Kohl's Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Kohl's Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9273 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Kohl's CEO Michelle Gass
Michelle Gass
425 Ratings
Pros
  • "Kept busy so time went by fast; generally friendly co-workers; management was good at recognizing a job well done; employee discount(in 670 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, advancement potential if interested(in 493 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management really pushes you to get people sign up for Kohl's credit card which isn't always the easiest thing you do(in 436 reviews)

  • "Low part time hours due to location with declining sales(in 337 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time

    Pros

    Great company, location and people

    Cons

    I cannot say nothing bad about this company.

    Kohl's2016-07-20
  2. "Nice workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have fun with my coworkers, flexible hours, and management is personable and easy to get a hold of. A really nice workplace environment.

    Cons

    The holiday hours suck, and customers can be annoying, but what's new?

    Kohl's2019-01-05
  3. "Data Lake Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great technology and relaxed work environment.

      Cons

      High pressure and unreasonable deadlines.

      Kohl's2017-09-29
    • "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Kohls Sales Associate 

        I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great discounts throughout the year, made shopping for holidays a breeze, sometimes there was free lunch events

        Cons

        Have to work late hours during holidays, some managers were incompetent and rude

        Advice to Management

        Be kinder to your associates

        Kohl's2016-10-19
      • "kohl's dept store"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Senior Manager 

          I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          strong corporate culture and good pay

          Cons

          a lot of change in management and difficult retail environment made for many internal struggles

          Kohl's2016-10-13
        • "Sales Associate"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Positive Outlook

            I have been working at Kohl's part-time

            Pros

            They have a decent employee discount and special days when it is double or more. They are flexible on scheduling. You list when you can work and when your not available.

            Cons

            The pay is average and customers can be rude and abusive. It also can be difficult to get a break if the store is busy. Also there was really no training it OJT.

            Advice to Management

            Training should be done with a buddy system for the first week the employee is scheduled and not 2 hours in Shoes and 3 hours on a register by yourself. It can be stressful and overwhelming that way.

            Kohl's2016-09-27
          • "Excellent"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Bagger in New Albany, IN
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

            Pros

            Gained customer experience and group work experience.

            Cons

            None, I was content with my pay and experience.

            Advice to Management

            None

            Kohl's2019-06-14
          • "Pretty good"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - POS Associate/Cashier in Ellicott City, MD
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

            Pros

            The associates you work with are fun but can also be mature when the store gets busy

            Cons

            No real cons except for a customer every once and a while

            Kohl's2019-06-15
          • "Great overall company- store cultures can be toxic however"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Sales Area Supervisor in Herndon, VA
            Doesn't Recommend
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            For a mass retailer, this company is great. They have good benefits, 401k, medical, dental, vision and even a lawyer service. You can have a flexible schedule *as far as retail goes*

            Cons

            The store cultures can be toxic. Some of the workers have been there for decades and are inflexible and resistant to change. Some will never be more than the titles they have now, so they will actively seek to exclude you from pertinent store information as well as create division among the employees and management.

            Advice to Management

            Being a great place to work for retail employees is beneficial, however, with the changes in the company, the partnership with amazon and scaling back floor crew, you’re either going to have to promote floor supervisors or get rid of them entirely to support the future of kohl’s. Also, for sales supervisors, enhanced mandatory training, time to plan work flows, a clear HR reference guide and an hour extra after closing...

            Show More
            Kohl's2019-06-15
          • "Fantastic Retailer"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Huntington Beach, CA
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Competitive Pay Vacation Time/PTO Training Support Development With any big box retailer work loads will not be for the faint of heart. This company really tested my knowledge and I've gained invaluable experience in my time here. The Southern California market is incredibly intense and every store has its own methods to serving it's people and customers. If you're looking to learn alot in a short amount of time,...

            Show More

            Cons

            Very long hours Retail is tough

            Advice to Management

            Your people are the most important part of the orginazation. Without them there is nothing stopping customers from shopping at the competitors.

            Kohl's2019-06-14
          Found 9273 reviews