Kohl's Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Kohl's Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Kohl's CEO Michelle Gass
Michelle Gass
648 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The pressure to sell customers on Kohls credit card(in 470 reviews)

  • "no insurance for part time employees(in 353 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time

    Pros

    Great company, location and people

    Cons

    I cannot say nothing bad about this company.

    Kohl's2016-07-20
  2. "Nice workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have fun with my coworkers, flexible hours, and management is personable and easy to get a hold of. A really nice workplace environment.

    Cons

    The holiday hours suck, and customers can be annoying, but what's new?

    Kohl's2019-01-05
  3. "Data Lake Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology and relaxed work environment.

    Cons

    High pressure and unreasonable deadlines.

    Kohl's2017-09-29
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kohls Sales Associate 

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts throughout the year, made shopping for holidays a breeze, sometimes there was free lunch events

    Cons

    Have to work late hours during holidays, some managers were incompetent and rude

    Continue reading
    Kohl's2016-10-19
  5. "kohl's dept store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    strong corporate culture and good pay

    Cons

    a lot of change in management and difficult retail environment made for many internal struggles

    Kohl's2016-10-13
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time

    Pros

    They have a decent employee discount and special days when it is double or more. They are flexible on scheduling. You list when you can work and when your not available.

    Cons

    The pay is average and customers can be rude and abusive. It also can be difficult to get a break if the store is busy. Also there was really no training it OJT.

    Continue reading
    Kohl's2016-09-27
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, Great coworkers, Exciting, Fun perks, good discount

    Cons

    Customers aren't always the most fun to work with, sometimes hard to get hours

    Kohl's2020-02-25
  8. "I love my job and I love the people I work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing work life balance...if I need to take a day off for personal reasons, I can. If I need to work from home, I can. You are able to work with your manager to create a schedule that works for you and your team, if needed. Employee discount is very generous and you are able to stack coupons during certain times of the year. Compensation for life events and health benefits are probably one of the best in the industry and they continue to add and improve every year. Most importantly, I really enjoy the people I work with. My team members are funny, smart, and for the most part- easy to work with.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of turn with leadership and some layoffs while the company has been doing a re-organization . I do believe that this is the right path for Kohl's, but it would have been nice for some of the people who were laid off to be re-purposed into new open roles in other parts of the business. I think a lot of people are capable and willing to learn new skills if given the opportunity. Like may companies, Kohl's is funding based. Making it difficult to work on projects that have not been approved by a committee of people who often do not understand the current pain points of our systems.

    Continue reading
    Kohl's2020-02-26
  9. "Great Place to Work to get customer service experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Jewelry Sales Associate in Florence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours where great, Close to home, great 1st job to get customer experience

    Cons

    Gain more experience at a new place of employment

    Kohl's2020-02-24
  10. "ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time

    Pros

    you got to meet lots of people

    Cons

    Store is open to late

    Kohl's2020-02-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10002 reviews