Percolate Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Percolate Reviews

Updated Dec 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Percolate CEO Randy Wootton
Randy Wootton
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Percolate is a great company with a very good work life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Awesome office, awesome people, great product, passionate clients(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in New York, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Percolate full-time

    Pros

    Percolate is a good place to learn software engineering. Because the product is very large and diverse in terms of features, there is a lot of opportunity to gain relevant experience in a lot of tools and technologies, regardless of whether you are in Frontend, Backend, Infrastructure etc.

    Cons

    Often times you may find yourself switching context when it comes to assigned work.

    Continue reading
    Percolate2019-12-26
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Percolate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing, hard-working, and smart.

    Cons

    Transparency and communication from the c-suite could be improved. Company allhands meetings were vague and pointless. Office typically empty due to flexible WFH leading to a not very lively environment

    Percolate2019-11-20
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Exodus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Percolate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Once upon a time, Percolate had an amazing culture. It's still kind of there, but a little worse for the wear. Even so, there's some truly lovely people that work there. In the time I was at Percolate, I never had anything but positive interactions with my peers. Everyone's a professional and seems to work hard at their job. There's nice little perks like catered lunch once a week, cold brew on tap and healthy snacks. There's even a full espresso machine. Every so often there's small office events with food and booze - always nice. Engineering is a mixed bag, but there's no denying that a lot of stellar work was done on the tooling and infrastructure. Regardless of the outcome, there's a lot of smart people trying to create and maintain good processes. The work can be hard, but overall there's real personal control of work/life balance.

    Cons

    People are leaving in droves, so bandwidth suffers constantly. It's hard to tell if the ship is sinking or just afloat and abandoned. Either way, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else. For me, the physical environment was unpleasant. The engineering floor is called the "fish bowl" because all the desks are in the middle of the floor surrounded by a perimeter of glass conference rooms. The benefits are the worst I've ever had at a startup - no 401k matching and a poor medical plan. There's stock options, but nobody I know bought any. Leadership is probably the biggest problem. Both of the founders left the company. Make of that what you will. The current CEO is very nice, but a bit reminiscent of a used car salesman. Senior leadership has intelligent people, but they still can't seem to figure out how to manage people and organize teams properly. Although they are seemingly transparent, it often feels like lies and lip service. Expectations are all over the place, and you can't count on consistent support. Unfortunately, this negatively impacts everything else.

    Continue reading
    Percolate2019-07-25

    Percolate Response

    July 31, 2019People Operations

    Thanks for your review. We certainly want all of our employees to enjoy working for Percolate, but also realize it may not be the environment for everyone and that's also ok. While happy to see all the pros you listed (which we're super proud of!), we would like to take the time to address the less than positive feedback because of how it impacted your time here. Firstly, we realize the office space you were in leaves a bit to be desired. We are in the process of procuring new space that we feel will be a breath of fresh air and very much what Percolate needs for our work environment (we're certainly pumped!). Our number one priority has always been our employees. So you all spoke up! We are listening. Benefits- We put a lot of work into designing our 2019 plans which are much better quality than in previous years and will continue to make improvements year over year. Benefits unfortunately cannot change over night because of how our healthcare system works, but we hope employees recognize the work that is going in to build out better plans for you and your families. 2020 is shaping up to be pretty great! Lastly, re: leadership. Our co-founders are both still Percolate's biggest supporters. They have moved on to tackle new and exciting adventures but still bleed Percolate Orange. That will never change. We are so proud of the work they did bringing Percolate to where we are today. We are also incredibly confident in our current leadership team and where they will lead us in the future. We encourage anyone who has concerns or lacks clarity on direction, purpose, mission, or simply has questions, please take the time to speak with members of our leadership team. They are always available and happy to chat!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Percolate++"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Percolate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at Percolate for over 2 years now, across a few different teams and positions and I still see lots of potential here. The Marketing tech workspace is dynamic and competitive so there's never really a chance to get bored. It feels like we've grown to be a mature startup, with better alignment between teams and leadership, and a more clear understanding of how to build your career with Percolate. We have an eclectic mix of technologies with a culture that's open to experimenting. We're always pushing to enhance the quality of our code and reduce friction in our development and deploy processes. Probably one of the most refreshing things here is the access to leadership and the many channels we have for expressing your concerns, asking questions, or challenging product direction - from being totally anonymous, group brain-storming sessions, communicating through your manager, or just having a quick chat over coffee.

