Edmunds.com Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Edmunds.com Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Edmunds.com CEO Avi Steinlauf
Avi Steinlauf
180 Ratings
Pros
  • "Finally, I want to say something about our Results Only Work Environment(in 50 reviews)

  • "The work/life balance is the best I've seen or heard of(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "A lot of the great work that happens in the office doesn't always translate well when we interact with dealers and customers(in 12 reviews)

  • "Edmunds is located in Santa Monica(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are so many good things about Edmunds. Great work/life balance, so many talented people and the opportunity to have a real impact.

    Cons

    The company has made a lot of tough changes recently, but I’m excited for what the future holds.

    Continue reading
    Edmunds.com2020-02-06
  2. Helpful (19)

    "More Layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at Edmunds are great. Every person I’ve worked with is smart, really cares and tries to improve what they can about the products. The office is insane ROWE and unlimited PTO are awesome

    Cons

    Edmunds is a sinking ship. They just laid off a large portion of the company which they notified us all during the holiday break and made us all wait over week to find out our fate, I assume so they could report the severance payments in the 2020 fiscal year to improve the bottom line for the banks and investors. There is no great way to lay off employees but I think making the entire company wait a week to find out if they had a job was a mistake. I have already heard many of the people retained whispering about taking interviews with other companies so there with be even more attrition and it will be extremely difficult to attract talented people to replace them. Credit where credit is due, they did give a generous severance from what I heard so they do care about the employees to some degree. I personally don’t think Edmunds will exist within the next 1-2 years. Best case it’s acquired and worst case it just closes up shop and sells off its assets to try to retain some wealth for the owners.

    Continue reading
    Edmunds.com2020-01-11
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Poor leadership/poor decisions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edmunds.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers- good pay/benefits. Good work/life balance (but thats based on who you report to)

    Cons

    Pitiful upper management/leadership. This once great Brand has been run into the ground from years of poor leadership....going ALL the way up. In a very competitive and every changing vertical, the leadership has literally remained unchanged, even through this latest round of layoffs. The issues are many. Poor performing old product set, deteriorating culture, no room for personal or professional growth, and poor leadership. All of this combined spells doom, The latest changes addressed none of those issues. The same people in place ...making the same poor business decisions. Its a sad situation, and i feel for anyone still there.

    Continue reading
    Edmunds.com2020-01-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Felt like an outsider - with no way in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Edmunds.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, including an HSA account

    Cons

    As a family owned business, it feels like you are an outsider unless you're connected to the fam somehow.

    Continue reading
    Edmunds.com2020-02-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consignment Inventory Analyst in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company had a great culture. The CEO was awesome at engaging all employees. Sales meetings were always well done. The HQ was a unique environmen.

    Cons

    Too much corporate politics among the sales management team.

    Edmunds.com2020-01-14
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Micromanagement with no clear company direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales in Los Angeles, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employees are good people

    Cons

    Definitely reminds me of the Titanic but this ship is just sinking a little bit slower. Can’t speak for employees at corporate and how they are treated. For prospective Sales Executives, Relationship Managers, and Account Executives in the field here is what you should expect if you take the job: 1. The main product being sold is mostly smoke and mirrors 2. Be ready to be micro managed all day long(spreadsheets, constant check ins, way to many pointless conference calls) This takes a lot of time away from actually accomplishing the job in the field of servicing dealers 3. No transparency: That went away when the company started struggling. They used to send out weekly leaderboards to everyone for each position so you could see how well everyone was doing around the country. Now they just send you the leaderboard for your position because they don’t want you to be discouraged by seeing the people leaving off the leaderboards and the numbers being way down. Did they not think that subtle move would resonate with employees? 4. Lots of middle management and not enough workers which leads to field reps having way to many accounts to physically be able to manage and see on a consistent basis. Double the accounts to manage as some of the competitors in the market. They wonder why they hear from their clients they aren’t seeing their rep. It’s not because the rep doesn’t want to do the job. It’s because the rep is doing 3 people’s jobs. This leads to reps being demoralized because they are trying to do everything they can to physically be at their clients locations but realize there is no possible way to accomplish that task 5. Hiring freeze for months as great ex employees leave for other companies is the biggest warning sign that needs to be seen. 6. 2020 and beyond for this company ? Don’t look for a grand vision. They are trying to hold it together week by week and month by month. Short term solutions instead of long term strategies. Provide new clients with 3x more value for 3 x less the money then existing loyal clients and wonder why they get cancels. They say they want to take care of existing clients but then when it comes time to do the conversion the managers just complain about the loss they will have to take to make it right. 7. I could go on but I think you get the picture by now. Your best suited to go work at one of the other 150 automotive companies and sell their products instead

    Continue reading
    Edmunds.com2019-12-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits, Flexibility, Expenses, Some growth

    Cons

    Stagnate Product, Not enough Marketing

    Edmunds.com2019-11-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I’ve Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity. Positivity. Training. Results/production rewarded.

    Cons

    Still waiting for one.

    Edmunds.com2019-10-21
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Slow train wreck with toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Edmunds.com full-time

    Pros

    ROWE, collaborative environment amongst departments, ability to be creative and try new things.

    Cons

    Lack of cohesive organizational strategy; the organization doesnt seem to know who it is, what it stands for, or who the target customer segment is; promotions within the org are often based on friendships/ alliances, rather that merit, capability and results; inability to retain much top talent; highly political; some departments have a highly toxic environment that is promoted by the leadership and goes unchecked.

    Continue reading
    Edmunds.com2019-10-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Edmunds.com full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with, flexible work hours

    Cons

    A little bit of politics within teams

    Edmunds.com2019-10-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 275 reviews