Indeed Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Indeed Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Indeed CEO Chris Hyams
Chris Hyams
140 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons to working at this incredible company(in 25 reviews)

  • "senior management tends to overlook the shared department(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Indeed full-time

    Pros

    Indeed has a fantastic culture, you always feel supported and as long as you are willing to work hard you will go far at this company.

    Cons

    Less snacks so I don't gain weight!

    Indeed2019-04-11
  2. "Enjoy Coming Into Work Everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time

    Pros

    -Great Comp Structure -Opportunity for growth and development -Ongoing Training/ Learning Opportunities -Work with a good group of people -Lot's of collaboration across teams -Management is willing to work with you on career pathing Perks: - Catered Lunch on Mondays, Breakfast, Snacks -Unlimited PTO

    Cons

    - Lack of transparency sometimes

    Indeed2019-04-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Toronto is going Downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free lunch some times nice office

    Cons

    untrained management vindictive HR in canada fear tactics for results ridiculous quotas pto is not actually unlimited no internal mobility low pay

    Indeed2019-12-19

    Indeed Response

    February 4, 2020Senior Employer Brand Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your work experience in our Toronto office. While every experience will vary, we’re disappointed to read that your time at Indeed was less than positive. The Indeed Sales team is high achieving, and as we continue to grow our revenue, quotas are adjusted as needed each quarter to reflect the labor market. The goals are attainable but still considered challenging for our AE's to continue to learn and grow in the role. Once total compensation (salary, benefits, bonuses, LTIPs) is factored, Indeed salaries are quite competitive. Top performers are also handsomely rewarded with trips to recognize their success, making working for the Sales team very lucrative. Our Open PTO policy allows Indeedians the flexibility to take time off as they need it to recharge and come back to work refreshed. That said, a combination of completing work and communication and trust with your line manager is needed to fully take advantage of the Open PTO that Indeed offers. As we continue to grow and evolve as a company, we want our employees to have opportunities to do the same. There are endless ways for Indeedians to gain different experiences and take on new challenges within roles, within teams, and within the company. Internal mobility is something we’re really passionate about and we want all of our employee’s next role to be with Indeed. If you have any additional feedback to provide regarding management or HR, we encourage you to send a confidential email to inside@indeed.com so we can review and address any issues if needed.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Non-inclusive workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lunches, food, and beverages, vacation policy

    Cons

    Pay, unprofessional management, discriminatory and selective process based on both conscious and unconscious biases during interviews. Zero opportunities for advancement.

    Continue reading
    Indeed2019-11-11

    Indeed Response

    January 29, 2020Employer Brand Program Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your work experience in our Toronto office. We read all reviews and are disheartened to read that you felt that the Indeed workplace was not inclusive. Our perks such as lunches, snacks/drinks and of course the Open PTO are in place to provide employees with the resources they need to effectively work throughout the day, but mean very little if the work environment itself is not inclusive. We are deeply committed to creating a workplace and global community where inclusion is not only valued, but prioritized. To that end, our Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging team and our Inclusion Resource Groups (IRGs) are available to all Indeedians to support broader discussions on challenges and solutions that people may face while in the office. We also offer courses on topics such as Unconscious Bias, Emotional Intelligence, and Ally Skills to help ensure our employees are trained on how to create an inclusive culture at Indeed. Most recently, Inclusion and Belonging were embedded as company values, so we expect to see an even deeper focus on these topics over the coming year. Pay is competitive, once you factor the total compensation including quarterly bonuses and LTIPs that are provided to all full-time employees. FT employees also have access to a generous Learning & Development budget, along with a variety of internal L&D classes. If you have any additional feedback regarding your experience of a non-inclusive nature, please do send us a confidential email to inside@indeed.com so we can review the situation.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Success Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited Paid Time Off, Great Office environment

    Cons

    Constant change can be difficult to cope with

    Indeed2019-07-30
  6. Helpful (11)

    "There's a reason all the high performers are leaving now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - free snacks - unlimited paid time off - open concept office - decent benefits (except for therapy, which you'll need a lot more of if you're working here)

    Cons

    - cliquey management team that uses high school politics to intimidate high-performing employees while advancing those who don't threaten the status quo - little to no communication between internal teams, especially with regards to product updates and process changes (clients are often the first to know) - no actual growth opportunities (all hiring and promotions are indefinitely on hold amid company restructuring) - involvement in employee resource groups not considered "working time" - you must log your washroom breaks if you are taking mainline calls

    Continue reading
    Indeed2019-07-10

    Indeed Response

    August 12, 2019Program Manager

    Hi there. Thanks for your review about your time working on our Client Success team in Toronto. It’s disappointing for us to hear that you feel like you had a negative experience working with us as that is not what we strive for. We’d love to find out more about this so please reach out to us on inside@indeed.com

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Toxic environment - it's not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great building amenities, great PTO

    Cons

    Buyers beware, what Indeed advertises vs what it's really like. There is a serious lack of diversity in management. Poor management: - They're quick to point out your flaws publicly and make themselves look good - They're not interested in supporting you grow, they'll take your ideas for themselves - When it comes to reviews they will tell you reasons why you don't get promoted that was not previously communicated - Favouritism - those that do get promoted are not TBAs who pose a threat to the delicate egos of the leads - Disorganized - management with no experience or training - Poor communication

    Continue reading
    Indeed2019-07-04

    Indeed Response

    July 8, 2019Employer Brand Program Manager

    Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review about working at Indeed. Inclusion is an extremely important issue for Indeed’s leadership team and has been for some time. As our company grows, diversity in our leadership is also growing. We’ve made a number of female and BAME hires at senior level recently and it is a continued focus for CEO, Chris Hyams. We do not promote favoritism within our business when it comes to promotions and use robust assessment and selection methods when putting internal and external candidates through the interview process for open roles. It is worrying to hear your feedback and we’d love to speak to you further on it. Please reach out to us on inside@indeed.com

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The people are young, sociable and have fresh perspectives

    Cons

    - Difficult to move up and pursue higher career aspirations

    Continue reading
    Indeed2019-05-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Account Executive - Company Needs To Change Business Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Tons of free food - Lots of vacation - Convenient location (Yonge/Bloor) - Spoiled by the company

    Cons

    - Young management - Lots of office politics - Job itself is boring/repetitive; very call center and micro managing - Not something you'd want to do for more than a year unless you are being spoon fed by management through the reassignment of spending accounts - Selling Indeed's product is tough because they offer the service for free so it is an uphill battle when trying to justify spending money

    Continue reading
    Indeed2019-05-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "I bought a house this year, thanks Indeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Insane amounts of money Great culture I eat for free Personal growth 9-5 culture On subway route 5 star hotel stays when traveling

    Cons

    Some ambiguity but that is expected with ultra-high growth companies

    Continue reading
    Indeed2019-04-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1036 reviews