Kohl's Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Kohl's Reviews

Updated 7 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Kohl's CEO Michelle Gass
Michelle Gass
590 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pushing the store credit card onto people(in 466 reviews)

  • "Low part time hours due to location with declining sales(in 350 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time

    Pros

    Great company, location and people

    Cons

    I cannot say nothing bad about this company.

    Kohl's2016-07-20
  2. "Nice workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have fun with my coworkers, flexible hours, and management is personable and easy to get a hold of. A really nice workplace environment.

    Cons

    The holiday hours suck, and customers can be annoying, but what's new?

    Kohl's2019-01-05
  3. "Data Lake Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology and relaxed work environment.

    Cons

    High pressure and unreasonable deadlines.

    Kohl's2017-09-29
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kohls Sales Associate 

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts throughout the year, made shopping for holidays a breeze, sometimes there was free lunch events

    Cons

    Have to work late hours during holidays, some managers were incompetent and rude

    Advice to Management

    Be kinder to your associates

    Kohl's2016-10-19
  5. "kohl's dept store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    strong corporate culture and good pay

    Cons

    a lot of change in management and difficult retail environment made for many internal struggles

    Kohl's2016-10-13
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time

    Pros

    They have a decent employee discount and special days when it is double or more. They are flexible on scheduling. You list when you can work and when your not available.

    Cons

    The pay is average and customers can be rude and abusive. It also can be difficult to get a break if the store is busy. Also there was really no training it OJT.

    Advice to Management

    Training should be done with a buddy system for the first week the employee is scheduled and not 2 hours in Shoes and 3 hours on a register by yourself. It can be stressful and overwhelming that way.

    Kohl's2016-09-27
  7. "Retail Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Kohl's full-time

    Pros

    The position required one to stay active on their feet.

    Cons

    the company needs to increase its minimum to fifteen dollars each hour across the organization.

    Kohl's2019-12-06
  8. "Great for extra part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal 

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are friendly and good work environment.

    Cons

    Not all managers are working managers.

    Advice to Management

    Be willing to step in and do the work you ask your team to do.

    Kohl's2019-12-04
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits package. Great culture and team. Opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    Because of the size of the company, corporate politics can slow things down.

    Kohl's2019-12-03
  10. "Works as a family, and gets things accomplished."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Amarillo, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a great work environment everyone is always smiling. Works with your availability, and always hours to work if you need extra time.

    Cons

    They need a bigger facility to help the flow of everything.

    Kohl's2019-12-03
Found 9786 reviews