HubSpot Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

HubSpot Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO & Founder Brian Halligan
Brian Halligan
932 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This isn't to say that the work-life balance is bad (it isn't)(in 57 reviews)

  • "Fast growth creates some growing pains -- like needing to develop new managers/leaders(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "The Company You've Been Looking For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at HubSpot for less than a year and these are the things that I've loved since starting - Flexibility: Just be sure to communicate with your team and managers and flexibility of schedule is offered to you if you need it. It makes you feel like you're in charge of your schedule as long as you're producing the expected amount of work. - Autonomy: At first, coming from a different company/culture, this was an adjustment. But, I can honestly say that I love being in charge of making my own day to day priorities while driving towards an overall set goal. It makes me feel empowered and I take pride and ownership over the work I'm doing each day. - Great People Work Here: Amazing people ready to welcome anyone that is new and help with any questions. - Creative Freedom/Everyone's Opinion Matters

    Cons

    The only con I have would be the sense of being overwhelmed a bit at the beginning of my career here. There is a lot of information available to new employees and it can be hard to determine where to start. The learning and development team does a great job of trying to set you off on the right path though.

    HubSpot2020-01-27

    HubSpot Response

    February 12, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and for being an engineer at HubSpot, we are lucky to have you. I think your feedback on feeling overwhelmed at the start is important, both to encourage our team to continue to keep an eye on that with new folks, but also for new folks to realize they aren't alone on that front, so thanks for calling it out! I also love you feel Creative Opinion and that everyone's voice here matters-it's mission critical that folks feel that way, so it brings me great joy that you do. Thank you for your thoughtful review and for all you do for HubSpot! -Katie

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Real Change starts from the bottom up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As an individual contributor, you really have a lot of autonomy in the work you do and can make big plays with your team. Orders don't come down from executives -- the teams decide what they want to do and how to do it, start to finish, on their own terms. You of course get direction and insight from people higher up, but engineers, product managers, designers, and business stakeholders all work together in autonomous teams to make things happen. As a software engineer, your work is always high impact, and you get to shape how your team operates.

    Cons

    Especially now, certain parts of the org are feeling some growing pains that come from scaling up. In the long term that's a good thing, but sometimes it can cause some logistical issues in the short term.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-02-12

    HubSpot Response

    February 12, 2020Chief People Officer

    Love this review and love that you used a nautical analogy (did JD put you up to that part of this!?). I would agree with you on a few scale up growing pains (we feel them on our end too from time to time)-thanks for the thoughtful review and for building software that our customers love, it means the world to me! -Katie

    Continue reading
  3. "Proud to work at SingSpot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I feel extremely lucky to have been able to call HubSpot home for the past several years. I believe our senior leadership team has done a tremendous job of listening to our customers, employees and investors and as a result has hit the mark in getting our product roadmap and go to market strategy right. Our financials, online reviews, ENPS and customer NPS scores are objective proof of this. It's incredibly rare in a several thousand person company to be able to work this autonomously and see the tangible impact you can make as 1 employee. This is even more evident in our developing and emerging market groups such as Southeast Asia, India and Japan. I believe that every employee is trusted and encouraged by leadership to drive strategic initiatives which can impact the company's growth, our customer's experience and the community's adoption of best in class marketing/sales/customer service strategies. I'm surrounded by some of the most intelligent, driven, and creative people I've ever had the pleasure of working with. This team constantly pushes me to level up my knowledge and skills, and hold myself to a higher standard. Very confident in our product and the people we have in place. Excited to see what lies ahead and grateful to be a part of the journey.

    Cons

    It can be easy to lose sight of how special it is be be a part of what we're building. Negativity amongst a few outliers, especially in satellite offices, can easily spread itself across teams and manifest itself as resentment. I believe it is on all of us to buck this trend.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-02-13
  4. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart products, fun team, challenge

    Cons

    Don't see any so far.

    HubSpot2020-02-11
  5. "So much personal and professional growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HubSpot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, growth opportunities and culture!

    Cons

    Divide with international teams makes projects harder.

