PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PetSmart Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
281 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I do wish we didn't sell enclosures that weren't good for the animals (i(in 400 reviews)

  • "You do have to clean up after dogs if owner’s refuse to pick it up or just leaves it(in 242 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (30)

    "Love everything about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hattiesburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My managers, coworkers, and even customers are great and make the job well worth it! I also get paid well and get to learn A LOT of things about products and animals that I didn’t know before. Everyone is very nice and cares about you and helping you succeed if you put in the effort. You also get basic vacation time even as a part time employee and the company offers a lot of other benefits even at the part time... level.

    Show More

    Cons

    Usually part time workers only get around 20 hours but sometimes more. I would say the main con is how much the hours fluctuate.

    PetSmart2019-08-22
  2. "Room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Leader 

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Development plans for interested workers

    Cons

    Ain’t no 9-5 gig yall

    PetSmart2019-10-14
  3. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff are all lovely as are the dogs.

    Cons

    Managers do not listen to availability and the hours you want. Brutal long shifts or pathetically short. Minimum wage. Little to no training. The benefits suck but the managers scheduling you on off days or flat out saying “your availability does not matter for the holiday season, if we shift you, you come in.” I’m part time. I’m not working full time for these clowns

    Advice to Management

    Listen to availability. If I say I can’t work Sunday, I cannot work Sunday.

    PetSmart2019-11-19
  4. "Why do you want to work at Petsmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in West Vancouver, BC

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to work with animals. Has full benefits for management team. A lot to learn about how to take care of an array of different animals.

    Cons

    No team building, no get togethers, or incentives. Expect you to always work a little extra without pay. Goals are unachievable yet they say you will get quarterly bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Give goals that are reachable and the team will continue to push forward. Allow for team get togethers and parties a couple times a year.

    PetSmart2019-11-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "All depends on your management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart

    Pros

    Great place to start out. They pay you to learn to groom. Great benefits package and retirement savings. Flexible schedule. Able to control your pay based on how hard you work .

    Cons

    Everyone who works in the stores are spread way too thin. They expect everyone to do everything without flaws and keep adding to the list. Somethings gotta give sometime. And when it does, be prepared to be reprimanded. In my store groomers are expected to groom, answer phones, cover daycare, cash, and be on the floor answering questions about grooming, all while grooming 5-7 dogs a day. Most days we take turns... skipping breaks to get it all done, management doesn’t care.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You want quality workers, stop treating them as though they’re robots. There’s a reason Petsmart has the reputation they do. It shouldn’t be treated like a grooming assembly line. These are dogs not car parts. Let the groomers groom, and the cashiers cash people out. Daycare can do daycare. Need more coverage, hire more people. 12 billion dollar company and they pay min wage, and can’t keep an employee more... then 6 months.

    Show More
    PetSmart2019-10-16
  6. "Fun but not long-term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Associate 

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Obviously the animals, it definitely can be fun when you get to pet dogs and handle snakes and stuff and help people set up their home aquariums

    Cons

    Low wages, ridiculous corporate rules, very low discount comparatively to other competition companies, basically no room for advancement beyond "lead", zero full time options

    Advice to Management

    Offer full time associate positions. Pay people better. Have upward mobility. Don't treat your employees like garbage.

    PetSmart2019-10-14
  7. "It's Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Bather in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tips Lots of sweet dogs

    Cons

    Catty Coworkers It's a business and doesn't really have best interest for you or the dogs, especially dogs with special needs. Extremely low pay considering the risk of injury, back pain and injuries such as bites/scratches that you endure. Additionally, if you damage someones equipment by accident, you must pay for it.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay, more support for the salon department and dogs with special needs.

    PetSmart2019-10-11
  8. "It's a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EARLY MORNING STOCKER 

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    they are very flexible with your schedule, great interacting with pet parents and their pets and learn about a new breed of dog, learning about any new smallanimals to help a pet parent

    Cons

    making you come in when you're sick, unless you get it covered. Some Managers can't hide their annoyance or anger towards associates

    PetSmart2019-10-08
  9. "Worked as a groomer trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grooming Trainee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great to get you started out in the grooming industry Get to wash your own dogs for free Very rewarding to work with dogs

    Cons

    Have to sign 2 year contract if you want to get put through school to become a groomer Management is not good at this particular location. Though i have heard that it is not good all around Calgary. Even if you work full time hours as a bather you will only be considered part time until you go through academy and will not qualify for benefits.

    PetSmart2019-10-07
  10. "petsmart sales associate position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    interacting with animals and their parents, giving them treats, helping them find the best foods and care products.

    Cons

    it takes a long time and alot of experience to change positions, i was interested in the pet care associate position but i didn't have enough experience for it.

    PetSmart2019-09-10
Found 4567 reviews