PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

PetSmart Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4181 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
163 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals and with people who love animals(in 344 reviews)

  • "Good customer service experience, you learn a lot while working there(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can't be full-time unless you are a manager and the manager position seems pretty stressful(in 205 reviews)

  • "not that many hours as part time(in 159 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (35)

    "Phoenix Corporate Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Office Empoyee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture of the organization is what attracted me to the company and why I continue to stay. The purchase of Chewy.com in May 2017 was a very strategic addition combining the largest brick and mortar and online pet specialty in one company (yes, Chewy.com is bigger than Amazon in this space!) I have worked here for two years and the change in the Senior leadership from August 2017 to March 2018 has made a significant...

    Show More

    Cons

    Just like any other organization, it is not perfect. However, the best place I have worked.

    Advice to Management

    Continue working together to create the strategy and aligning organizational goals to all levels. Morale has continued to improve over the past year and the transparency to employees is good - keep it going.

    PetSmart2018-07-05

    PetSmart Response

    July 5, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We think PetSmart is a pretty special place, as well, and really appreciate hearing about your experience. Like you, we are confident in our leadership team's vision and path forward for success and look forward to a bright ...

    Show More
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Pets are get the dogs

    Cons

    Physical demands of the job

    PetSmart2018-12-10
  3. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stock Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly Around animals Managers can be understanding/helpful Many locations to transfer to Benefits and retirement savings options for part time staff

    Cons

    Managers can play favourites Corporate is always changing policies Can work close to 40hours a week but still be considered part time staff

    Advice to Management

    Support your employees more

    PetSmart2019-04-22
  4. "Working at PetSmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere if you love animals

    Cons

    Animal suppliers are careless. Management is puppeteered by a clueless upper management.

    PetSmart2019-04-12

    PetSmart Response

    April 17, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear you feel this way. We care a great deal about our associates. We'd like to understand more so we can address. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again.

  5. "Fair Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Customer Engagement Leader 

      I worked at PetSmart full-time

      Pros

      Management and Wages are fair, but not the greatest. Nice staff!

      Cons

      Scheduling is a bit wack

      PetSmart2019-03-29

      PetSmart Response

      April 2, 2019Social Media Community Manager

      Thank you for the feedback Keep working with your management team on your schedule, and they'll do their best to accommodate. Please know you can also contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 with any questions or concerns. Thank you, again.

    • "Pets Hotel Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at PetSmart part-time

      Pros

      Building great relationships with animals!

      Cons

      Some animals can be hard to work with, gets very busy during holidays

      PetSmart2019-03-27

      PetSmart Response

      March 28, 2019Social Media Community Manager

      Thank you for the review! We appreciate hearing from our associates. I'm thrilled to hear that your experience was positive. Thank you, again!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Hard work for little reward"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Engagement Leader 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at PetSmart full-time

      Pros

      The best part is the animals

      Cons

      Managment doesn’t get set hours. Your schedule is never the same one week to the next. The amount of labour expected of you is more than most construction workers would do and they get paid a lot more. And they would rather you suffer with no staff while simultaneously giving you shut for poor service than allow you more staffing hours.

      Advice to Management

      Start speaking up to head office. If more management complains it may actually make a difference.

      PetSmart2019-03-29

      PetSmart Response

      April 4, 2019Social Media Community Manager

      Thanks so much for the feedback. While it’s great to heat that you are enjoying working with pets, I’m sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience with the inconsistent workload. Please know you can always contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to share your experience ...

      Show More
    • "Associate Lead"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at PetSmart full-time

      Pros

      Positive workplace culture, great staff

      Cons

      Lack of routine, animal pee and poo

      PetSmart2019-03-16
    • "Warehoue/merchandiser"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Warehouse Associate/Merchandiser in Calgary, AB
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at PetSmart full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Management willing to accommodate hours Good co-worker Forklift training Fun environment Meet nice customers Work with pets

      Cons

      Repetitive Stocking on/off pallet Low pay

      Advice to Management

      Good job keeping staff motivated

      PetSmart2019-03-12

      PetSmart Response

      March 13, 2019Social Media Community Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to review! It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your time at PetSmart. We think being around pets and nice co-workers makes work pretty incredible! Thank you again for the review.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Assistant store leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at PetSmart full-time

      Pros

      Decent pay, good benefits

      Cons

      No enough support from head office, lack of communication.

      PetSmart2019-03-10

      PetSmart Response

      March 13, 2019Social Media Community Manager

      Thanks so much for your review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the benefits and compensation. We want to ensure we're always improving, so hearing from the team directly is helpful. Please know you can share more via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again.

    Found 4181 reviews