    HubSpot2020-02-25
  6. "Fantastic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great role to work in. Fantastic company to work in, with attentive managers and fantastic, diverse and inclusive culture.

    Cons

    Unclear progression at times, countered by helpful managers

    HubSpot2020-02-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart, helpful and friendly co-workers. Small teams grant tons of autonomy with very low process/meeting burden. Great technology platform and platform teams provide massive leverage, so you can concentrate on solving just your business problem rather than figure out many technical problems. Leadership is good- to-great across the board. Senior leadership especially continue to impress with their level of engagement and transparency. Has retained much of its small company flexibility while growing steadily. Steady growth provides lots of opportunities to grow a career. Great health plan Solid compensation

    Cons

    401(k) match is small and hasn't been adjusted in years. New dental plan has poor network, particularly for remote employees. Currently seems to be disappointing many. While increase in health insurance deductible responsibility this year from nothing to $500 was small, it makes it much more time consuming to figure out which bills need paying vs having the HRA pay. Can feel very big some times.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-02-20
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Unparalleled Medical Benefits in Singapore but HR is a Disgrace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    HubSpot has one of the best medical plans, which does not require a health screening to be eligible. Meaning pre-existing conditions and illnesses are covered too. Dependents not only includes spouses and children, but you can also add your girlfriend/boyfriend or partner onto your medical plan with the same exact coverage too. Majority of my colleagues are wonderful people and many of us have formed great friendships due to the culture of the office. We have team-bonding outings and activities, some sponsored by the company and some by our manager/team budget. We have a well stocked pantry with snacks, ice cream, fruits, drinks, cold brew coffee, cold brew tea and even beer - all for free! Not to mention a free weekly lunch on Thursdays for the whole office, which sometimes doesn't feed enough of us, but it is free so can't complain. We have a prayer room for our muslim colleague, we have a mother's room, a meditation room which we all use as a nap room, and we have a fully equipped gym. Having unlimited leave is communicated verbally, but it is not in our contract, as this is only applicable for top performers and if your workload is manageable in your absence. Our contract states 18 days annual leave, which is still pretty good if you add in all the public holidays.

    Cons

    HubSpot proclaims to be a company with HEART but that is not the case, which is a let-down as I was led to believe otherwise. Employees and Managers are not treated equally or held to the same professional standards. There is also a bias between local and foreign employees. Managers who should be on our UGJ (HubSpot's Use Good Judgement Policy) plan due to their insensitive unethical behavior, comments and action - do not, but instead wins a trip to our annual President's Club and not because of hard work but due to riding on the coattails of the team. Many complains have been made from various people to HR but our HRBP does nothing. There is no consequence to bad behavior and it is made to seem like we are sensitive and should not finger point, and instead we should be the ones to reflect on our own behavior and not nit-pick. When HRBP follows up, it is just a formality, to document, and it is a waste of our time as our feedback gets brushed under the rug, because HRBP has more important things to do. HRBP is hardly in the office, we all wonder what our HRBP actually does. HR is suppose to play a big role in mitigating conflicts. Conversations with HR are expressed as confidential but that is not the case, whatever feedback you've shared gets passed onto your manager. There is no trust and no psychological safety whatsoever. When you try to set up time to talk with HRBP, it either gets rescheduled because HRBP out of office or never happens at all because it gets forgotten and you are left hanging wondering, "What is the point?". Our HRBP tends to get emotional and has expressed that receiving personal feedback is not a strong suit. How then are we supposed to communicate to our HRBP if there are certain things we are unhappy with HR on? Just a few days ago, I saw someone left a feedback on Glassdoor titled "Shady practice being rewarded". Our HRBP should have flagged that AE to management and put that AE on our UGJ plan but did not, if that AE was on the UGJ plan, promotion would not have been triggered and people will not be angrier at this outright scam. Now the whole Singapore office is talking about it, even though no names were mentioned, we know who it is and it is driving morale down. If our HRBP claims to not know about this issue with that AE (which has been happening over an extended period of time and isn't a one -off case), it can be believable, because our HRBP does not bother to build relationships with employees or help resolve internal conflicts, but instead panders only to senior leadership.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-02-08

