MPC Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
71%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
MPC CEO Mark Benson (no image)
Mark Benson
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good projects / good pipeline / talented artist(in 49 reviews)

  • "Great films to work on, great people(in 37 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Expectation of commitment is misplaced given extremely low salary(in 40 reviews)

  • "Low pay, especially for juniors(in 38 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It was super good experience for me.

      Oct 3, 2020 - Environment Artist in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There were a lot of talented artists. I was able to learn a lot of things from them.

      Cons

      As for me there were no negative points.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good culture, friendly people, repetitive work

      Apr 19, 2021 - 3D Layout Artist in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My co-workers were fun to work with and I am still good friends with some of them to this day Free breakfast if you arrive early. Free lunch if you work through the lunch hour. Free dinner if you stay late to work. Every Friday at 5pm they had "Beer O'Clock" All the beer and wine you can drink You can very quickly move up in ranks. One of my Supervisors started out as a junior then got to supervisor in 1 year. Many people move up very fast.

      Cons

      A few of us found the job too repetitive. Very outdated software. The Linux version was outdated, the 3D apps were outdated, the inhouse tools were outdated. Even the email client that we used was outdated. The pipeline takes months to learn because of all the proprietary software. Even the messaging app is proprietary. I don't know why they didn't just use Slack or Microsoft Teams of Google Chat

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice job to have

      Apr 26, 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Continuous improvement Open management New challenges

      Cons

      Too much changes and pressure

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't work here.

      Apr 30, 2021 - Runner in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growth opportunity, inclusive environment, interesting people (the artists), cool stuff are done there.

      Cons

      Stressful, enslaving, toxic environment, gossiping, depressing... DON'T WORK HERE!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good First Job

      Apr 21, 2021 - Production Manager in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overtime will bump your Salary by 25-40%

      Cons

      Too much overtime, base pay is a little short. Messy software, pipeline, and workflows. A little bit too much toxicity.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Projects, but very Low Pay

      Mar 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Projects, Helpful artists and leadership, Lots of activities (before pandemic)

      Cons

      Low Pay, Lack of dedicated department TDs, Shorter contracts sometimes.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not good company

      Mar 26, 2021 - VFX Artist in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of OT Not good payment

      Cons

      People is nice Free beer on fridays

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Beginning A Career at MPC

      Feb 28, 2020 - Techanim Key Artist in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MPC gives you a start if you are starting off in the industry I personally had many opportunities to progress within my department and got a promotion fairly early in my career. I had a lot of responsibility overall when I became key artist which opened me up to learning a lot very quickly I was trusted very early which allowed me to progress my career My department is very welcoming and the people and my boss really swayed my opinion to continue working here.

      Cons

      Now that I have been working here for almost two years, I know I do not want to move onto the next position, which does not allow me to make more money. There is not a lot of transparency between higher ups and lower level artists. The consistent mistakes between departments never seems to get resolved moving from show to show. What was a problem during a previous show, seems to follow to the future shows so there is no development. The constant rehires flush out experienced artist and bring in new talent so the companies work never improves and sometimes decreases.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Was fine for me

      Jan 15, 2021 - Compositing Supervisor in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big projects, good social, plenty of opportunity

      Cons

      Bad rep, bad hours, but no different than anywhere else

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Fun and friendly place to work!

      Nov 9, 2020 - Senior Production Coordinator in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open work environment Friendly team Cool everyday perks and special events Nice variety of projects to work on

      Cons

      Long overtime hours Very tight deadlines

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 487 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with MPC Job Seekers

    Compositor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MPC? Share Your Experiences

    MPC logo
    or