Herman Miller Material Handler Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Herman Miller Material Handler Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Herman Miller CEO  Andi Owen
Andi Owen
2 Ratings
  1. "Positive Attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People, Great Working Environment, Great Leadership

    Cons

    Work Delegation, Low Pay, Bi-weekly pay

    Herman Miller2019-08-21
  2. "Great Culture and Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler in Holland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Annual company picnic -Two weeks of vacation to start, with the option to purchase a third -Compostable serviceware and plates -Experienced coworkers -Great 401K matching and core contribution -Always looking to better the company with employee suggestions -Heat breaks

    Cons

    -Mandatory overtime with little notice -Work injuries -Slow to approve vacation -Pay could be better with the low unemployment -They are desperate for people and turnover is high -Some “entitled” lazy long-term employees

    Advice to Management

    Help develop your dedicated employees and keep them around. Have middle management actually get on the floor instead of chatting for the majority of the day.

    Herman Miller2019-08-01
  3. Helpful (3)

    "old timers get the shaft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler in Spring Lake, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    steady work some good benefits

    Cons

    long time employees get the shaft when it comes to raises!

    Advice to Management

    take care of the people that have been there a long time

    Herman Miller2019-03-04
  4. "Hardworking job with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Material Handler 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Plenty of Overtime opportunities -Great Benefits -Friendly Environment -Provides opportunities and programs to progress in the company.

    Cons

    -Overtime can be enforced -New hires most often can only get 3rd shift positions

    Herman Miller2019-01-09
  5. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Solid Hours, no surprises on your schedule. Decent pay increases and vacation benefits. Good Values. It is a good company to start at for college students who want a decent paying job.

    Cons

    Working yourself up the company is hard unless you have connections. Morale for manufacturing has significantly declined.

    Advice to Management

    Increase employee morale in order to retain employees

    Herman Miller2017-11-28
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Complete garbage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Spring Lake, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Herman Miller full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people. Only good thing about this place. You’ll meet hard workers and good family people. Other than that RUN!!!

    Cons

    Haha this place is a con. Gave them 10 years, they gave me unemployment. They don’t care about you or your family. Only the next promotion or bonus they can grab. Leadership takes more and more and then dumps the scrap onto you.

    Advice to Management

    Grow a pair. Do your job.

    Herman Miller2017-12-04
  7. "Material handler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The chance to work with great people

    Cons

    You'll work mandatory 12 hours during the week.

    Herman Miller2017-09-24
  8. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits like quarterly bonuses and corporate discounts. Health insurance through Aetna is a lot better than the one I came from. People that work here are very family friendly.

    Cons

    Company is based in Holland which means if you live in Grand Rapids its a half hour drive.They need better communication from upper management with their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication with your Work Team Leaders

    Herman Miller2016-12-31
  9. "Great company culture. Awesome benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler in Zeeland, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herman Miller full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great. My health insurance premiums are half the cost of my last employer. Lots of physical comforts, its warm in the winter, cool in the summer. Very safe, clean work environment.

    Cons

    Their workforce is close to retirement. They can be a bit tricky to navigate. New hires must be ambitious, and dedicated to succeed. They've got high expectations, personally i think that could be under pros.

    Advice to Management

    Not sure. They are a large, multi national company. I cannot pretend to know any better than professionals they have in charge.

    Herman Miller2016-12-04
Found 9 reviews