Herman Miller Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Herman Miller Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 282 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Herman Miller CEO  Andi Owen
Andi Owen
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Everything moves slowly, you have to fight for professional development, the west Michigan religious cult vibes are STRONG here(in 5 reviews)

  • "New hires must be ambitious, and dedicated to succeed(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great place to develop your potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    HM is a great company where you can become/ achieve anything you want to. Very open/ transparent organizational structure, "open door" policy. Work/life balance

    Cons

    People who abuse the system. System that protects under performers. Slow to make changes.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on developing individual's people + communication's skills.

    Herman Miller2017-02-27
  2. "Cares about people and innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Tremendous professional development. This company invests heavily in their employees. You will receive deep and consistent training in their products, strategies and role based skill development -Large organization with a family like feel. They do a great job of keeping their people connected to each other, despite being being part of teams that span across North America

    Cons

    Growth beyond your role, or the one directly above you, it seems as though people have to leave the organization to land positions and compensation they aspire to. Not to say they don't promote internally, but is the trend among higher level specialized roles.

    Advice to Management

    Clearer road mapping for career development to management positions. It is an organization that people want to stay with and that could be more greatly leveraged

    Herman Miller2019-06-26
  3. "Great learning experience and lots of team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A+D Representative 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time

    Pros

    Herman MIller provided vast resources that allowed us to share the most up-to-date research with our design clients making us very much sought after by our clients for programming purposes. This allowed us to be present at the beginning of projects and gave us the opportunity to affect outcome.

    Cons

    Sales initiatives and training was constant, but not enough time was given for us to implement what we learned to see results before new initiatives were introduced.

    Advice to Management

    When introducing new sales programs and initiatives, please give everyone the opportunity to really work with it before introducing new programs.

    Herman Miller2019-07-08
  4. "cruise specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cruise Specialist in Kelowna, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Herman Miller for more than a year

    Pros

    love sharing my knowledge of the best cruises to take with my friends & family, who have become my clients

    Cons

    not enough hours in a day

    Advice to Management

    make it a positive work place!

    Herman Miller2016-07-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Product Application Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, a lot of genuinely great people work in the company.

    Cons

    Many layers of management and different titles. Work load is imbalanced. A lot of people are just coasting and collecting pay cheques.

    Advice to Management

    Time to stop playing catch up to the competitors and start innovating again and blaze your own trail like Herman Miller once did.

    Herman Miller2016-05-19
  6. "Excellent Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Herman Miller is a great place to work. Excellent innovative products, with cutting edge design, and a wonderful resources from within the organizaiton to draw support and assistance. Salaries are competitive and benefits are excellent. A leader within the industry. A great place to learn and grow, and a real supportive managment.

    Cons

    A large organization always has some faults, like communication, and bureaucracy, and at times Herman Miller has struggled with these as well. However for a large organization it is better than most.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is always the key to engaging employees the more the better.

    Herman Miller2014-08-13
  7. "Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life Balance and cool workplace

    Cons

    I haven't seen any cons in this company

    Herman Miller2019-08-20
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Holland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Paid health initiatives (get paid to wear a pedometer for a month, free 5ks, etc.) -Excellent work life balance (lots of ability to work from home) -get paid to volunteer -good perks

    Cons

    -Not near a major airport

    Herman Miller2019-08-18
  9. "Positive Attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People, Great Working Environment, Great Leadership

    Cons

    Work Delegation, Low Pay, Bi-weekly pay

    Herman Miller2019-08-21
  10. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time

    Pros

    Empathy, good work / life balance

    Cons

    Limited Advancement when not based in MI

    Herman Miller2019-08-02
Found 282 reviews