HubSpot Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

HubSpot Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
HubSpot CEO Brian Halligan
Brian Halligan
874 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Tough to strike a work life balance sometimes(in 55 reviews)

  • "Fast growth creates some growing pains -- like needing to develop new managers/leaders(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Clear career progression and utmost transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Business Development Representative in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - HubSpot is one of the most transparent companies I have ever worked for and I've never seen that reflect in a negative light - Metrics for promotion and progression are performance-based to eliminate any kind of uncertainty - Everyone is friendly, welcoming and always willing to help a fellow HubSpotter!

    Cons

    - none that I can really think of at this time!

    HubSpot2019-10-23
  2. "Sweet place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation, flexible hour and awesome work

    Cons

    Not much i can complain

    HubSpot2019-10-21
  3. "What it's been like working in HubSpot for the past 1+ year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    You'll love the people you work with, or at least I do in my department. It's pretty hard to get into HubSpot, but once you're through, you'd see why. The calibre of the people here (smart, helpful, driven, etc) is pretty outstanding, and it challenges you to bring your best as well. There's a lot of openness & transparency, and it's a place where employees are empowered. Our employee perks are pretty amazing... too!

    Show More

    Cons

    I wouldn't say this is a con per se, but because there's so much of a start-up culture, and new things are happening all the time, sometimes it does feel like you're building the plane as you fly. Great if you like spontaneity, but if you're the sort that needs structure and defined guidelines, you do need to get use to it

    HubSpot2019-10-21
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Growth Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great product, talented and kind people, the career progression system is fair and objective. It is an incredible opportunity to work for a company where people try their best constantly; being surrounded by people who are driven and want to be remarkable is priceless as you always feel motivated.

    Cons

    Even though the training is great and well planned, it requires extra effort to get used to the amount of acronyms in the company

    HubSpot2019-10-20
  5. "Diverse and Inclusive Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time

    Pros

    HubSpot has always made me feel welcome and included right from the very first interview I had with them. Joining the company has just shown how much effort has been put in to ensure this is an inclusive and accepting workplace. From the trust the company puts in their employees to the amazing benefits, I could not ask for a better place to work at.

    Cons

    There could be more improvements made around career growth.

    Advice to Management

    To put more emphasis on helping employees with career growth, perhaps with workshops or a dedicated mentoring program.

    HubSpot2019-10-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to work. Very Diverse Open Atmosphere Highly encouraging environment Cannot say enough about this place.

    Cons

    I have none. In sales there are targets and pressure bit that's the same in any sales role.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    HubSpot2019-10-16
  7. "Amazing culture, great colleagues, growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The HubSpot culture code is amazing, employees care about their work, colleagues, company and customers. Supportive, no crazy procedures - just a simple UGJ - use good judgement. From when I was hired to pushing fully tested code into live production took less than 2 weeks - using the full power of the amazing infrastructure. Wow! For interns and young professionals, there is so much fun and growth,... possibility for taking on as much challenges as you can handle. For people with families and lives outside of work - there is full flexibility to work where and when you want and need.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is so much freedom, and reliance on UGJ.

    Advice to Management

    Remain visible and accessible, and not just at the big conferences and events. The 401k match is low - this needs to be much higher. Probably not a hinder when hiring young engineers who don't think to far ahead. The dental insurance isn't especially good either.

    HubSpot2019-10-19

    HubSpot Response

    October 20, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for calling out flexibility and our commitment to parents, and for being a Senior Software Engineer on our team. I also love that you called out the lack of silly processes and our tech infrastructure as features of the work we do. I think/hope our whole senior leadership team is pretty visible and accessible, but welcome any ideas on things we can do better or differently here, thanks for all that you do! -Katie

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The people are HubSpot's USP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - the people - I don't know how they do it but they seem to hire genuinely nice and smart people - opportunities for growth - help and advice from management - work life balance - great parents programme - massive focus on culture - transparency

    Cons

    - we can be quite Cambridge focussed but this is starting to change - salary/compensation for some service roles can be low

    Advice to Management

    Kepp doimg what youre doing, I've seen the company go from strength to strength over the past 2 years since I joined.

    HubSpot2019-10-14
  9. "Great place to be an engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Our engineering org gets the important stuff right. It's built around small, autonomous teams with a big mission that move fast and iterate. There is very little top-down anything, each team determines their own destiny.

    Cons

    As we've grown, we've added more and more engineering teams that have narrower and narrower scope. We try to make sure each team has a huge mountain to attack, but for some teams it can feel like you don't have the opportunity to make a massive impact on the business anymore.

    HubSpot2019-10-18

    HubSpot Response

    October 20, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for being a Principal Software Engineering and for so much time you've spent helping HubSpot grow better and building a great product for our customers. I appreciate you writing this up and also love that you called out that it's imperative that we keep a focus on the size of mission and impact for each team as we scale globally, so thanks for noting it and for all you do for our team. Sincerely, Katie

    Show Less
  10. "It's a amazing place to grow better, period!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HubSpot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great like-minded folks around - Leadership is transparent about in and out of the company - Great vacation and health benefits - Autonomy at it's best - Employees wellness is actually well looked after - There's never enough to learn it all - you cannot stop learning at Hubspot

    Cons

    - Need more core growth roles in APAC - Should involve individual contributor roles into decision making; esp when those teams are small / just individuals and spread across the globe

    Advice to Management

    - Keep up the great work

    HubSpot2019-10-18
Found 1027 reviews