PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PetSmart Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
330 Ratings
Pros
  • "working with animals , interacting with pet parents(in 401 reviews)

  • "You learn so much about dogs as well as customer service and animal behavior(in 169 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most animals like the peanut butter(in 414 reviews)

  • "takes a while to get used to dogs for service(in 255 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (52)

    "Love everything about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hattiesburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My managers, coworkers, and even customers are great and make the job well worth it! I also get paid well and get to learn A LOT of things about products and animals that I didn’t know before. Everyone is very nice and cares about you and helping you succeed if you put in the effort. You also get basic vacation time even as a part time employee and the company offers a lot of other benefits even at the part time level.

    Cons

    Usually part time workers only get around 20 hours but sometimes more. I would say the main con is how much the hours fluctuate.

    PetSmart2019-08-22

    PetSmart Response

    August 26, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for the review! That's great to hear how much you enjoy some of the PetSmart perks and benefits. We agree with you - our fellow associates and customers are wonderful. That shared love and passion for pets is a powerful bond that connects us all. Thank you, again, for sharing your experience.

    Continue reading
  2. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sault Ste. Marie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there my experience was very good

    Cons

    no any disadvantage because according to me we should not say anything bad where we learnt alot.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-03-23
  3. "Grooming experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Commission, benefits, working with pets

    Cons

    Management, rules that are impossible to follow, extremely high and unfair expectations

    PetSmart2020-03-25

    PetSmart Response

    March 26, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We always appreciate hearing feedback from our associates and appreciate you taking the time. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thanks, again!

    Continue reading
  4. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Analyst in Hamilton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    More responsibilty and accountability in the role

    Cons

    N/A- it went well overall

    PetSmart2020-03-03

    PetSmart Response

    March 3, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review and for your commitment to helping pets enjoy happy and healthy lives! We're glad you enjoyed life at PetSmart and appreciate you sharing your experience.

    Continue reading
  5. "Waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cashier in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None other than petting dogs

    Cons

    Horribly disorganized hiring and training process

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-03-07

    PetSmart Response

    March 9, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our associates - the positives and the areas of improvement. We'd love to understand more about your experience. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again!

    Continue reading
  6. "👎"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Stylist in Kingston, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, a lot of clients, commission.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment, poorly managed, unattainable goals, too many responsibilities that should have been for a manager to deal with

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-02-28

    PetSmart Response

    March 2, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    I'm sorry to hear this was your experience working at PetSmart. This certainly is not the work environment we strive to create and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We'd like to understand more. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you for taking the time.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Management underpaid, stores under staffed and undertrained."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart

    Pros

    Fun, working with pets, puppies, kittens! And people who care about them.

    Cons

    Raises are far and few between, managements hands are often tied when it comes to it. Some customers are verbally abusive and over things that shouldn't reach that kind of escalation.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-02-24

    PetSmart Response

    February 24, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We think working with animals every day makes PetSmart pretty great, as well. Please know, you can always share feedback via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you, again!

    Continue reading
  8. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Animals, you can change departments

    Cons

    Very little hours available, bad management

    PetSmart2020-02-13

    PetSmart Response

    February 14, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thanks, again!

    Continue reading
  9. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I wanted an environment without toxicity and I found it here. The staff are real people and very welcoming and great to work with. This is my post-hi-tech stressful life job and I love it. The managers really excel at building on my strengths and understanding my weaknesses and helping me with those. Oh... and I get to cuddle puppies.

    Cons

    It can be hard to interact with bad pet parents. I do my best to subtlety help correct things like under (or OVER) feeding, mis-use of choke collars and more serous things like physical punishment of dogs. But overall, I have a lot of colleagues who can come and provide expect advice and generally we can educate the owner. Oh, and pet parents who gladly let their dogs poop and pee on the store floor and ask me to clean it up. lol. yeah....

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-01-23

    PetSmart Response

    January 27, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for your review! We're thrilled you've found life at PetSmart to be fulfilling ... you can't beat puppies! Thank you for all that you do you each day for your fellow associates, pets and pet parents, we appreciate you taking the time!

    Continue reading
  10. "Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy enough to progress through hard work.

    Cons

    Customer (pet parents) are a nightmare to deal with.

    PetSmart2020-01-19

    PetSmart Response

    January 21, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We always appreciate hearing feedback from our associates and appreciate you taking the time. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thanks, again!

    Continue reading
Found 4714 reviews