Geotab Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Geotab CEO Neil Cawse (no image)
Neil Cawse
50 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Benefits and Corporate Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geotab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Forward thinking senior leadership that treat employees as if they are a part their own family

    Cons

    Rapid innovation leads to a very fast paced agile workplace - not necessarily a con but can be a difficult adjustment

    Continue reading

    Geotab Response

    July 8, 2020Senior Internal Communications Specialist

    We are pleased to hear about your positive experience working at Geotab. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to have you in the Geotab family and we look forward to growing together! -The Geotab HR Team

  2. "Amazing Canadian Software Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geotab full-time

    Pros

    - Prides itself on transparency and lack of politics, something many U.S. companies sorely lack - Strong family values - Excellent perks and fair compensation - CEO is outstanding. Holds regular town halls, answering difficult questions on the spot. Excellent leader technically, morally, and from an operations standpoint. It's rare to have a CEO that is both on top of the business, managing its people, while at the same time still able to contribute to technical design decisions and innovation - Cutting edge tech - Constant opportunities to grow and learn

    Cons

    - No shares offered when joining company but total compensation is competitive - Would be nice if more lunch options were provided to minimize work of preparing a lunch, cooking, etc.

    Geotab Response

    June 8, 2020Senior Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. We are thrilled to hear how much you are enjoying your time at Geotab. Your feedback is critical to help us continue to improve the employee experience. We are so glad to have you on the team. -The Geotab HR Team

  3. "Awesome place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geotab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great people and culture - Employee first mentality - Fast growing company with a bright future - Brand new open concept office in Oakville - Unlimited snacks, free Friday lunches and an very active games room

    Cons

    Honestly can't think of much to complain about

    Geotab Response

    May 27, 2020Senior Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for sharing a review. We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to know that you enjoy working at Geotab. We encourage you to continue to provide feedback as we grow together. We are happy to have you as part of the Geotab family! -The Geotab HR Team

  4. "God's in general"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geotab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing so far i can think of

    Geotab Response

    May 7, 2020Senior Internal Communications Specialist

    We appreciate you sharing your review. It is great to hear that you are enjoying your time at Geotab and it is important to us that you have found a great work-life balance. We hope that your positive experiences continue as we grow together. We are happy to have you on the team. -The Geotab HR Team

  5. "GOOD STUFF"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 

    I have been working at Geotab full-time

    Pros

    Great co workers, great work life

    Cons

    There needs to be more company lunches please

    Geotab Response

    May 6, 2020Senior Internal Communications Specialist

    Thanks for sharing your review. We are glad to hear your positive feedback. We enjoy our lunches and we are happy to hear that you do too! -The Geotab HR Team

  6. "Autonomy : The silver bullet to beat all the cultural pain faced by an organization."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geotab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would enlist all the pros that make this place one of the best places that I have ever worked 1) As the headline says AUTONOMY. Every employee is made aware of their expectations and is given the resources to accomplish it. No peeping over the shoulder and insane expectations. 2) A clear vision of the CEO and the treatment of his peers. I strongly believe that it always trickles down from top to bottom. 3) Growth isn't just a fallacy, multiple departments, and intra department moves are highly supported. 4) Technologically driven, almost every department works with a common goal to achieve good for the company. Very little resistance in requests raised to accomplish a task. 5) Compensation is fair and very flat structure in terms of reports. CEO sits in the same row with the employees. 6) You are surrounded by healthy snacks, food, and gym. You are spoilt for choices. And let me not skip Ice Cream stocked fridge. 7) Nobody talks about culture but funnily enough, it is at the perfect sweet spot that a company of this scale requires.

    Cons

    None yet. And i hope i never have to come across any.

    Continue reading

    Geotab Response

    December 17, 2019Senior Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review and sharing your experiences with us. We are delighted to hear all the positive things that you feel make Geotab a great place to work. Please continue to share your feedback - we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope that your positive experiences continue as we grow together. We are happy that you are part of our Geotab family. - The Geotab HR team

  7. "Good place to work, low pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Geotab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, very collaborative. Work is interesting. You have direct access to your supervisor to talk about issues youre having with a project or in general

    Cons

    There are really 2 main downsides: Pay is low Information is Silo'd within the company. Whenever starting a project, have to budget a week to get access to all databases you may need Work can get a bit repetetive, but its relatively minor and your supervisor tries to switch things up

    Continue reading

    Geotab Response

    January 27, 2020Senior Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your candid review. While we are happy to hear about your positive experience, we take your feedback seriously and are addressing the areas you discussed. We are dedicated to taking care of our employees and making improvements during this period of rapid growth. We encourage you to further share your concerns with us at hr@geotab.com. -The Geotab HR Team

  8. "Growing Company with cool benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geotab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are really good. Employees are taken care of.

    Cons

    Growing really fast, so currently not much scope of promotion. The people who came in before are in good shape but not so much for new employees.

    Geotab Response

    December 10, 2019Senior Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your review. While we’re delighted to see the positives, we’d appreciate hearing more about your concerns. At Geotab, one of our core values is taking care of employees. Because we value growing our company from within, we continue to look at ways to better inform employees on career trajectory and what it takes to get promoted and/or advance at Geotab. We encourage you to reach out to our Human Resources team to tell us more about your experience. We are always open to feedback and are always looking for ways to improve. -The Geotab HR Team

  9. "Temping but great work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Clerk in Oakville, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geotab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work and good people to work with. Lots of food and good work life balance

    Cons

    Currently temping so work can come in bow waves.

    Geotab Response

    August 19, 2019Senior Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you are enjoying your time working at Geotab. We are happy to have you here! - The Geotab HR team

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great industry , rising company, poor engineer management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Geotab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Respect work life balance Encourage learning Market is very promising, lots of opportunities come with fast expansion.

    Cons

    You are told how valuable you are because you done what they told you to. Management does listen, but does poor job to actually hear. It's very hard to make them pay enough attention to your proactive suggestions if you are not close to them. In one engineer team, they put someone who is definitely not good at tech in his own domain to be the head, who assigns project w/o well planning with his team members.

    Continue reading

    Geotab Response

    August 7, 2019Senior Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your candid review. At Geotab, we prioritize our positive employee culture and strive to provide a workplace where employees feel welcome and valued. As we take your feedback very seriously, we encourage you to continue this conversation by utilizing our open door policy and engaging with our Human Resources team to discuss your concerns further. Thank you again for your review and we wish well with your career at Geotab! - The Geotab HR team

Found 61 reviews