Next Jump Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Next Jump Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
Next Jump CEO Charlie Kim and Meghan Messenger (no image)
Charlie Kim and Meghan Messenger
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of free food/ free breakfast/ late evening work dinners(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, great energy(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Opportunities for personal development if you're willing to put the work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - There's a real community feel around the company. Every employee, from junior to more senior level, is interested in helping with your own personal development. - Opportunities for rapid career development if you're willing to put the work in and are proactive in seeking and onboarding feedback on your work. - Really liked the idea around having both business and cultural responsibilities. Culture is an... opportunity to practice new things and also learn more about yourself in the process - this can then be applied to your business role. - A lot of perks and benefits - such as breakfast, laundry service, and evening meals if you need to stay late to complete some work.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Work-life balance is often difficult to maintain. - Sometimes critical feedback can come across as aggressive rather than constructive. - At times, your cultural responsibilities can feel very executional as opposed to an opportunity to experiment and practice on aspects of your personal development. - As the company focuses on your personal development, Next Jump may not be the place for you if you're not... willing to be open and vulnerable about your personal life and experiences.

    Show More
    Next Jump2019-09-08
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Dispassionate, honest outlook of the company in 2019 as a software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - You truly work as a full stack software engineer. You will use VMs as your workspace, separate code bases into the service layer and front end, and be expose to doing both mobile app and website work. I learnt a lot about how to write software at a small to medium sized company scale. - NextJump academies introduce you to interesting people. I met my first admiral ever through an academy, which I thought was super... cool. The projects have an incredible reach - Feedback app is used by the US Navy and perks at work by most of Fortune 1000.

    Show More

    Cons

    - There is close to zero testing in both perks at work and the feedback app. There are no presubmits as part of continuous integration, just human testing. The software written is not methodical and will never scale from medium to large. In general the code health is poor, ranging from decent to horrific, and these lead to terrible debugging experiences. I have felt depressed debugging something that feels very... simple before. There is no sense of pride in the product. Most people don’t even use it. - There is no project management expertise at the company. Non-technical staff, with no understanding of the difficulty of writing good software, have a lot of sway over engineers. This results in unrealistic demands that don’t get met and stressed engineers. - This was the kicker for me - there’s no way to recharge with the current vacation policy and company culture. 10 days vacation. Thanksgiving weekend, you have to come in on Friday. Some holidays like MLK day not respected. Each quarter, you have to give up approximately 4 full Saturdays (Academy and recruitment), which last 12 hours from 8 to 8, in which you mostly do things like set up the dinning and interview areas. In general, you just don’t feel respected by management. - You have to drink a lot of kool-aid. Case in point, once a year, you have to give presentations about how the company help you grow. On a biweekly basis, you have to give tours to guests to talk about how great the company is.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire most of the non-technical staff and put in leadership with a strong technical background

    Next Jump2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Interesting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Next Jump full-time

    Pros

    You get to work independently.

    Cons

    Next Jump has a Cult feel in the office.

    Next Jump2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (8)

    "A bad company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good perks, decent pay for London living standards

    Cons

    Horrible location. Outside a toilet in the London office. Micromanagement of staff. Extremely high turnover. Also they have no HR

    Advice to Management

    You need to find some sensible management and install a HR function.

    Next Jump2019-04-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    training to improve leadership skill

    Cons

    dealing with logistics and management

    Next Jump2019-02-06
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Accelerated personal a career growth - nothing else like it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Jump full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Next Jump really believes in giving people people more responsibility than they can think they handle. You will end up going outside your comfort zone a lot and working on many tasks that would normally be outside your job role. When you look back, you will be amazed and how much you were able to achieve that you didn't think possible. While this isn't for everyone, I have found my own career growth to be... massively advanced when compared to my peers, having had experience with all parts of running a company, from HR, Finance, Engineering, Customer Support, Client Management. If you are interesting in running your own company or being in a startup - this is an ideal training ground. - Working with other companies and improving their company culture is really eye opening to the pervasive issues in the rest of the industry. While Next Jump is by no means perfect, its very open to criticism and is honest about where it needs to improve. Sharing those lessons with the employees and other companies makes the company feel very human, and constantly changing. - You feel cared for. I feel like everyone around me cares for me and is trying to help me be the best I can be. Everyone is a genuinely nice person and lots of people make life long friends. Management take interest in peoples lives and try to help (some really amazing stories from the CEO helping out people). - The company does encourage people to be themselves and honest about their strengths/weakness. This can be challenging and strange at first, especially as from childhood we are told to only show our strong side. However, in the long run this makes everyone more rounded, humble and open to other ideas. Has also helped me in my personal life tackle approach issues i would have ignored or struggled at, by considering how I am at work reflects me at home. - The benefits/perks are pretty good (outside of personal growth). Dinner is often provided, laundry, laptop, trips to New York, gym membership, drinks/snacks etc etc. - The Co-CEOs are extremely honest, authentic, hard working and dedicated to the company and the people who work here.

