PetSmart Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
75%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
24 Ratings
  1. "cashier"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sault Ste. Marie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there my experience was very good

    Cons

    no any disadvantage because according to me we should not say anything bad where we learnt alot.

    Continue reading
  2. "nice to work with pets but hard to get full time"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    fun team, work with animals, work with humane society, make friends

    Cons

    pay is not too good, management wont let me go full time

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    July 21, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share and bringing your experience to our attention. Please feel free to contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to speak further about the things mentioned above.


  3. "Would not recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Seasonal Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart for less than a year

    Pros

    Got to pet dogs and see lots of animals; Great way to motivate yourself to go to post-secondary and do well so you never have to work for a lousy company like this ever again

    Cons

    Extremely disorganized; lousy training; mean coworkers; punished if we don't harass customers to get their email addresses

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    July 6, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    We're sorry to hear this was your experience. This certainly is not the work environment we strive to create and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We'd like to understand more. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you for taking the time.

  4. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Animals, you can change departments

    Cons

    Very little hours available, bad management

    PetSmart Response

    February 14, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thanks, again!

  5. "Company seems to be betraying its values: Disorganized, cuts hours, poor communication"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals, being able to recommend proper care for animals. Friendly coworkers. Select managers were kind and encouraging.

    Cons

    Extremely disorganized management, over 4 weeks late on final pay check. Scheduling is a mess, doesn’t respect availability. Cuts hours for long time employees but continues to hire new people. Has forces people to come in when they are ill even when given appropriate notice and workers are penalized if they stand up for their rights. Does not provide actual proper knowledge and training for petcare. Does not schedule enough time to properly close petcare meaning that animals are not properly taken care of and employees are held to unfair standards. It shows that the values of the company have shifted.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    January 7, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so sorry that this was your experience at PetSmart. Please reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so that we can learn more about your time with us. We value your contributions in helping to make pet lives happy and healthy and appreciate you taking the time.

  6. "petsmart sales associate position"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    interacting with animals and their parents, giving them treats, helping them find the best foods and care products.

    Cons

    it takes a long time and alot of experience to change positions, i was interested in the pet care associate position but i didn't have enough experience for it.

    PetSmart Response

    September 10, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and think working with animals and their pet parents make PetSmart a fun and special place as well! Please know that you can always share feedback via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again, for taking the time!

  7. "Great place to work hard"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Oakville, ON

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth

    Cons

    Very few full time associates hired

    PetSmart Response

    September 3, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review! We agree that PetSmart is a great place and are happy that has been your experience as well. It's our associates, pets, and pet parents who make PetSmart such a special place. Thanks again for taking the time!

  8. "PetCare Associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a good place to work

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    PetSmart Response

    September 3, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    It's great to hear that you're enjoying your life at PetSmart! Thank you for all that you do for pets and pet parents. We appreciate you taking the time to review!

  9. "Sales Associate @ Yonge St."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the Yonge Street location and had the chance to work with very flexible managers and wonderful teammates. Definitely recommend it to anybody looking to make an income while studying.

    Cons

    Rarely you might need to work on a day that you've taken off in advance

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    December 3, 2018Employer Branding

    Thanks for the feedback! That's wonderful to hear how much you're enjoying PetSmart, especially working with your managers and colleagues! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate hearing from our associates.

  10. "Mostly great, but"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relatively reasonable pace of work. Generally more pleasant customers. DOGS!

    Cons

    Little say in how things go. Opportunity for creativity lays within displays.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    October 22, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad you're enjoying life at PetSmart, but you raise some valid concerns. Please feel free to contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well, to share your experience. Thank you!

Found 192 reviews