Morgan Stanley Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Morgan Stanley Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6540 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Morgan Stanley CEO James P. Gorman
James P. Gorman
2,751 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan Stanley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good environment excellent workspace flexible hours

    Cons

    Until now I don't have any issue in this company

    Morgan Stanley2019-07-24
  2. "Awesome workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan Stanley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent money, enthusiastic coworkers, passion for technology is very apparent, ~$5000 signing bonus for student, ~$5000 bonus/year (depending on performance) lots of opportunity to move up and move around

    Cons

    18 months before relocation is considered, $65000 for new grads in Montreal is not as competitive as some companies

    Morgan Stanley2019-09-11
  3. "Very good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integration Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Morgan Stanley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of subject matter experts working closely together. Feels like a startup mode which is also great.

    Cons

    Nothing in particular to share.

    Morgan Stanley2019-09-04
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at Morgan Stanley full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, good location, great salary

    Cons

    Need more stronger dev team

    Advice to Management

    Better review the project before start it

    Morgan Stanley2019-09-02
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Director in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Morgan Stanley full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    the technology associate program is a good place to start and grow your network

    Cons

    the main decisions are still made in the headquarters changing positions is harder the higher up the chain you go

    Morgan Stanley2019-08-30
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Standart 9-5 boring place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Morgan Stanley full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Straightforward hiring process if you are not asking too much. RRSP and insurance are good. Culture is mostly safe for minorities and PoC, but don't expect to be promoted soon or at all. People are good. Smart and polite. It's a shame most of their talent is just wasted in paper-filling. Overall, solid 9-5 option if you don't care about your work and is excited to file tickets and reports everyday.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, bureaucracy, bureaucracy on every step of your way. The most boring org I've worked in. You need to get approvals for every baby step. They speak a lot about "innovations", but that's cheap talk. Good luck getting approved to work on something outside of your day-to-day tasks! Slim chances to grow. Becoming next level, a Vice President is super hard and sometime can take anywhere between 5 to 10(!)... years to get there. Or never. Tech stack is heavily customized and outdated. Forget about industry's best practices. Take any Java framework and substract year's worth of versions - that will be the version you will be using. New office at WeWork at L'Avenue is a disaster, there is no air to breathe. Number of nice people told me they left because of this. Just don't agree to work there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are layers upon layers of management and I'm sure they don't care about lowest level workers at all. As long as money are made. Otherwise, in a "bad quarter" expect to get fired. Don't worry, the upper level management will be fine.

    Morgan Stanley2019-08-16
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Morgan Stanley part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment and generally conducive.

    Cons

    Exposure to knowledge and experience limited.

    Morgan Stanley2019-07-26
  8. "Good Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan Stanley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive Salary and Benefits. (In my case) I have one of the best manager managers' line ever

    Cons

    Limited/Restricted/No Access to navigate between environments to develop ideas

    Morgan Stanley2019-07-02
  9. "Nice place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Morgan Stanley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent Bonus, good policies for employees

    Cons

    Bad work life balance and timings

    Morgan Stanley2019-06-25
  10. "Amazing workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Windows Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Morgan Stanley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging, lots of knowledgeable coworkers

    Cons

    Lots of meetings and silos, inevitable due to the amount of staff in the company.

    Morgan Stanley2019-05-28
Found 6540 reviews