Intact Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Intact Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Intact CEO Charles Brindamour
Charles Brindamour
155 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management - Doesn't really feel like they care(in 14 reviews)

  • "Almost zero work-life balance, most people in the claims department carry unmanageable pending assignments, lower-end salaries in the industry(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "I enjoy working at Intact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior User Experience Designer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    First of all, Intact is a product-oriented company, not an agency, where people work on tones of different projects at the same time and don't have other life than work-work-work. I worked in many different not-product companies before joining Intact and I’ve never had the same freedom to do a real UX as I have now at the lab. I don’t have to constantly prove that I need to do this or that type of activity. If I... need to do some workshops, run a round of research, do an interview with customers, I always have a green light for that. Every time I speak with my ex-colleagues from other companies, I realize that I’m so lucky working at Intact lab, cause I have everything I need to deliver a great user experience. All my solutions are client-centered because I had time, all recourses and right instruments in my hands to understand who my customers are, so I design solutions for them, not for some fiction ones, imaginable users. This fact makes me happy and I feel accomplished at my current place. If you really care about users, you are passioned by research, you want to find your own voice and you want to be heard, this place is for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes, management could be a little bit more organized, but this is not a bit issue. Overall everything seems work fine last years

    Intact2019-10-08

    Intact Response

    October 9, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for your review. You've seen Intact Lab grow from the ground up and it's thanks to you and your colleagues who have been instrumental in this amazing story! Thank you for all of your contributions--we really appreciate it.

  2. "Good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment, good training and development

    Cons

    It can be a competitive environment

    Intact2019-10-17
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Intact full-time

    Pros

    Lots of career & growth opportunities

    Cons

    Call centre environment can be tough

    Intact2019-10-16
  4. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dartmouth, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Intact offers great work-life balance and a strong variety of benefits. The team I work with are like family, working hard to achieve success and having a little fun along the way.

    Cons

    I don't see any downsides of working at Intact

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, looking forward to what the future brings

    Intact2019-10-11

    Intact Response

    October 15, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for your awesome review! We're so happy to read that you are enjoying your time with us.

  5. "Up Up and Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intact full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment - offices overlooking the water in Vancouver - centrally located

    Cons

    Hell of a job at first till you get promoted out of auto adjuster position

    Advice to Management

    Sort of a "baptism with fire" with starting people in auto adjuster positions. If you let them start in other positions - those suited to them might stay

    Intact2019-10-18
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Underwriting Manager in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Resources & appetite at this company

    Cons

    There is no Work life balance

    Intact2019-10-18
  7. "great place for work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Claims Specialist in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intact full-time

    Pros

    work hours, vacation time, benefits, they put a lot of effort in making their employees better

    Cons

    high work load, but if you have good time management it is doable

    Intact2019-10-03

    Intact Response

    October 15, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for your review and for sharing your insights (even as a former employee)! We sincerely wish you all the best in your career journey.

  8. "Excellent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of young people. Everyone is willing to learn and extremely inclusive.

    Cons

    Not a lot of ability to move up

    Intact2019-10-02

    Intact Response

    October 9, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of your contributions during your time with us and wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  9. "Good company, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    well informed employees of changes happening in company. good culture and people to work with. look forward to coming to work every day. have culture of respect towards employees and colleagues.

    Cons

    corporate decisions take time, use of buzzwords but system is not yet designed to adapt to agile technology

    Intact2019-10-01

    Intact Response

    October 2, 2019Leader, Strategic Talent Projects

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words and areas of improvement. We hear you on the technology front and are working hard to make the right changes to ensure we have the right tech infrastructure in place to support the pace of change taking place in our industry and beyond.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pay scale does not always reflect responsibility levels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intact full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Steady, reliable, well diversified and well grounded company.

    Cons

    High expectations for Managers with sub-par pay. Pay scale that does not reflect the responsibility designated to them in managing teams.

    Advice to Management

    Pay scales need to reflect responsibility levels.

    Intact2019-10-09
Found 456 reviews