Peninsula Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Peninsula Reviews

Updated 10 January, 2018
501 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Peninsula Managing Director Peter Done
Peter Done
343 Ratings

501 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The range of training and development opportunities really is second to none (in 18 reviews)

  • Training and development is second to none and is continuous (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • Fast paced due to high demand which can reflect sometimes in the individual/service (in 25 reviews)

  • There is no cons I could think of (in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with, Great location

    Cons

    nothing bad at all

    Peninsula Response

    5 Jan, 2018 – Directors Office

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.


  2. "Fantastic opportunities and perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Lots done for us as employees. Free breakfast on a Monday, free drinks on the last Friday of the month, free exercise class each week. As well as the standard Christmas party for staff they also gave us a free Kids Christmas party which was amazing and a free kids pantomime. we also had a big family BBQ in the Summer. Not many companies that offer this anymore.
    Lots of opportunities available should you show yourself to be worth it.

    Cons

    I honestly dont have any. Work hard and play hard is true in this case.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing.

    Peninsula Response

    11 Jan, 2018 – Directors Office

    It's great to read you've taken full advantage of the benefits we've provided to all our employees last year. We're working on making sure these are even better for 2018, thanks for the review.... More


  3. "Fantastic company with great opportunities and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead/Manager in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Team Lead/Manager in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Reward is given to those who like to work hard and progress. Great staff wellbeing ethos, loads of benefits and recognition schemes along with fantastic earning opportunities. Talent is recognised and developed within the business and most of the top management team have come from within showing how invested in its people the business is.

    Cons

    No cons for those who love working in a fast paced and dynamic business.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do well.

    Peninsula Response

    10 Jan, 2018 – Directors Office

    Thanks for providing us with a genuine and honest review. Its clear from reading your feedback you love working with us and that's all we ask every day, enjoy your work and the rest will follow... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Fantastic company - great progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Been with the company for 2 years and have already progressed in my department. This is because the company has great training facilities for staff who want to progress through the company.

    Cons

    Would love a coffee shop in the office lobby - that's me being lazy and not wanting to go outdoors on my break!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Peninsula Response

    10 Jan, 2018 – Directors Office

    Your progression within 2 years is evidence to support we develop our employees and look to recruit from within. Thanks for the review and let see if you've progressed further in the next 12 months.... More


  6. "Looks after it's people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time

    Pros

    Peninsula's fast-paced environment allows you to learn and develop as an individual and are led and nurtured by excellent management.

    Peninsula looks after their people as much as they do their clients. Excellent opportunities to progress and offers generous benefits.

    Cons

    Sometimes the pace of work can get rather wild! It's not for everyone. Some enjoy it more than others. As for me, I like to think I thrive from it.

    Advice to Management

    Despite rapid growth in the last two years, and as teams get bigger over time, remember to look after your people and they will look after the business.

    Peninsula Response

    10 Jan, 2018 – Directors Office

    With the growth of the group, our employees are exposed to more opportunities than ever to progress and develop. We really appreciate your review.


  7. "Success Starts Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Promotion from within. Huge opportunities for progression and development

    Cons

    Minimum 100% commitment required. Pace can sometime be a challenge

    Advice to Management

    Continue to evolve and take the time to listen to ideas

    Peninsula Response

    5 Jan, 2018 – Directors Office

    A core belief at Peninsula is promotion from within and providing all our employees with multiple opportunities to develop and progress with us. Thanks for the feedback.


  8. "Fast paced exciting finance career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Controller in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Financial Controller in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I joined recently, from a Big 4 accountancy practice taking the financial controller position vacated by the newly promoted head of finance.

    Since joining the team, I have noticed that there is a real drive to promote from within as many of my colleagues have 5+ years experience with the organisation.

    This is helpful as access to further knowledge about the business and processes is there through it's employee's and provides a platform of support when needed.

    The business is in a rapid growth phase and currently this allows you to support other interesting ad hoc tasks which breaks up the daily, weekly, monthly tasks as part of your role.

    Has the normal modern working practices, such as dress down Friday and remote working.

    You can really see the company works to achieve it's aims of helping it's clients.

    Cons

    As with any successful growing company there is the propensity to feel stretched so really the role isn't for those who don't want the challenge and don't want to decision make or problem solve.

    There is potentially the need to increase communication between everyone in the business and assist employees with building internal networks.

    My previous company did flexible working, here they don't, but they do have the IT infrastructure to do so.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to create better communication between departments through the use of IT and remove the mundane by the automation of processes.

    Keep expanding, It provides excellent opportunities to the staff below.

    Peninsula Response

    3 Jan, 2018 – Directors Office

    We're delighted you took the decision to join Peninsula and your enjoying your new role. Thanks for taking the time to write your review, We take the time to read and listen to all the feedback we're... More


  9. "Draconian HR practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Human Resources Consultant in Manchester, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Human Resources Consultant in Manchester, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Worked with some wonderful clients and colleagues.

    Cons

    Micro management, witnessed bullying, no flexible working or part time working. Company do not follow best practice.

    Advice to Management

    Recruit intelligent management and train in best practice.

    Peninsula Response

    10 Jan, 2018 – Directors Office

    Being the market leader in HR and have over 40,000 clients I can confirm we do not bully employees and as the 500 reviews on Glassdoor showcase, we take a lot of pride in developing our employees and... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "H&S Consultant - run ragged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - H&S Consultant in Manchester, England (UK)
    Former Employee - H&S Consultant in Manchester, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Manage your own diary and clients

    Cons

    Target driven, no accounting for clients cancelling , working early mornings and late evenings to meet targets, excessive client lists, do not put the client first.

    Advice to Management

    Rely less on figures on paper and understand the client and employees needs a little better. Extra visits when needed and not having to make 7 visits per week may improve relations with clients and employees

    Peninsula Response

    19 Dec, 2017 – Directors Office

    We're pleased you enjoyed managing your own diary and days on the road however surely your 'cons' are also a direct result of the 'pros'? Maybe if you'd brought these thoughts to your manager's... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Great Atmosphere Great Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Current Employee - Marketing in Dublin, Co. Dublin (Ireland)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere in the office, everyone seems to gel well together. For the advice and health and safety teams it's a great stepping stone for their career. For sales, they do quite well financially with commission's.

    Cons

    Salary can be on the low side but for new grads straight from college it opens many doors in HR and Employment Law. It's a Sales company rather than an Employment Law and HR company to be honest

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Respect goes both ways

    Peninsula Response

    4 Dec, 2017 – Directors Office

    We're pleased you find the atmosphere great within the Dublin office and that there is a togetherness about the departments. We would, however, have to disagree that we're regarded as a stepping... More


Showing 501 of 510 reviews
Reset Filters