Intact Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Intact Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Intact CEO Charles Brindamour
Charles Brindamour
161 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management - Doesn't really feel like they care(in 14 reviews)

  • "Almost zero work-life balance, most people in the claims department carry unmanageable pending assignments, lower-end salaries in the industry(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "I enjoy working at Intact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior User Experience Designer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    First of all, Intact is a product-oriented company, not an agency, where people work on tones of different projects at the same time and don't have other life than work-work-work. I worked in many different not-product companies before joining Intact and I’ve never had the same freedom to do a real UX as I have now at the lab. I don’t have to constantly prove that I need to do this or that type of activity. If I... need to do some workshops, run a round of research, do an interview with customers, I always have a green light for that. Every time I speak with my ex-colleagues from other companies, I realize that I’m so lucky working at Intact lab, cause I have everything I need to deliver a great user experience. All my solutions are client-centered because I had time, all recourses and right instruments in my hands to understand who my customers are, so I design solutions for them, not for some fiction ones, imaginable users. This fact makes me happy and I feel accomplished at my current place. If you really care about users, you are passioned by research, you want to find your own voice and you want to be heard, this place is for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes, management could be a little bit more organized, but this is not a bit issue. Overall everything seems work fine last years

    Intact2019-10-08
  2. "Good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment, good training and development

    Cons

    It can be a competitive environment

    Intact2019-10-17
  3. "Great culture, lots of opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love my team's culture, we get lots done and we have fun along the way. There is a huge focus on innovation and change which keeps it interesting. The benefits are great. The leaders seem like good people. There are also a lot of opportunities to take courses, learn new skills, and apply for new positions within the company.

    Cons

    Internal politics, but that comes with any large corporation. Some old systems hold us back from accomplishing more.

    Intact2019-12-09
  4. "It's been a fantastic work environment so far."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intact full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, great people, engaging projects, flexible schedules, fantastic company culture, lots of learning opportunities, competitive salary.

    Cons

    So far I have nothing to report.

    Intact2019-12-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Supportive, positive environment with a lot of opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an amazing company which supports growth, movement, and learning. Since starting here, I have had many opportunities within my role to try new things, and I have furthered my education by taking CIP courses. My manager is supportive and the team is great. Once you're in the door, there are so many places to go. Intact is a great place if you're young and just starting out, or if you're older and looking for... a nice change.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the positivity is rampant. If you're having a bad day, or are grumpy, you have to put on a smile. the abundance of opportunities means there's often a lot of shuffling around at the entry level. Your team and manager will switch a lot. I look at is a opportunities to learn from someone new, but it can be hard to adapt to so many new faces constantly.

    Advice to Management

    I love the perks, the opportunities, and all the lateral moves we have available. Keep the opportunities coming!

    Intact2019-11-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Love my Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriting Assistant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people The work Always something new

    Cons

    The best job I've had.. coming from Retail it's honestly such a refreshing career.

    Advice to Management

    I really enjoy my manager.

    Intact2019-11-19
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 

    I have been working at Intact full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance for the most part.

    Cons

    Management not good. Lots of office politics.

    Intact2019-12-07
  8. "Politics Politics and politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - No stress - Hability to go at the speed I want

    Cons

    - Politics - All of people that create their own jobs - Not willing to change

    Advice to Management

    - less management more agile

    Intact2019-11-17
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casualty Claims Adjuster in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intact full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to grow and move up. Decent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    High workload. Only 3 weeks vacation to start.

    Intact2019-11-01
  10. "Flexible schedules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Claims Service Representative in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Intact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, good team environment

    Cons

    Can be very busy at time (call centre job)

    Intact2019-10-23
Found 469 reviews