Key Benefit Administrators Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Key Benefit Administrators CEO Larry Dust
Larry Dust
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Do not come to KBA looking for easy work(in 16 reviews)

  • "The only con I have is that I will not get to see all the nice people when I am working from home(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Treats employees like crap"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Key Benefit Administrators full-time

    Pros

    able to work from home

    Cons

    They don't care about you, only their bottom line. They have so many employees leaving due to be overworked, under appreciated and under paid. And instead of replacing those employees, they just divide their workload on to everyone else. Employees are doing the work of 3 -4 people each. Which is in turn not allowing clients and patients to be take care of correctly. And when employees aren't able to meet their production or quotas because they are being overworked, they are fired. Even those that have been top workers for several years. People who have been emplyees for decades there are treated aboslutely horribly and haven't been given raises in several years. They are not a "family". The only care about the execs and money. Do not work here.

    Key Benefit Administrators2020-03-28

    Key Benefit Administrators Response

    March 30, 2020Vice President, Human Resources

    I am really sorry you feel that way as that is not the kind of organization we are. Taking care of our employees and taking care of our clients are what makes us a family company. I hope you find what you are looking for at your next opportunity.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not family"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Key Benefit Administrators full-time

    Pros

    Work from home is a benefit

    Cons

    The company does lay offs without any warning the employees

    Key Benefit Administrators2020-02-09

    Key Benefit Administrators Response

    February 11, 2020Vice President, Human Resources

    Happy to hear you enjoyed the work from home opportunity. We wish you the best on whatever you choose to do next!

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Troubling Times"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Key Benefit Administrators full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of Job Opportunities due to the high turn over.

    Cons

    Struggling Management Team. High Turn Over and layoffs. From the outside the company looks like a decent company but once you are part of the organization, you realize the CEO and the Management Team are not all what I thought they would be. Actually, very disappointed on how they treat their employees. No loyalty.

    Continue reading
    Key Benefit Administrators2020-01-20

    Key Benefit Administrators Response

    January 29, 2020Vice President, Human Resources

    Delivering WOW customer service to our clients and being a top place to work for our employees are a part of the culture here at KBA. Average length of employment for employees at KBA is now over 10 years which we are very proud to state. I am sorry to hear that for whatever reason you didn't feel it met your expectations, but we wish you the best of luck on your next opportunity!

  4. "KBA"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AR2 in Fort Mill, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Key Benefit Administrators full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best team lead who understood work/family life and working from home with 1 day a month in office

    Cons

    Training was often subpar as trainer was spread across to many departments and not able to focus on the true training needs and having to do presentations during meetings and being to overloaded with work to have time to prepare

    Continue reading
    Key Benefit Administrators2019-12-17

    Key Benefit Administrators Response

    January 7, 2020Vice President, Human Resources

    Thank you for the feedback and your perspective on your employment with KBA!

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Soul-less"

    2.0
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Key Benefit Administrators

    Pros

    Ability to work from home

    Cons

    No communication downstream, ole boy mentality,....ie perks, pay, and prestige go to the good ole boys....

    Continue reading
    Key Benefit Administrators2019-09-19

    Key Benefit Administrators Response

    September 30, 2019Vice President, Human Resources

    I am glad you appreciated the work from home opportunity with KBA but I am sorry to hear you feel that the communication or perks did not make their way to you. As a company we work very hard to foster a family and teamwork culture while still providing flexible positions and work from home opportunities. We are always working on ways to better communicate and tie in our at-home workers to the office culture so we will continue to work on being better in this area. Thank you for your feedback and we wish you the best.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Got Starter Job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Key Benefit Administrators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits start day 1. Can work from home

    Cons

    Benefits ok but not as good as other plans. Salary decent but no room for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Key Benefit Administrators2019-08-22

    Key Benefit Administrators Response

    September 30, 2019Vice President, Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the benefit plan as well as the opportunity to work from home. I am sorry to hear you didn't feel you could take advantage of the career advancement and salary growth opportunities within the department. We wish you the best on your next job!

  7. "CSR II"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative II in Fort Mill, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Key Benefit Administrators full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Option work from home Great Managers Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Schedule can be a bit complex if you have little children

    Key Benefit Administrators2019-07-07
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Turn and Burn"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Indianapolis, IN
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Key Benefit Administrators full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many job opportunities . Always recreating the wheel

    Cons

    Turnover is very high. Don’t count on a long future with them.

    Continue reading
    Key Benefit Administrators2019-03-20

    Key Benefit Administrators Response

    October 31, 2019Vice President, Human Resources

    Just to set the record straight on this one, our average length of employment across all departments is over 10 years. We have many employees that have made KBA a career and a work family but we understand it isn't a fit for everyone.

  9. "Great Family Oriented Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Relationship Manager in Fort Mill, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Key Benefit Administrators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They truly understand work/life balance and were an amazing group of people to work with! Because they operate like a smaller company, you will learn alot because you will get to wear many different hats. Working at KBA really helped me hone leadership and other skills that have been very useful to me in other roles.

    Cons

    Being a small family owned and operated company can sometimes make it harder to get things done at the higher levels because personal relationships can affect business decisions. But, generally you can find an advocate in a higher role that will work to help you get moving forward.

    Continue reading
    Key Benefit Administrators2018-10-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Place"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Key Benefit Administrators part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you find a manager that truly cares for you it will go a long way. My manager let me work remotely and always had my back.

    Cons

    Office seems to be political, only way to move up is by knowing people. There have been three major layoffs in my time, what they do is hire a ton of people and then in 6 months seem to do a massive layoff. Business seems to be slowing down and there seems to be little room for advancement. Pay isn’t good either.

    Continue reading
    Key Benefit Administrators2018-10-12
Found 122 reviews