Expedia Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Expedia Group Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Expedia Group CEO Mark Okerstrom
Mark Okerstrom
536 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you are able to then you can have a good work/life balance but it is tricky for many people (especially with families)(in 114 reviews)

  • "Need for upper management to improve on their vision(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Data Science 1 Seattle office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time

    Pros

    Great Work and proactive team

    Cons

    Lack of transparency and direction from management

    Expedia Group2019-10-25
  2. "Not a good office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    big company lots of things to learn

    Cons

    not innovative, no room to grow

    Expedia Group2019-10-01
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice environment and good people

    Cons

    a lot of works, have to work overtime.

    Expedia Group2019-08-08
  4. "Great security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work, meet great people

    Cons

    Management lots of culture change.

    Expedia Group2019-06-23
  5. "Amazing company...if you work in the office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Market Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Expedia is a a forward thinking leader in the tech industry, that happens to sell travel. It’s amazing the insights they have and I really loved being able to build the Expedia network in my area

    Cons

    I was home based and even though they really tried a lot to keep the teams connected, it was really hard not to be in the office and feel like I’m missing a huge part of the corporate culture. There was also A LOT of traveling, which personally was a con but some people might like it

    Expedia Group2019-06-12
  6. "There is good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cruise Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CruiseDesk is a one stop shop making doing the work easy and efficient. It makes it easy for consultants with no training to get in the business.

    Cons

    Not all franchises are structured the same so support varies from location to location. This is commission only so a second job or source of income is required. Information about what was happening within the franchise and company was lacking. Would have been nice for the consultants to hear from corporate more than just once a year.

    Advice to Management

    Remember the success of the business relies on the success of the consultants. Treat them well and you will all win in the end.

    Expedia Group2019-06-11
  7. "Great team and a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Database Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best part of working at Expedia is the team Lots of flexibility

    Cons

    Limited h opportunities outside the US

    Expedia Group2019-05-16
  8. "Software Developer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment and friendly people!

    Cons

    Moves to slow as a Company, wants to play the startup game but in my opinion it doesn't work

    Expedia Group2019-04-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time

    Pros

    Decent base salary, with bonus structure built in each quarter. Good wellness benefits and you get to travel to the different markets you cover and have the flexibility to work from different offices.

    Cons

    Poor leadership skills within management. Company preaches work-life-balance, but Management you report to really doesn’t care about your well being. Offices can be very divided and full of cliques. Hard to be promoted unless you want to transfer to a different position with Egencia or Travel Ads.

    Advice to Management

    Hire Area Managers that genuinely want to see their team succeed instead of ones who micro manage and try to make a name for themselves amongst senior leadership. Senior Leadership walks around like they are untouchable, have no time for you and can come off as very hostile.

    Expedia Group2019-04-09
  10. "Great place to work at. Sometimes politics come into play, but still a pretty fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer I in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, fairly relaxed and interesting challenges

    Cons

    Politics can get heavy and annoying

    Expedia Group2019-03-07
Found 3058 reviews