    Show More

    Cons

    - All of the above takes a lot of energy. Not just to help yourself but to help others. Nobody works on the weekend, but you will be expected to work beyond the 9-6 hours, generally during the q4 period which is busiest. This isn't a clock in, clock out job and that attitude doesn't survive well here (but they are upfront with this). - The responsibility and level of decision making expected is often beyond what... you feel you can do, and can feel unfair at times. However, you are making decisions someone 10-20yrs + experience would be making elsewhere. - Sometimes the decisions made on employees is whats right for the company, but not for the individual at the time (or can feel that way). Especially when you feel you have put a lot of effort in or deserve something, management (with a bigger picture/experience) feel differently. Often these are discussions around perks or career growth.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I do think there is an issue with (or at least the perception of) long term career growth beyond 4-5 years. While many small companies have this problem, I think we should strive to provide a path for long term. Especially when those people leave with vast amounts of training and experience, its the junior people who feel the pain (lessons lost).

    Next Jump2019-01-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "One two three four five"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time

    Pros

    Good work culture encourages you to improve

    Cons

    Too personal with what they ask you

    Next Jump2019-01-02
  8. Helpful (40)

    "Puts the Cult in "Culture""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Jump full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gym. Laundry. Free food. Ends there.

    Cons

    I decided to write this review to prevent anyone from making the same mistake I did: accepting a position at this cult. The customer experience department at Next Jump is beyond pathetic. Most of this is because the CEO is a megalomaniac (Charlie), the other "CEO" is a figurehead who's one of the dumbest people I've ever worked for. Perhaps the only inspiring thing about working for this company is that people so... vapid could make that much money. This company ONLY recruits college kids. Ask anyone who looks older than that how they came to the company and chances are a) they've been there since college b) they started 7+ years ago. Why? That's how cults operate they brainwash people who don't know any better. They use hazing tactics, making people do manual work not in their job title to make them feel a false sense of camaraderie. They treat their temp workers like GARBAGE. Why? These are their direct words: "they've burned us before." Basically, they hired a few people who didn't know how to handle themselves at happy hour five years ago and now they use it as an excuse to treat the people who are working with their customers like they need to earn the the right to work at such a "high performing" company. But if your from Tufts, you can be the dumbest person there, they'll give you a position because well... you went a good school. Absolutely no resources are give to the Customer Experience Team and there is no one "takes ownership." Customers are left waiting for weeks to get a simple response. The employees don't even use perks at work because there are so many bugs and they're worried that something could go wrong with their trip/product. If you're not cut throat and political they won't view you as "a leader." The CEO will outright comment on people's weight and personal life. Many people left the company after he shamed an employee for getting hit by a car. Mind you, this is AFTER he hosted a party that went from 7-2 AM and there was a mandatory dance that he forced employees to partake in (the proof is on youtube). He likes to tell jokes about how one of the employees (I guess her Next Jump "family" wasn't looking after her) got hurt as a result of his over indulgent parties. Over indulgent because this company does not even cover the basics. They're Customer Service is never staffed properly. They have a rotation of temps who they make go through a "gated process" (ie jump through arbitrary hoops just so management can let them go after they've wasted their time. For a tech company they do not leverage technology at ALL, but specifically in customer service. Escalations will be left for weeks (who sends these using email anymore... archaic). Why? The company is more interested in taking millions of dollars from the government to have them adopt their cultish apps. They want the government to use their apps to leave each other "anonymous" feedback. They have a bunch of dying plants taking up half of their office because every time they set forth an initiative it always fizzles out shorty after. Why? Because IRONICALLY even though all employees are forced to go through leadership training the leadership is so bad that turnover is out of control and what does that leave you with? A bunch of dead plants and employees that hate you, but are forced to stay because you're using their immigration status as leverage. The funny thing is they actually blame all of the temp agencies in NYC. Exactly. It's not them, and how they barely acknowledge these people, manipulate them into a fruitless "gated process", haze and humiliate them... it's all the temps. They're just not cut from the same cloth as all of the employees who went to the "good" schools. Well, all of those employees are leaving if they're not stuck because of immigration logistics. Some engineers who have been there for a while even complain of not doing well on interviews (while trying to escape) because their skills are so rusty. If you need further evidence of this company's poor, POOR leadership just go on the corporate perks website. Let that speak for itself. Write a ticket into customer service. If your request is even a bit complex see how long it takes for them to get back to you... and how accurate the response is. There has been NO INNOVATION in that department for ages. How can you innovate when you don't have a team? And the remaining team is too arrogant or incompetent to DO anything. Half of what they do could be automated, just smart enough in leadership has stepped up. Because let's face it, they have the companies they work with pushing their product so they don't care at ALL about the customers. PLEASE any company or agency that plans on going into business with them... ask them what their NPS is. They don't even know the term and let that be a testament to how abysmal their service is. They don't care about it because they don't see it as revenue generating They look down on it and even make people who are demoted in the company (the company has a no fire policy, so these are people who just don't do anything and don't have the self-respect to leave) work in the department. There is a lot more to say. But this is my plea to anyone considering employment there, ESPECIALLY temps... just don't. It may seem like decent pay, but it's a cult. They'll fire you and make up a reason. Anytime you go on vacation or leave for the weekend just be aware that you could get a call that they don't want you back and they'll mail your things. Maybe you asked too many questions, or maybe you just didn't feel like staying until 11PM. Yes, this company asks that you stay several nights until 11 or 12, people will even sleep over in the office. Of course, this isn't a formal thing that they'll ask via email, just like they won't formally demand that you go to their spin class (seriously guys... that would be illegal). They just shame you if you don't. This is why people who were in frats and sororities thrive, they're used to it. They even tape people while they're working out and use the footage to comment on people's personal characteristics.... because how you ride a bike TOTALLY correlates with how you perform in your professional life. They're so understaffed because they only recruit twice a year. The hiring process is a popularity contest where employees put stickers on the faces of people they liked, or thought were "super hot" candidates. These are basically all yes men who exhibit no sense of self in interviews (they gotta be malleable... *ahem* humble). During one of these OF COURSE they have an after party (not mandatory at all... like all of their fun team building events) that goes until 2AM. Employees cannot even weigh in on people who will be joining their team (because that makes a lot of sense). Who doesn't want to stay up beyond twelve hours with no extra pay? I had an employee as me a bunch of questions about a candidate over a drink. Turns out that he reported our entire conversation back to my supervisor who video conferenced me a week later quoting our 2AM conversation. Vindictive? Totally, but that's exactly the type of people who THRIVE here. She video called me and didn't even tell me that someone else was listening to our conversation out of view until our conversation was over. The whole place sets you up to fail. Takeaway: JUST SAY NO. Or maybe they'll take three months to email you your offer like they often do and that'll make the decision easy for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm talking to the investors (management is past hope): fire the CEOs and get real, experienced people in the company. Get rid of the "no fire" policy, because it breeds laziness and incompetence. Give people more than two weeks off. Stop using immigration as leverage (kinda unethical to do that). Stop hiring people based on how "humble" they are (because you CLEARLY have no accurate way of gauging that) and because... they went to one of the five schools you like and start hiring people based on their experience and skills. Create a REAL training program for new hires that doesn't involve hazing and breaking them down military style.

