Intact Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Intact Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 400 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management - Doesn't really feel like they care(in 14 reviews)

  • "Work environment trend was to accomplish more with less staff / compitent help(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Forward thinking, ahead of the curve, leader in our industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers, great management, open communication from the top-down, big investors in technology, strong broker channels, proactive, feels like one big family.

    Cons

    None to report at this time

    Intact2019-02-20

    Intact Response

    March 11, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    We are very appreciative for the excellent review! It is great to read all of the incredible things you have to say about your time with us. It is employees like yourself that help carry the banner and truly can inspire others to help partake in our mission and values #ItsAboutPeople. ...

    Show More
  2. "I love my job at Intact!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Talent Management in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome culture. Amazing people, Endless learning and challenges. True collaboration and support.

    Cons

    Open work environment. It's not for everyone.

    Intact2019-05-21

    Intact Response

    June 13, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We're happy to read that you work with great teams and are constantly learning. We're big on working together! And you're right, the open office environment is not for everyone.

  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for growth, benefits, and work life balance.

    Cons

    Some teams are poorly managed

    Intact2019-05-31

    Intact Response

    June 13, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you are appreciative of our benefits, career opportunities and our flexible work arrangements – we know that employees really appreciate these elements.

  4. "UA role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Intact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, fair pay, depending on your manager can be good opportunity for growth

    Cons

    busy work environment can get lost in the shuffle

    Intact2019-05-28

    Intact Response

    June 13, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review...and we're doubly impressed you took the time as a former employee.

  5. "Employees are at the center of the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Defined Benefit pension Employee Centric

    Cons

    Lateral moves are typically the only way to move in your career

    Advice to Management

    Our direct managers are amazing -upper management is farther removed

    Intact2019-05-28

    Intact Response

    June 13, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You're right, we are people focused and we're so happy you feel this way too! Lateral moves are a great way to learn the business and sometimes a career path can move in a squiggly line.

  6. "Claims....opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Clerk in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intact full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Company and I had a fabulous Mgr. (Laurie Davidson) for 21yrs.

    Cons

    I have never had a claim and for the 1st time I am experiencing one and cannot even have calls returned let alone have it settled. It makes me sad & angry at the same time. I will think twice now before a referral.

    Advice to Management

    My advice is to have claims handled by experienced and efficient staff. Customer service is key. What has happened to our Core Values at Intact, Novex & Belair?

    Intact2019-05-24

    Intact Response

    June 11, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re happy to hear that you’ve had a great leader however, we’re sorry to hear that we haven’t met your expectations from a customer perspective. As you know, our organization is built around our core values so we want to hear more ...

    Show More
  7. "Great place to work, many opportunities if open minded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, up to date with insurance market, great benefits

    Cons

    Low annual increase in salary

    Intact2019-05-24

    Intact Response

    June 13, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to read that you have a great team environment and that you are enjoying the benefits.

  8. "Need to work on their employee engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Claims Manager in Ajax, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intact full-time

    Pros

    They have a great benefits package and overall company strategy to promote growth and profits.

    Cons

    Poor work culture and no collaboration between departments. Senior Managers not in touch with the reality on the front line and not supportive.

    Advice to Management

    Do more skip level meetings to stay in touch with the real issues. Many of the middle managers are trying to promote their careers at the expense of the staff.

    Intact2019-06-06
  9. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The People and the benefits

    Cons

    Not enough staff for the workload.

    Intact2019-05-18

    Intact Response

    June 13, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for your positive review. Our recruitment teams are working hard across the country to bring in great talent to your team as well as others.

  10. "Good benefits, but numbers are their priority."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office environment is great. Employees and managers are all very friendly and supportive. Good benefits and discounts on insurance.

    Cons

    They'll drive the importance of SLA's into you forever, and shame you into working overtime. If you decide to not work overtime a few occasions it will get brought up at performance reviews. Any position involving the call centre can be toxic as they expect you at your desk during your scheduled times, no exceptions. They say there is opportunity for growth but that is usually limited to the department you are already...

    Show More
    Intact2019-05-15

    Intact Response

    June 13, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for your review. We take all concerns very seriously. We strive to instill a good work/life balance for all of our employees all of the time and we’re sorry you didn’t feel you had the balance.

Found 400 reviews