MD Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MD Financial Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
MD Financial CEO Katherine Vessenes (no image)
Katherine Vessenes
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at MD Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great environment scope for growth good beneifts

    Cons

    limited opportunity for growth in the company

    MD Financial2018-07-29
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Client Service Manager in Chanhassen, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at MD Financial for about 2 and a half years. This is a great company to work for if you are looking for a place to grow your career and work with people who become like family to you! Our culture is very unique and we really focus on every individual's career goals. The work/life balance is awesome. Katherine and Peter have really done a great job of creating a company that cares about their employees and they have a great plan for the future of the business.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons of working here

    MD Financial2019-06-21
  3. "Sales Assistant and Chief of Staff to Katherine Vessenes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MD Financial full-time

    Pros

    The Leadership Team is completely in touch with the business . This was by far the most employee friendly company that I have worked for. Katherine and Josh are professional, hard working and some of the best in the business. They consider their clients and their employees family. It was an honor to work for them both, I can't tell you how much you will learn when working here.

    Cons

    did not have any con's about my time at MD Financial

    MD Financial2018-04-03
  4. "Love this job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager in Chanhassen, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MD Financial really cares about each individual employee and their specific career goals and strives to help them reach that goal. The team is great and like a family. The work we do is very rewarding, and our culture and values as a company are very unique. I always look forward to coming to work every morning.

    Cons

    Not necessarily a downside, but we are always bringing in new clients so we are very busy! You will never be bored :)

    MD Financial2018-02-07
  5. "Wonderful Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Accounting Clerk in Chanhassen, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial part-time

    Pros

    MD Financial is a wonderful place to work with supportive co-workers. One of the unique things about MD Financial within the financial services industry is that they truly care about each individual client, and go above and beyond in delivering top quality service. They have great systems in place to ensure success, and are are willing and able to be flexible and adjust processes when needed.

    Cons

    I think the only con would be for a person who isn't interested in working in a small business. Some people prefer to work in a corporate environment, and that is not what MD Financial will offer you. However, if you like working in an office with a dedicated team and want an opportunity to be involved in the 'big picture' you would really enjoy working at MD Financial.

    Continue reading
    MD Financial2018-02-07
  6. "Client Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great place to work! The firm is committed to helping each of our team members grow and develop skills to reach our own individual goals while we work together and have fun. We use cutting edge technology that makes our jobs easier and gives our clients real time access to their information. It's a small firm so we all work closely together and appreciate one another.

    Cons

    It's a very fast paced and career oriented environment so it may not be the right place for someone looking for a "job".

    MD Financial2018-02-07
  7. "Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controller in Chanhassen, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    These owners truly care about their employees. They take the time to listen and teach each employee as to reach there goals.

    Cons

    If you don't want to work hard this is no the place for you.

    Continue reading
    MD Financial2017-09-28
  8. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial full-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, great people, very ethical owners, and it's growing with a focus on doing what's right for clients. Every day is a blast. Most of my colleagues and I regularly comment how the time flys. My colleagues are awesome, we work hard, but we have fun doing it. The owners have done a great job focusing on a good culture and I feel like even thought it's a smaller business there's a career track. I've never been at a place where they get so many client referrals. It keeps us busy, but I think the clients appreciate the work we do. I like how going above and beyond for our clients is rewarded. Every clients matters too, not just the wealthier ones. There's a large focus on doing what's right for the client.

    Cons

    I think any challenges someone might have would have to do with the type of company. It's a smaller business, so if you're the type that likes the giant corporate feel it might not be a fit.

    MD Financial2017-09-14
  9. "Great People, Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Chanhassen, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MD Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The CEO and staff are welcoming and love to help everyone learn and grow in their position. Fast paced, customer-oriented, hard working and rewarding. Truly care about their people! Very ethical, mentoring, fun, team-based culture. Their process and care for the clients is amazing. I learned unbelievable skills and work ethic from their management.

    Cons

    Level of work can be great at times however, my personal growth made it worth while. Growing rapidly so expectations of work quality are high.

    Continue reading
    MD Financial2016-10-28
  10. "Great place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Financial

    Pros

    Working at MD Financial was one of the best choices I have ever made. I was looking for a place that was moral, ethical, mentored their employees, and valued people on a personal and professional level. You could almost say a home. MD Financial has provided that. They only do what is in the best interests of their clients. The advisors do not push certain products just for the incentive it may provide. Culture is one of the most important things at the office. They believe in getting your work done, but also having fun. We will spend time going for walks, having a barbecue, or getting together for happy hour. Everyone working at MD Financial is interested in reaching new heights. There are many career opportunities. Some of these include being an advisor, operations manager, insurance specialist, or general manager. The executive team gives each employee the mentorship they desire to reach their full potential. Honestly, there are hard days and things aren't perfect, but it is an incredibly rewarding place to work.

    Cons

    There are always some downsides. One of the downsides is that the advisors are so good at what they do; they attract at least one new client a week, sometimes multiple clients. A great thing for business, but it can be hard on the staff at times. It requires a significant amount of organization, discipline, and communication to keep up with the workload. However, the team is more than willing to set in and help if it is needed.

    MD Financial2016-10-25
Found 15 reviews