PetSmart Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find jobs for Sales Associate

PetSmart Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 147 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
15 Ratings
  1. "petsmart sales associate position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    interacting with animals and their parents, giving them treats, helping them find the best foods and care products.

    Cons

    it takes a long time and alot of experience to change positions, i was interested in the pet care associate position but i didn't have enough experience for it.

    PetSmart2019-09-10

    PetSmart Response

    September 10, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and think working with animals and their pet parents make PetSmart a fun and special place as well! Please know that you can always share feedback via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again, for taking the time!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Oakville, ON

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth

    Cons

    Very few full time associates hired

    PetSmart2019-09-01

    PetSmart Response

    September 3, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review! We agree that PetSmart is a great place and are happy that has been your experience as well. It's our associates, pets, and pet parents who make PetSmart such a special place. Thanks again for taking the time!

    Continue reading
  3. "PetCare Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a good place to work

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    PetSmart2019-08-25

    PetSmart Response

    September 3, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    It's great to hear that you're enjoying your life at PetSmart! Thank you for all that you do for pets and pet parents. We appreciate you taking the time to review!

    Continue reading
  4. "Sales Associate @ Yonge St."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the Yonge Street location and had the chance to work with very flexible managers and wonderful teammates. Definitely recommend it to anybody looking to make an income while studying.

    Cons

    Rarely you might need to work on a day that you've taken off in advance

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-12-03

    PetSmart Response

    December 3, 2018Employer Branding

    Thanks for the feedback! That's wonderful to hear how much you're enjoying PetSmart, especially working with your managers and colleagues! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate hearing from our associates.

    Continue reading
  5. "Mostly great, but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relatively reasonable pace of work. Generally more pleasant customers. DOGS!

    Cons

    Little say in how things go. Opportunity for creativity lays within displays.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-10-19

    PetSmart Response

    October 22, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad you're enjoying life at PetSmart, but you raise some valid concerns. Please feel free to contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well, to share your experience. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "learning curve can be steep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    15% off merchandise great people to work with got to pet puppies and see/work with various animals

    Cons

    They don't teach you enough about the animals they sell or product, very basic information is given, most info needed to do job was learned on our own time. communication was lacking in all departments, no one tells you the sales going on, or if there is something special that needs to be done in petcare not enough people in the store, in the evenings there are only three people running the store(in our store at least) 1 manger 1 petcare 1 cashier, thats it...if it got busy you can expect long lines of endless customers. lots of angry people looking for workers and sometimes we needed all three people to be on cash which left no one on the floor. it sucked big time. you see a lot of animal death especially in fish ( had to scoop dead fish out of the feeder tank daily (once in the am and throughout the day and before you close) high stress, if your in petcare there is a list you have to do each opening + a big cleaning task while you also deal with customers it is a very steep learning curve don't expect to be done it all in 4 hours if your the only one manning the floor (it does get better with time though) no real room for advancement

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-08-08

    PetSmart Response

    August 9, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We welcome all feedback and suggestions, as we tirelessly strive to create a positive and healthy environment for our pets, pet parents and associates. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to share more about your experience. Thank you, again.

    Continue reading
  7. "Its good to work at petsmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful and understanding bosses that are always willing to help make the schedule fit your life and you get a discount if you have pets it helps

    Cons

    I just wish there were more hours available so that I didn't have to have 2 part time jobs in the summer

    PetSmart2018-06-03

    PetSmart Response

    June 6, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide review. Great to hear you're enjoying your experience and some of the great benefits we offer. Thanks, again!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Went downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helping people and seeing animals were awesome, some really great people there

    Cons

    Lots of good working have quit or been fired and the store is filled with inexperienced people or harsh people

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-06-11

    PetSmart Response

    June 13, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for leaving a review. While I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your co-workers and interacting with pets, I'm sorry to hear there were some challenges. Please feel free to contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to share more. We always want to ensure a positive environment for our associates.

    Continue reading
  9. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Brampton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working around animals, low pressure job. Management is supportive and helpful. Online training and training on the floor is thorough. Flexible schedule, easy to cover shifts and fairly easy to request time off. Hiring process was easy and enjoyable.

    Cons

    I know not all locations are this good. Minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2017-06-29
  10. "Senior Leadership - Director of HR, Merchandising and VP not in touch with the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Focus on Pet Care. Stores Manager's work very hard to keep staff happy. Some opportunity to grow.

    Cons

    Customer service servey are a joke, store cheat to make the numbers look good. HR inToronto dosn't want to listen it staff issues. No hours to get everything done. major staff and management turnover.. why?

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2013-08-16
Found 147 reviews