Intelex Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Intelex Technologies Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
35%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Intelex Technologies CEO Mark Jaine
Mark Jaine
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Company is growing by burning out their current employees(in 9 reviews)

  • "Many lay offs of some really great hardworking people over the years because of this(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Not Many Negatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intelex Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Honestly have nothing bad to say about my experience at Intelex. I feel like I may have been sheltered from larger issues/frustrations since my role was not prominent in the company. I reaped all the benefits of working on the sales team in an entry level role (I can see why other departments may get jealous) yet did not have the pressure that the Account Executives faced so I felt very comfortable in my time there.... I felt that I was always supported/valued by bosses and co-workers in my role and Intelex didn't seem to shy away from getting us involved in training sessions with Sales Industry Experts. I learned many skills that I have found beneficial to my career moving forward. Everyone I worked with since I left seems to have been promoted since I decided to leave, so there is definitely room for career growth! I felt I was fairly compensated for my performance. Benefits were top notch. Employee events (both sales specific and general events) were awesome. Lots of great co-workers!

    Show More

    Cons

    Not really my area of expertise but from reading other reviews and definitely through some of my experiences there... the product may be lacking a bit compared to other competitors. It is tough for me to say because I never saw demos of our main competitors but you could tell it would hinder us in some sales if we didn't have the functionality that the client needed. That being said, I am sure we won certain sales... because we had features the competitor did not. It all evens out in the long run.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It has been over a year since I left but I would say keep it up. I notice from comments here that there was a mass layoff in the past few months. Those are unfortunate but I hope that things are back on track. I have seen in the comments that the management team can be cliquey... they always seemed open to me but if someone is shy they may be intimidated to connect with them.

    Intelex Technologies2018-12-14
  2. "Great company with a play to win attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intelex Technologies

    Pros

    Awesome recruitment process. Awesome teammates.

    Cons

    Having been sold off to a bigger company, I expect that the new management will not embrace or understand the culture so it is enevitable that people and perks will be cut in the pursuit of the bottom line. This is life but as long as you are a value add employee, you will be fine. Even if you get cut, other companies will benefit from your awesomeness.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the clients happy and work your processes around this and the money will follow.

    Intelex Technologies2019-11-27
  3. "Fun company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Developer 

    I worked at Intelex Technologies part-time

    Pros

    made lots of friends, great environment

    Cons

    no cons for this company

    Intelex Technologies2019-11-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Run and don't drink the Kool-Aid! Culture is toxic and leadership undermines each other!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intelex Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    General staff are nice and try to support each other, they still have some group events but only to show they are doing something small for staff..

    Cons

    Leadership is not authentic,also you have to always be mindful of not showing any disagreement of your managers. Otherwise they will go to HR to get help removing the person from the company. Many lay offs of some really great hardworking people over the years because of this.

    Advice to Management

    I see many gave a disapproving rating of the CEO. To be fair he often is not told what is going on by his senior leadership. Would recommend that Mark goes back to walking and chatting with his staff on his OWN, like you used to do.

    Intelex Technologies2019-11-13
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good people, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intelex Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - An opportunity to get a deep understanding of the EHSQ ecosystem - Bonus (but i heard that the bonus structure has changed now) - lots of free food, snacks, raffle draws to win ipads, fitbit, etc. (but i heard that does not happen anymore either) - Health Benefits were really good (+$700 per year on Health Spending) - Vision Meetings were always nice -- got to hear directly from the senior leadership team... about the direction that the company is taking

    Show More

    Cons

    - Poor senior leadership: too many changes will be made and within 1-2 Quarters those decisions will be withdrawn or overridden. - Sales focused culture --- not a customer focused culture ... neither an innovation focused culture - Serious bro-culture and lots of closed-knit groups within the company. If you are not part of the right group, then forget about growth.

    Advice to Management

    - Focus on the customers. Be customer-obsessed like Amazon, Netflix if you want to be a billion dollar company. - More transparency please. A lot of important decisions happen behind closed doors that creates a toxic culture.

    Intelex Technologies2019-10-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "don't even think of applying here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Developer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Intelex Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    monthly raffle incentives; retreats were nice

    Cons

    leadership didn't have enough focus on the tech they needed to support their sales

    Advice to Management

    get a leader who is really in tune with technology as well as the field they are marketing the EHSQ software too. since I heard Mark sold the company anyway I guess it's money that is the bottom line at this point.

    Intelex Technologies2019-11-11
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Intelex Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good for fresh graduates. Close to Union Station.

    Cons

    So much politics. So much favoritism. Too many people are leaving. Fire you anytime.

    Advice to Management

    Hire good managers in R&D.

    Intelex Technologies2019-10-07
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Fun work environment, very unstable and frequent turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intelex Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved the culture and setup at the office, games room, activity clubs, cake etc. Got to work on some interesting projects which added to my career. Salary was competitive.

    Cons

    Very frequent org changes, which affect your role at the company drastically. Lots of turnover and lay offs affecting morale. Redundancies : multiple people in different departments trying to do the same job. Evaluation criteria for performance was vague, you saw people getting promoted very rapidly in some departments, while others who were equally performing well were not.

    Advice to Management

    Establish some controls around the hiring to limit the amount of duplication or overlap between roles between or within functional groups. Clarity around performance management would also help - the company was definitely not set up to retain its best talent as personnel decisions were being made on a whim without considering the long term impact on the teams

    Intelex Technologies2019-08-23
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Intelex Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Downtown location, cake every month

    Cons

    Negative energy. Low morale. High retention. They’re desperate

    Intelex Technologies2019-08-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Usual growing pains with quick growth company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intelex Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some exciting and dynamic individuals are working there; great colleagues to learn from

    Cons

    sexism, lack of transparency/appropriate channels with HR processes

    Intelex Technologies2019-07-30
Found 131 reviews