    HubSpot Response

    February 18, 2020Chief People Officer

    Lots to take in here, a few notes below: 1) Promotion criteria in sales are not determined by the HR team, nor is President's Club, so while I'm sorry you are frustrated, those two particular issues are unrelated to your frustration with our team. 2) Just because you don't see/hear a BP flagging something doesn't mean it isn't happening--I spoke with our head of international on the issue you flagged this week--we've been laser focused collectively on employee safety and wellness with regard to coronavirus, so that's been the top priority of our team and the JAPAC leadership teams above all else in the last several weeks. 3) We care a lot about fairness, both the perception of fairness and the practice of it in our promotion criteria, so I can't comment specifically on the issue you highlighted above for employee privacy reasons but it's something we value highly and actively follow up on. Finally, I'll just say that we have a full HR team in JAPAC for a reason, and we actively offer for folks to talk to other folks on our global team if they are interested in doing so, either in region or out of region if there are concerns or a frustration with follow through, so if you have feedback to share, there are a bunch of options and channels to share through and we welcome it. Sorry to hear you're frustrated here, this was tough to read and respond to, but hopefully we can help work through it. -Katie

    Continue reading
  9. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great product, people and roadmap for the future. steady leadership that responds well to criticism and knows when to make changes in order to steward an amazing future for the company as well the individual. unlimited vacay, good benefits, tons of perks and incentives for sales reps to perform that change all the time to keep it interesting.

    Cons

    very competitive on the sales side because there is a lot of $$ to be made if you can keep up and do well. monthly quotas so you are under the gun each month. lots of ambitious smart people on the team, so you have to be prepared to push yourself all the time and pick yourself up quickly when you fail. there is a LOT of expectations and pressure to perform on the sales reps and it can be overwhelming at times but again, tons of information, lots of support from leadership and a best in class product make it much more manageable than perhaps this review is leading you to believe!

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-02-18

    HubSpot Response

    February 18, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the thoughtful review and your note on the rigor of monthly quotas-it's good for folks to know that while there is a lot of upside in working on sales at HubSpot, there's also a demanding cadence associated with our sales teams too. Appreciate the advice to management too, thanks for your feedback and for helping HubSpot and our prospects grow better! -Katie

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Customer Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot

    Pros

    Incredible first company to work for out of college. I’m sure this sounds redundant, but the people at this company are absolutely incredible. Never have I felt so welcomed at a place, and I never feel judged or like I can’t be anything but myself. Along with the people, the culture is also amazing. I’ve gained so much from working from this company.

    Cons

    I will be fully transparent in that when they first hire you, they hype up how much internal growth is possible. That said, they brush over the fact that while they do open applications internally to everyone (no matter your position or team), the Hiring Managers/Recruiters don’t emphasize exactly what level or tier they’re looking for. As of yet, I’ve applied to 3 internal positions and have yet to land any of them. The process is smooth and they even give you feedback afterwards, but I feel as if the feedback is just for show, as I’ve acted on the feedback by doing various things to “up my skills”, but nada. I’m not the only one in my current role (Support), that feels this way. Because of this, I’m currently seeking other job opportunities outside of HubSpot to continue my career growth—because sadly as of right now I feel like I’m stuck in a dead-end in my position. I’ve met with countless people, made connections with, and asked questions to the people on the team I’m looking to join, but it still doesn’t allow me to get hired on the other team. Many reps in my position have left the company in the past for the same reason.

    Continue reading
    HubSpot2020-02-07

    HubSpot Response

    February 12, 2020Chief People Officer

    Sorry to hear your frustration on internal career growth--I think we've made a ton of progress on this front working with Support leadership and management, but I know it's not perfect yet. What I will say is we've seen continued growth of Support folks going into roles across every team at HubSpot, so while the data shows it's working, I can understand how it wouldn't feel that way based on your personal experience, and for that I'm sorry. I hope you find something internally and am glad you're getting feedback along the way, appreciate you sharing the feedback with us. -Katie

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1098 reviews