Indeed "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Indeed Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Indeed CEO Chris Hyams
Chris Hyams
171 Ratings
Pros
  • "The obvious free food, unlimited PTO and top class benefits are all brilliant but what makes it for me is the progression and support that is available(in 112 reviews)

  • "Indeed truly believes in work / life balance(in 97 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons, I would highly recommend any position at the company(in 27 reviews)

  • "No structure in how a week would look just what is your sales number as it needs to be brought to senior management(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay Good Holidays Good Work life Balance Good culture Free lunch Mondays Good Benefits Down to earth mentality of work life balance

    Cons

    Things can be unfair Not much room for career growth

    Indeed2017-03-25

    Indeed Response

    March 28, 2017Director, Employer Brand

    Thanks for sharing your feedback as an Account Executive! We're constantly striving for a balanced work environment with opportunities for productive employees to grow inside Indeed. If you're up for sharing additional details about your experience, we'd love to hear them - inside@indeed.com.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Employee Morale in the Negatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Snacks, work life balance, labtop

    Cons

    I have worked at indeed for a year and a half. Things were amazing when I first started. I saw a bright future for myself here at indeed to expand on my current skills and to learn new sales, and business skills. But then…things took a turn at the end of 2018, headed into 2019…. Reps at indeed will no longer hit green BREAKING NEWS! I have create da lifestyle around the pay structure I was used to. That lifestyle is now gone. I find it hard to manage my lifestyle, take care of my family, and take PTO. I had planned on building my career here at indeed and now I feel as if I am “sticking it out”I feel discouraged, and ashamed coming into work everyday. The morale in the office is beyond down, and it is somehow the reps fault? How does upper management except reps to hit targets that do not even mathematically even make sense to hit due to the current spenders, and new spenders coming in. We are being set up for failure. They are better off letting people go, or being transparent in what is going on within the organization so that we CAN be positive and have a better hope for tomorrow.

    Continue reading
    Indeed2019-03-08

    Indeed Response

    April 30, 2019Program Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review about working at Indeed in Toronto. Your feedback is invaluable and we are listening. Our leadership is constantly reviewing sales targets and we appreciate you providing us feedback, we also recommend reaching out to your direct manager or provide feedback through our employee engagement surveys and manager performance feedback. This provides us insights on the employee experience, and we take it seriously. Once again thanks for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  3. "Smart, nimble, and mission focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed

    Pros

    Smart coworkers Great perks Great Work-Life balance Great approach to design and engineering Ample opportunity to work at scale

    Cons

    Total comp a tiny bit below other major tech companies. Needs to update their vesting/profit sharing to match competitors.

    Indeed2020-02-17
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Services in New York, NY

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits. Work life balance. Great company

    Cons

    Treat you like children

    Indeed2020-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Marketing Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and work/life balance. Awesome people to work with.

    Cons

    It is a growing company so it’s important to be able to adapt to change.

    Indeed2019-12-27
  6. "Great Company, Limited Mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Transparent and supportive company culture Consistent work hours/work life balance Great healthcare and office perks including snacks/drinks in office and lunch on Wednesdays Dale Carnegie sales trainings offered and lots of one-on-one time with manager to help develop selling skills If you hit bonus the payouts are pretty generous (before taxes) compared to most other sales jobs

    Cons

    Most of the products offered are difficult to sell, especially through cold calling. Almost all accounts view Indeed Sponsored Jobs as a necessity and will spend on that. Other products (Hire, Prime, Targeted Ads) are a hard sell for most small-mid size companies that make up the majority of Indeed's books of business. Be warned this is a very repetitive and often times monotonous job. You are calling the same people over and over again every day and most times not getting past voicemails. The company makes it seem like everyone you call is desperately waiting to speak with you, but the reality is that Indeed is a glorified call center. Some management is great and very realistic, but there's more than a few managers who can't see the forest from the trees and will put constant pressure on AEs until they're on a 90 day plan. There's also little to no opportunity for upward mobility. Sales teams are typically 12+ AEs to 1 manager and even if you do get promoted to director the management chain is increasingly narrow. Most Account Executives will work there anywhere between 1-3 years and leave once they max out the earning potential of their book and repeat the cycle at another tech company.

    Continue reading
    Indeed2020-01-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Better avoid working for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free lunch - Free snacks - Casual culture - Competitive salary in Tokyo - Good work-life balance (Unlimited PTO)

    Cons

    - Unorganized, outdated technologies (still using ant / still using Google Closure / Code quality is not evaluated) - Intransparent management (prevalent favoritism / no clue in how to improve engineering quality from the top) - Infamously intransparent HR's way of handling harassment cases - Short-sighted evaluation system (they only value immediate business impact, not engineering excellence) Some personal experience: - I got a bad evaluation because of my "too many comments" in code reviews. I raised concerns to my manager before making the many comments but he ordered me to add many comments to persuade the author. I just followed my manager's order, but I got a minus evaluation. My acting manager could not point out which specific comments were bad. He told me the number of comments was the only problem. He also asked me to remove a sentence from my self-eval, which went like "I thought it was OK to make many comments because I was told so by my manager." - When I sought help for HR for my acting manager's harassment because I was mentally exhausted, they told me that mental tolerance would differ from person to person so bringing in a doctor's diagnosis was meaningless. - The tech lead on my team (the same person as the above mentioned "my acting manager") stole the credit of my work by creating something that completely overlapped what I was doing. When I pointed that out, he repeatedly ignored my comments. When I reported his disrespectful behavior to HR, HR concluded that he was just hesitant to take communication with me. He didn't get any punishment, but I was sent to a boredom room (another company) by Recruit, Indeed's parent company. - I was supposed to get a good evaluation because of my high impact work, which I was told so by my manager; however, Recruit determined that the impact of my work was zero, while another colleague who had less contribution than me got a plus for the same work. As a result, I received the worst evaluation (which is called "Below"). - Recruit told me that I didn't have "respect" for others because I made too many comments in a code review and that I reported my former acting manager's ignorance.

    Continue reading
    Indeed2020-01-18

    Indeed Response

    February 6, 2020Employer Brand Program Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about working at Indeed in Tokyo. It is disappointing to hear your feedback and we take all reviews we receive very seriously and have taken your feedback onboard.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance(!), employee experience, community, benefits, food, atmosphere, people, compensation

    Cons

    Flat org, not lots of room for promotion/title changes

    Continue reading
    Indeed2019-12-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The company you want to stay at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Commercialization Strategist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great high growth company that values employees and the jobseekers and employers we serve. Values innovation. Amazing work culture. Amazing leadership. Great pay and opportunities for growth relative to the market. Best work life balance of any company I've ever worked for.

    Cons

    Indeed has grown so quickly for so long that we're just now making the shift to behaving like the large enterprise we are. There's some growing pains, company leadership is extremely engaged and helping us grow into our next phase.

    Indeed2019-11-14
  10. "Overall a good company that should work on their vertical communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Indeed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture, inclusion, salaries, benefits, overall atmosphere, direct management - Many opportunities to get promoted or change jobs, great work life/balance

    Cons

    Lack of transparence, company cutting budgets left and right, "unlimited PTO" is only on paper.

    Indeed2019-11-19
Found 97 reviews