Kohl's Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Kohl's Reviews

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Kohl's CEO Michelle Gass
Michelle Gass
552 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pushing the store credit card onto people(in 461 reviews)

  • "Low part time hours due to location with declining sales(in 349 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time

    Pros

    Great company, location and people

    Cons

    I cannot say nothing bad about this company.

    Kohl's2016-07-20
  2. "Nice workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have fun with my coworkers, flexible hours, and management is personable and easy to get a hold of. A really nice workplace environment.

    Cons

    The holiday hours suck, and customers can be annoying, but what's new?

    Kohl's2019-01-05
  3. "Data Lake Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology and relaxed work environment.

    Cons

    High pressure and unreasonable deadlines.

    Kohl's2017-09-29
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kohls Sales Associate 

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts throughout the year, made shopping for holidays a breeze, sometimes there was free lunch events

    Cons

    Have to work late hours during holidays, some managers were incompetent and rude

    Advice to Management

    Be kinder to your associates

    Kohl's2016-10-19
  5. "kohl's dept store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    strong corporate culture and good pay

    Cons

    a lot of change in management and difficult retail environment made for many internal struggles

    Kohl's2016-10-13
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time

    Pros

    They have a decent employee discount and special days when it is double or more. They are flexible on scheduling. You list when you can work and when your not available.

    Cons

    The pay is average and customers can be rude and abusive. It also can be difficult to get a break if the store is busy. Also there was really no training it OJT.

    Advice to Management

    Training should be done with a buddy system for the first week the employee is scheduled and not 2 hours in Shoes and 3 hours on a register by yourself. It can be stressful and overwhelming that way.

    Kohl's2016-09-27
  7. "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Roseville, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get every request off, discounts, bonuses

    Cons

    Sometimes low hours, pay is only $9.45

    Advice to Management

    Give more hours and increase pay

    Kohl's2019-10-22
  8. "Easy job to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Kohl's part-time

    Pros

    Was relatively easy to get the hang of things. Staff was nice and friendly.

    Cons

    Products can be really disorganized at times There should be stricter limits on what can be returned to the store

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the complaints of not only the customers, but also the complaints of the employees

    Kohl's2019-10-22
  9. "Busy place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 

    I worked at Kohl's full-time

    Pros

    Lots going on all the time, very interesting projects

    Cons

    Existing staff so busy that they don't have time to bring new employees up to speed.

    Kohl's2019-10-22
  10. "the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor 

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    no cons as of yet

    Advice to Management

    Love my manager!

    Kohl's2019-10-18
Found 9661 reviews