Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Liberty Mutual Insurance President & CEO David H. Long
David H. Long
1,943 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The work-life balance is great but people aren't super interested in their work more just the benefits that come along with it(in 305 reviews)

  • "Needs improvement in upper management(in 135 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance

    Pros

    People are great, management is understanding and benefits are great.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape, pay is usually below industry average, hard to move up unless management likes you personally.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2016-07-24
  2. "Great Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance with provided flex-hours and working from home days. Great work culture atmosphere.

    Cons

    Too many changes in certain departments with Management and these changes are not transparent to the team.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-10-29

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    November 11, 2019Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thanks for this review! We're glad you've been satisfied with the overall employee experience. Over the past couple of years, we’ve made some significant changes to the way we work. This is an on-going evolution and we rely on feedback like yours to ensure that we communicate these changes as effectively and transparently as we can.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    great work environment and new offices

    Cons

    Management is out of touch with employees Limited growth opportunities

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-10-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment ,team work and support

    Cons

    Salary not satisfied, Stressful work

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2018-04-09
  5. "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance

    Pros

    Strong company going through some changes at the time. Good international presence, training was solid, well known in the industry.

    Cons

    Rigid structure and very protective middle management functions. Little adaptability to change in the industry based on a respectable past success - but this is a weakness not a strength

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2017-06-07

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    June 7, 2017Talent and Enterprise Services

    Thank you for your feedback here! We're happy you were satisfied with your experience at Liberty Mutual.

    Continue reading
  6. "Senior Underwriting Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior Underwriting Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance

    Pros

    An overall great atmosphere and the Social Committee keeps the staff interactive. For a large corporation the staff are very friendly. Salary is competitive.

    Cons

    The premium coding system is confusing. Heavy workload.

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2015-08-18
  7. "Used to be a great place to work years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worked In the Field 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salaries are competitive with other insurance companies

    Cons

    Lays offs, lay offs, and more lay offs. Good luck trying to get promoted. They take it being a great place to get promoted, but it is nearly impossible.

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2013-06-04
  8. "Great place to work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits package, lots of PTO, paid holidays, tuition reimbursement, company store with great items you can buy with reward points (you can even buy electronics, washers, dryers, brand name clothing, etc.). I am very well paid and feel like a valued employee of Liberty Mutual. Not a lot of turn over, many people retire with the company but plenty of room for advancement and growth based on performance. Flexible work from home arrangements as well.

    Cons

    Can't think of many cons... some miscommunication coming down the chain from higher ups. Lots of change - constantly adapting, evolving and improving processes, must be comfortable with change.

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2020-04-03
  9. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    They understand to provide customers great service you need to have happy employees.

    Cons

    Can be a lot of org changes, but these are necessary to properly meet business needs as the world changes.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2020-03-31
  10. "Liberty Liberty Liberty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Associate in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for in terms of benefits Great HR department Flexible time off, and Personal Days are the best

    Cons

    Large Organization, its hard to figure out who everyone is

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2020-03-26
Found 4356 reviews