Microsoft Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Microsoft Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "They have a great work/life balance with lots of flexibility(in 2512 reviews)

  • "Good salary Smart people Beautiful workplaces(in 1861 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits for full time and part time, flexible schedule, great team of people, lots of free growth resources

    Cons

    Hard to transition over to corporate,not ALL benefits are accessible to part timers (eg. Healthy active living benefit)

    Advice to Management

    Decrease micromanagement

    Microsoft2019-10-15
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Microsoft full-time

    Pros

    Good management Great training Cool work environment

    Cons

    Some downsides include lots of pointless meetings

    Microsoft2019-10-10
  3. "Good work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-Life Balance Not Exceptionally Long Hours. Better Company Direction with Satya Nadella.

    Cons

    Weather in Seattle can be poor at times. Some teams have a more competitive culture, rather than collaborative.

    Microsoft2019-10-10
  4. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best company in the world

    Cons

    Interesting in computer, and softwares

    Microsoft2019-10-06
  5. "Pretty Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay benefits were pretty good

    Cons

    none, it was a great place to work

    Microsoft2019-10-01
  6. "Great if you are a student and you wanna get into Retail."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Product Advisor in Mississauga, ON

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Surface, Snacks and drinks Friendly environment

    Cons

    Not get promoted easily. but hey everyone is different

    Microsoft2019-10-01
  7. "average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 

    I have been working at Microsoft part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very good work place for developing

    Cons

    not good team very aggressive

    Microsoft2019-10-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and a great team, but undervalued by company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Advisor in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Getting to be the first get your hands on new technology as it is introduced to the store. - always learning something new - meeting a ton of really cool people both internal to Microsoft, and customers - customer interactions can sometimes result in some really good feel-good moments as a result of helping someone overcome some barrier in their life. - learning about business pipelines and other aspects of... commerce that are usually not shown to typical retail employees - A lot of the retail role is centered on giving people demos, which is a lot of fun - the team is a bunch of fun-loving fools (all of them brilliant geniuses) who you'll grow to love - benefits are great

    Show More

    Cons

    - Staring into the void of the mall during slow hours - Expected to do the work of people who make living wage for much less than living wage. Examples of this work include on-site and off-site customer success training, technical service of devices, sales quotes, supervision of children. - pay disparities between employees who all do the same job is a hush-hush issue - self-entitled customers who take out their... frustrations on retail employees

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While not directed at the immediate managers in-store, as they have very little power over this, the company needs to learn that product advisors are more valuable than they are given credit for. Too often, developers look down on product advisors as retail employees without understanding that we are capable of so much more than just working a till system. In fact, we outshine developers on a regular basis in terms... of our ability to interact face-to-face with customers and teach them how to use every Microsoft product that customer might need, whether it be windows 10, office 365, office 365 for business, virtual reality, mixed reality and HoloLens, powerbi, outlook customer manager, invoices, Microsoft forms, sway, Minecraft: education edition, xbox, of course every piece of surface hardware, and much more. We are generalists who represent the entirety of the company in both the customers we interact with and expertise we are required, simply as a part of our job description, to maintain a working knowledge of. As a trillion dollar company, there is no excuse for this company to not be paying these employees living wage by now, especially as even more responsibilities are tagged onto the end of the list of duties we are expected to perform each quarter.

    Show More
    Microsoft2019-10-10
  9. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Product Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - good working environment - can network with almost anyone, everyone is looking to help

    Cons

    - onboarding can be very confusing and vague

    Microsoft2019-09-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaboration with very smart and experienced people

    Cons

    No specific downsides to working here

    Microsoft2019-09-08
Found 20620 reviews