Exchange Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Exchange Solutions Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Mike Hughes, Robert Jewell
12 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exchange Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, good vacation allowance, casual dress code, interesting work, great people to work with. Good benefits. Exchange Solutions focuses a lot on their employees and their happiness, which is very refreshing.

    Cons

    Not a great bonus structure and no pension.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Exchange Solutions2019-07-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Developer Perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Architect in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exchange Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can learn a lot if you are a self starter. Groups of people that are up to start interesting projects. A few very intelligent and well-round developers that can really help and mentor a developer. A supportive CTO that encourages learning and growth. Can maintain a great life style.

    Cons

    Too many employees that are there just for a 'job'. Not enough passion in the dev team for technology.

    Advice to Management

    Push the teams hard in define of the mission.

    Exchange Solutions2019-05-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exchange Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great work culture and nice profession people

    Cons

    can not scale their business

    Exchange Solutions2019-06-13
  4. "no longer there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Exchange Solutions full-time

      Pros

      relaxed environment for all those at the place

      Cons

      Little leadership or direction at the time. things may have changed since then

      Exchange Solutions2019-04-18
    • "It is So Good !"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Exchange Solutions full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - I love ESI for its great people and working culture, every one is collaborative, engaged, approachable. No micro management. - Very organized software development, high quality code control, very clear responsibilities. - They keep up with latest technologies, at least the team I worked at, project scales are generally smaller, lots of microsite projects, but they're not afraid to try new things which is excellent...

      Show More

      Cons

      - Company has downsized a bit during my stay, and is on its way to scale up but are facing many challenges at the moment.

      Exchange Solutions2017-12-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Place To Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Exchange Solutions full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Informal culture and lack of corporate/bureaucratic hierarchy -Organizational appetite for change - good example is our renewed focus on discipline in new business development pursuits -Commitment to a data-driven business model that adds real value for clients -Full of smart people who want to do the right thing for each other, for the company and for our clients

      Cons

      -We've struggled to grow/scale at the pace we want to, (but we're getting there) -We can make it a more of a priority to ensure our managers and teams don't allow our best people to burn out when others aren't pulling their weight

      Advice to Management

      -In their co-CEO roles, Bob and Mike are genuinely interested in removing barriers to our success... they are truly customer-focused and hold me accountable to be as well. Keep doing that.

      Exchange Solutions2017-10-13
    • Helpful (11)

      "Great if you’re a Corporate Robot"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Exchange Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Nice people Flexible work schedule

      Cons

      Really understaffed operations team means that there’s zero effort to move away from a (very) weak deployment framework. Deployments that take milliseconds elsewhere often take days to coordinate and execute. Some developers have been complaining about it for years and are not allowed or welcomed to suggest changing it. Developers and Architects are treated like young children regardless of experience level or performance....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire a proper ops team. Let the technology people make the right decisions. Replace the marketing executive.

      Exchange Solutions2017-10-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Marketing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Exchange Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Fantastic company to work at, brilliant people with a common mindset and mission. A company where employees are still extremely valued as one of its main assets, and are treated as such. I would recommend Exchange Solutions as a top employer in a heartbeat.

        Cons

        Relatively slow company growth (due to long sales cycles) can be a determinant of some employees' growth too.

        Advice to Management

        Employees own career growth is naturally within (and defined by) the confines of the company's. Continue to find ways to engage and nurture employee growth, creating a clear roadmap for each employee's development.

        Exchange Solutions2017-07-19
      • "Sr Analyst"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Exchange Solutions

          Pros

          coworkers are very nice and friendly

          Cons

          small consulting company can not afford big project

          Exchange Solutions2017-05-19
        • "Best company for a Software Developer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Full Stack Software Developer in Toronto, ON
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Exchange Solutions full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          * Smart and talented people * Great technology stack * Great and strong leadership and managers * Great benefits * Flexible and casual * Interesting technical projects * Nice office * Very close to subway station

          Cons

          There are no cons. Everything is perfect.

          Exchange Solutions2017-03-28
        Found 32 reviews