PetSmart Pet Stylist Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find jobs for Pet Stylist

PetSmart Pet Stylist Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 123 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
9 Ratings
  1. "Pet Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Stylist in Saint Catharines, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Full time promised pay, room for growth, paid training, benefits, incident insurance, marketing.

    Cons

    Some policy and procdures make our job more difficult but each one is honestly well thought out and has a reason behind it. They prevent shortcuts but I think that is a good thing truthfully.

    Advice to Management

    Try to intergrate the salon staff with the staff in the rest of the store. Listen to concerns and offer to help when you have time.

    PetSmart2019-01-14

    PetSmart Response

    January 15, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for the helpful feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time. Working in the salon is so important - the team is integral to our success and to bringing smiles to pets and pet parents each day. That's great to hear how much you enjoy the benefits, compensation ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Overall Enjoyed My Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Stylist in Cambridge, ON
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    enjoyed my work, good team, enjoyed benefits, hours and discount, got a long with everyone, good opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    no set schedules, upper management and middle management did not understand the everyday needs and jobs of the people on the floor and "front lines"

    PetSmart2016-11-01
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Very negative Corporate culture and low morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Pet Stylist in Langley, BC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I got the opportunity to learn a trade and pursue a dream career path. Dental and medical benefits, paid vacation & sick days. The security of a base rate of pay on top of weekly commissions. I don't have to seek out my own clients, I can just come to work and groom. The security of knowing you are insured against any grooming incidents or injuries. Charitable donations and work with adoption partners to... improve the lives of rescue and foster animals.

    Show More

    Cons

    Negative Corporate culture since New Ownership in 2015 - largely focused solely on $$. Staff are treated as 'cannon fodder' churned and burned to make as much $$ as possible. I don't feel as though I am valued as an individual and team morale is extremely low. Blatant favoritism and bullying behavior portrayed by poor and unprofessional Management. Extremely stressful conditions and constantly being pushed to... sell more. Forced to work every weekend and holidays etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start appreciating and listening to your most valuable asset - your hardworking and passionate Staff. This Company has lost many talented people due to poor management and terrible working conditions.

    PetSmart2016-10-30
  4. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Stylist 

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They take care of their employees.

    Cons

    It is a very dirty job.

    PetSmart2019-08-30

    PetSmart Response

    September 3, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review and for your commitment to helping pets enjoy happy and healthy lives! The shared passion and love for pets between our associates and pet parents is something special. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

  5. "All right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Stylist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, most managers are willing to work with your schedule and availability if you end up in a good salon. Good benefits and 401k.

    Cons

    Corporate keeps adding more things for groomers to do on top of what they already do. They want more quantity of dogs done and don’t care if the quality suffers or if their groomers get burnt out because they’ll just push new people through academy. If you end up in a bad salon you’ll have a salon manager that treats you like garbage and other coworkers that are catty and don’t give a damn what happens to you, they... just want their money.

    Show More
    PetSmart2019-08-14

    PetSmart Response

    August 15, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you for sharing your experience. While I'm pleased to hear you enjoy the compensation, flexibility and benefits, we'd like to connect with you via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so we can understand more, as we never want to compromise quality or the health of our associates. ...

    Show More
  6. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Pet Stylist 

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Offers extremely good benefits.

    Cons

    They just tend to look at you like a dollar sign.

    PetSmart2019-07-29

    PetSmart Response

    July 31, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you for the feedback! That's wonderful to hear you enjoy the benefits. We value our associates a great deal and would love to hear more about your experience to see where we can improve or what might need to be addressed. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. ...

    Show More
  7. "Can’t stick around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Stylist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with animals. PetSmart pays for salon workers to become certified/licensed for grooming. I know I a lot of people who took advantage of this and then went on to start their own businesses or join better ones

    Cons

    There is no “work/life balance”. Life is either 100% PetSmart or you’re fired. Terms like “family” are used to make you feel like you’re an integral part of the store, but it’s all just to groom you for poor treatment. Hours are ridiculous and pay is abysmal for the amount of labor, duties, and commitment you’re expected to have to the salon. Employees are discouraged from starting families as it could disrupt... business. Working hands on with dogs is great, and you want to believe that everyone works here because they love animals, but it’s just another greedy corporation and money comes before the welfare and happiness of the employees and animals.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like humans. Unpaid overtime shouldn’t be needed to be worked every single day. Corporate clearly has no idea what goes on in the salons, and their expectations are unreasonable. Managers are quick to throw you under the bus. Also, The fact that no one at the store sued after management threatened to fire employees for becoming pregnant is lucky for them.

    PetSmart2019-07-08

    PetSmart Response

    July 9, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. This is not the environment we wish to create for our associates, pets or pet parents and goes against many of our values. We'd like to understand more. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again.

  8. "Don’t Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Stylist in Waynesboro, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Getting to work with animals

    Cons

    Poor pay, poor hours, poor management, terrible work environment

    Advice to Management

    Stop bullying your employees. Hold everyone accountable. Follow the policies and procedures set up by the company.

    PetSmart2019-07-23

    PetSmart Response

    July 23, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you for alerting us. I'm sorry to hear this was your experience. We'd like to understand more. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Zero"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Pet Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Towards the end there was none.

    Cons

    You couldn’t go to management about any concerns you were having as they would tell your coworkers. They didn’t care if we got way over booked in the salon or how stressed we were. We didn’t have any support from them. When I put my two weeks in they walked me out that day stating it was policy. My reasoning for leaving I was unhappy. I felt like my managers didn’t have my back about things. That they only cared... about money. They pushed us way pass our limit. If you called in they made you feel like trash I always was made to work by myself on a weekend in the salon which is against policy

    Show More
    PetSmart2019-07-15

    PetSmart Response

    July 17, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and I'm sorry this was your experience. We'd like to understand more. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you.

  10. "CEO doesn't care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working safely with dogs and meeting different people in the salon.

    Cons

    No recognition or appreciation. Grooming manager had little to no say on what happens in the salon.

    Advice to Management

    take care of your employees

    PetSmart2019-06-20

    PetSmart Response

    July 1, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. While that's great that you are enjoying working with pets, I'm sorry to hear you feel we have stopped investing in our team. We have many programs in place supporting our retail and corporate team members. Please know you can always share more ...

    Show More
Found 123 reviews