NCSOFT Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

NCSOFT Reviews

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
NCSOFT CEO Songyee Yoon
Songyee Yoon
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "The specific studio I am/was at had an incredible office culture, and a really admirable adherence to keeping a healthy work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "In the golden years, NCsoft (Austin/West) was a great place for opportunity and learning(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Beholden to the South Korea office for all major decisions, from corporate to game teams(in 20 reviews)

  • "Management completely and utterly incompetent with no understanding of the western games market(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people make it a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    there is a lot of opportunity if you want it

    Cons

    less energetic than other game industry company

    NCSOFT2020-02-11
  2. "It was a good time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior 3D Artist in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I just had to model and texture. Handpainting was great. I miss that.

    Cons

    We made an MMO RPG.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2020-02-01
  3. "Non-existent pipeline with potential to rebuild"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Deep MMO games - Opportunity to help rebuild the business

    Cons

    - Pockets of misplaced arrogance or entitlement - Almost no direction or communication from leadership - No long-term pipeline

    NCSOFT2020-02-12
  4. "Company is Committed; Future Growth Assured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great place to further self-development -Snacks & refreshments always available -Great people to work with -IT has your back

    Cons

    Language & communication issues w/ HQ (Korean) Re-occurring technical issues

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2020-01-19
  5. "It was nice experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI/User Experience Designer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I could work with very specialized people for gaming industry.

    Cons

    The project that I worked was postponed, so finally it was disappeared.

    NCSOFT2020-02-02
  6. "Potential Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Try to improve and innovate from mistakes - Good work-life balance - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Need more people to work - Big hit titles needed

    NCSOFT2020-01-16
  7. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concept Artist in Seoul
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The meal in the cafeteria is delicious. The in-house welfare facilities are very good. Education support, childcare support There are many good employees. Nice work/life balance.

    Cons

    The decision-making speed is very slow. It takes too long to make a game. There is internal political conflict.

    NCSOFT2019-12-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Korean management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great quality games - Good team

    Cons

    - Terrible relationship between Korean HQ and local US operations

    NCSOFT2019-10-21
  9. "Good company overall with a conservative work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linguistic QA in Pangyo, Kyonggi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Clean, modern offices - Good recreational facilities - Highly desirable area - Friendly coworkers and staff - Lots of support and training opportunities - Lots of feedback - Lots of room for professional growth

    Cons

    - Upper management are old school - Very hierarchical and inflexible, I never knew a game company could feel like being in the military - Very out of touch with the broader industry - I felt like I knew more about games than most people there - Very old fashioned, they want you to stay late for no reason like a traditional Korean firm

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-09-13
  10. "Good experience so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Onboarding process is clear and fast. Help with H1b transfer, deal with everything with quick reply and great help. Great benefits, not only the health insurance, but also activities and foods :) Work environment is great, can you believe the chairs are all Herman Miller?

    Cons

    I didn't find anything unhappy here yet.

    NCSOFT2019-08-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 144 reviews