The worst place I've ever worked"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Misc Roles (Customer Service/Supervisor) in Richmond Hill, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Cute animals, but that's literally it.

    Cons

    Abusive management, power hungry coworkers who are willing to stab anyone in the back at any time. I was with the company for a very, very long time in just about every position in the store and there wasn't a single role that I filled where I felt I was being treated fairly or kindly by management. Their "company culture" is really a bunch of teenagers creating high school drama and a bunch of managers who feed off of it. Absolutely no work/life balance, this company basically owns your soul the whole time you work for them.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    July 27, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    We're sorry that this was your experience and appreciate you for bringing it to our attention. We'd like to understand more. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again.

  6. "Great experience working there!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Pet Care Manager in Saskatoon, SK
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Great and supportive workers and associates

    Cons

    Long hours to work every day

  7. "pay too low"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Dog Groomer in Kitchener, ON

    I worked at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    working with dogs and cats

    Cons

    salary training managers hours no days off in a row

    PetSmart Response

    June 9, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and for keeping pets looking their best while you were a PetSmart groomer. Please feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 if you'd like to discuss any of the feedback mentioned above further. Thank you!

  8. "Flexible"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, Consistent, considerate, reliable, animals

    Cons

    Not many really, easy work

    PetSmart Response

    May 26, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate all that you do for the pets that come into our store!

  9. "Loved the job hated management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Got to see animals everyday

    Cons

    Management forced sales and didn't care about animals wellbeing

  10. "Grooming experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Commission, benefits, working with pets

    Cons

    Management, rules that are impossible to follow, extremely high and unfair expectations

    PetSmart Response

    March 26, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We always appreciate hearing feedback from our associates and appreciate you taking the time. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thanks, again!

Found 4857 reviews