    Cons

    - Finding the right balance between bug fixing, feature development, and improving code quality is tough and an on-going process -No 401K Match

    Continue reading
    Percolate2019-05-07

    Percolate Response

    July 31, 2019People Operations

    Thanks for your review, happy to hear you are enjoying working here! We certainly value transparency and open communication. Access to leadership is a critical component of that. We have also found new ways to tap into the feedback from our customers and use that feedback to help improve our product. Looking forward to a productive 2H!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Engineering team LOVES installing new and useless processes constantly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Percolate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. If you can put in 4-5 hours a day here you will be considered a top performer.

    Cons

    I apologize for not finding a way to sugar coat this because there are some very nice people in engineering here, but overall the engineering org is probably going to be the downfall of this company. The management in that group is in waaaaaaay over their heads which is the biggest problem, but somehow the other execs do not see this. Engineering management seems obsessed with putting in new processes all the time, which ultimately leads to less time to, you know, fix bugs and deliver features. Does not seem like a recipe for success for a mid-stage startup.

    Percolate2019-05-05

    Percolate Response

    June 7, 2019People Operations

    There's a lot to unpack here, but let me start with the pros. We are huge advocates of work/life balance and always will be. That's part of what makes working here so great! Our employees are people, first and foremost, so there needs to be healthy balance between work and one's personal life. Our CEO always talks about "family first" and we are proud to be a company that truly stands behind that statement. We also have some of the hardest working people around, which is certainly a plus! In terms of the engineering team, our recommendation is that you meet with some of the engineering leaders to learn more about what they are working on and why. We are a company of transparency and all of our leaders are more than willing to discuss what's working and what isn't. Join the office hours, ask to join a team meeting, speak with your peers in other departments! There are lots of ways to get more insight into all the hard work they are doing and what their priorities are. Thanks for your review!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "lack of discipline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Percolate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    learning all time and new skills

    Cons

    management has no systematic go to market road map or strategy

    Continue reading
    Percolate2019-04-06

    Percolate Response

    May 6, 2019People Operations

    Although we don't love to see less than glowing reviews (which company would?!), we actually wish you had given a bit more feedback around the cons so that we could properly address your concerns! Initial thoughts are that perhaps we needed to tighten up some of our communications around our go to market strategy or road map. If that's the case, what we can say is that we recently implemented some new tools and trainings specifically for sales enablement, which we believe had addressed this issue head on. Definitely a game changer!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Percolate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good people, welcoming office well located.

    Cons

    bad culture, leadership and management.

    Continue reading
    Percolate2019-04-04

    Percolate Response

    May 6, 2019People Operations

    Thanks for your review. We hear you on the career pathing and fostering an environment where our employees can continue to grow. It's incredibly important and we recognize that, which is why at the end of last year, we rolled out our company-wide career pathing database. This living, breathing database was put together with input from all our leaders across the business so that we could make sure it was done right! While I see that you are a former employee, I do hope your current employer takes career pathing just as seriously and if not, we encourage you to speak up! All employees deserve to have it and I'm happy to report that we can provide it!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "1,2-25 leave since 1/19-How many more will go?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Percolate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a few good people that work here. Good Dental and eye insurance

    Cons

    Key people have left-founder, Product, Sales Leaders, and Marketing leaders. - not good, more to come. Over half Sales team has left, more people in operations telling salespeople what to do and how to sell. New Management and leaders have never managed a team before- it's a disaster. Product direction is going in the wrong direction. More people ops than salespeople. No road map or strategy. Bad culture, bad leadership, and bad management.

    Continue reading
    Percolate2019-04-23
  9. "What Percolate's Like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Percolate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Extremely transparent company to work at with every aspect of communication; if you'd like to know something, simply ask -If you're looking to get into more activities culturally with a company they provide every opportunity to do so with associated clubs/wellness activities -Truly value their employees and their participation within company events -Direct Managers as well as executives provide autonomy to their employees and encourage giving you the chance to enhance your career and learn -Excellent work/life balance

    Cons

    -No 401k match -Health benefits are not great

    Percolate2019-03-11

    Percolate Response

    April 4, 2019People Operations

    Thanks for your review! We work hard to create a positive culture for our employees and are thrilled that you have found it to be just that. We are also all about that transparency! If you work for us, we want to make sure you know what you are working for! It's incredibly important. We are also working hard to constantly improve our benefit offerings. We made some pretty significant changes to our benefits going into 2019 and will continue to incorporate as much of your suggestions as we can. Please don't hesitate to share your ideas!

    Continue reading
  10. "Mobilizing is the key"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Percolate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employees, great leadership, promising space

    Cons

    Crowded marketplace, difficult to differentiate, educate

    Continue reading
    Percolate2019-03-09

    Percolate Response

    April 4, 2019People Operations

    Thanks for your review! We couldn't agree more. It's hard to be in a crowded marketplace, but we are more confident than ever in our employees and in our product. 2019 is shaping up to be a great year. Onward!

    Continue reading
Found 153 reviews