    Show More
    Next Jump2019-01-13
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Don't get sucked in because of they money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time

    Pros

    Free food Pay is good but it comes at a price (see below) That's it.

    Cons

    Literally everything in the company is a con. The 'managers' (inexperienced bunch of grads) are like high school bullies. They also treat non-fulltimers / temps like fleas and this is condoned by all full-timers no matter how nice they are. Including MDs. When I say everyone talks about everyone 24/7, that is all these children do. They also want to know a ton of stuff about your personal life through what... they call 'PLB'. It's intrusive and probably breaking some parts of the British Law. They believe in 'collective suffering', it's just a bit mental that the company hasn't been under a watchdog investigation. It can really damage your mental health. Their job descriptions are really vague.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just be nice, decent humans??? It is not hard! Isn't that part of the company's ethos anyway?

    Next Jump2019-01-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Opportunity + responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Jump full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As well as decent compensation and very competitive perks (including some very unique ones - trips to NY, weekly laundry service), the main pros are around Next Jump's investment in you, and the career progression opportunities offered. The level of trust and ownership you will be given is huge, but with a robust support system in place to enable to accelerate your growth and learning. Everything in the company is... geared towards bettering you as an individual, and there are so many initiatives baked in to day-to-day life as a Next Jumper which enable you to do so. A true meritocracy, where you will get out what you put in.

    Show More

    Cons

    With a lot of responsibility comes downsides. You will need to be ambitious and have true perseverance at times to succeed. Rapidly accelerating your personal and professional development is not always easy (although comes with great reward), but if you're not bought into this development, Next Jump may not be the place for you.

    Next Jump2018-12-06
Found 164 reviews