Legend3D Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Legend3D Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
17%
Recommend to a Friend
9%
Approve of CEO
Legend3D CEO Aidan Foley (no image)
Aidan Foley
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "The lower level artistic/management staff were pretty uniformly great people to work with(in 14 reviews)

  • "Good people amongst the trash management staff(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "DO NOT WORK FOR LEGEND UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES(in 24 reviews)

  • "Bad pay, too many long hours, really bad pay(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great people and exciting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Legend3D full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Leads/Management are super approachable and willing to help - Good casual work culture - Nice office space, free coffee and tea is a nice touch as it saves me time going for coffee breaks - Exciting projects to work on I understand this type of work isn't for everyone and you get what you put in essentially. I can only speak from personal experience and I can say I'm having a good time here. The work is... fulfilling and I have some great friends here.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Morale can be low sometimes as the workload can be tough to manage - Overtime can be hard on some peoples' schedules

    Advice to Management

    - More employee engagement and feedback - More transparency in communication and career advancement

    Legend3D2017-11-07
  2. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Legend3D full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Develop skills and learn from experience artist

    Cons

    Hire and Fire all the time which is good for competitors

    Advice to Management

    Do better next time

    Legend3D2019-10-03
  3. "good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - VFX Production Coordinator 

    I worked at Legend3D full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good place to start career

    Cons

    lots of overtime, too much work to handle with not enough staff

    Legend3D2019-06-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Used and abused with no returns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stereo Artist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Legend3D full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -good people to work with -good location in downtown -film credits on AAA titles

    Cons

    -poorly managed scheduling causing burst of overtime -low pay -lesser than mediocre ambiance

    Legend3D2019-05-08
  5. "Junior Stereo Compositor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Legend3D full-time

    Pros

    Everyone was extremely nice and helpful.

    Cons

    Training moved a bit quick and was intimidating at times.

    Legend3D2019-05-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Dishonest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Legend3D full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great for newbies in the industry to put some meat on their bones. You'll be able to add lots of big movie credits to your name while working with Legend, and they hire a lot of people straight out of school. -Toronto office (when it was open) was centrally located in Toronto, close to shopping and public transit. -Friendly and knowledgeable coworkers who are willing to share their experience. -A great place... for starting to making some contacts in the film industry. You'll need them when the company does another round of mass layoffs!

    Show More

    Cons

    -Long hours, be prepared to do overtime (evenings AND weekends) for weeks or months at a time. -Low salaries, especially for depth artists -HR left a lot to be desired. -Took government money from Canada to help create jobs IN CANADA, opened up a new studio in India, and then closed the Toronto office within the year. -General dishonesty from the CEOs about the financial state of the company and upcoming... changes which effect the livelihood of its employees. Take everything they say with a grain of salt. If things seem unstable, they are. Jump ship at the first opportunity you get.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out your company's future before you make big changes and inevitably restructure (again). You have a big impact on the lives of your employees. Act like it.

    Legend3D2019-01-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Deapth artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Legend3D full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Bad pay, too many long hours, really bad pay

    Legend3D2019-03-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "depth artists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Legend3D full-time

    Pros

    good place to start good people to work with

    Cons

    bad pay eye hurting job bad hours

    Legend3D2019-02-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Overall not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IO Technician in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Legend3D full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people but not much else.

    Cons

    Terrible work environment, managers, structure.

    Legend3D2019-01-11
  10. Helpful (5)

    "It was fun while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Stereo Artist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Legend3D full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work on cool projects Co workers are great They provide a paid training period

    Cons

    They tend to fall behind on projects so you end up with all of over time Some times theres next to no work and you end up with no hours. They gave our jobs to cheaper countries and laid off most of there workers.

    Legend3D2018-11-07
Found 117 reviews