Clio Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Clio CEO and Co-Founder   Jack Newton
Jack Newton
181 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture from the top down(in 20 reviews)

  • "Still a great work environment post-COVID-19(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There's the typical growing pains with the company accelerating so quickly(in 19 reviews)

  • "Office is in middle-of-nowhere Burnaby, which can be a pro for some commute-wise(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Do the best work of your career

      May 11, 2021 - Sales in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people and culture is the best I have ever experienced. Growth is everywhere, you really can do the best work here with so much room to move up. Benefits are top notch.

      Cons

      Salaries vs. the level of work that is needed to be done on this rocket ship of a company are not equal.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      You couldn't pay me to work here.

      May 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Basic tech perks: snacks, outdoor patio, lunch before COVID, WFH for everyone now (was based on if you had a "good reason" to work remotely previously) , "flexible working hours" (not 100% true), 4 weeks vacation - Company does some philanthropy - Stocks will likely be worth a significant amount in the future (just look at the tabloids), but for anyone new joining, your strike price will be expensive. Keep that in mind. - You'll move up if you're willing to do 4 jobs at once - DIBE is completely up to employees. The company really thought thought getting a Slackbot that sends you articles on diversity everyday would be helpful.

      Cons

      - One of the most toxic workplaces I've ever worked in - Glorification of overworking (expect working into the evening, weekends, and even during the holidays) - Some of the most incompetent leaders I've ever worked with in my career. Seems like they got to where they are by nepotism/sucking up to higher-ups (CEO's whole family works in the company FYI). - Salary is low in comparison to how much work is involved and to the amount of money being invested into the company publicly (Series D and E but you can't send a food voucher during a 3 -day kickoff/our holiday celebration..?). Low compensation is brought up at every company survey review with no change. - Pay close attention the turnover rate. There's a reason why they can't seem to meet their hiring goals.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best company I've ever worked for (with a few caveats)

      Apr 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexibility to design your schedule, make appointments when you need to without worry - Diversity and inclusion are a huge focus for the company. I really admire our commitment to not hiring more straight & white men, especially in senior leadership roles - Ability to WFH now full-time for most roles in the company - Amazing, thoughtful & caring people work here - Wellness stipends in lieu of some of the benefits that used to be available at the office - There is plenty of opportunity for you if you are willing to hustle (typical tech culture, not the company for you if you want to clock in at 9 and out at 5 every day)

      Cons

      - Burnout is sometimes inevitable / very easy to get overwhelmed if you don't already have a pretty strict schedule with yourself - Compensation increases take a long time to get moving - Interview process can be difficult if you are not a seasoned interviewee (prepare for at least 3 stages) - When the office is open, parking is quite expensive (unless you want to risk getting a ticket everyday) - Sometimes it feels like you need to live and breathe "Clio" in order to succeed. The most successful people at the company don't have a great work/life balance to my knowledge

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A growing and healthy product org tackling an impactful and complex problem space

      Apr 23, 2021 - Product Designer in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • Legal is a relatively untouched space compared to other knowledge industries (ie - accounting, EMR, EdTech), which means there are a lot of low hanging opportunities to help our users do legal work more effectively. • We do a substantial amount of customer research. We take cognitive empathy seriously and let customer insights drive our product decisions. • Product teams operate with a triad model - which allows Product, Engineering and Design to work collaborative through decisions, rather than being siloed in each of the 3 functions like bigger tech companies. • Leadership team here is genuine about the mission and are making active decisions towards accomplishing it.

      Cons

      Here are some improvements that I think the product org at Clio can work on, but I don't believe this "Cons" section on Glassdoor is productive. • The product org is growing, which means there are growing pains. That's a good thing, but addressing the pain from growing, either in a department meeting, or in 1:1 conversations would be helpful. • The triad model can be improved to be more inclusive of members that are less vocal. Currently, to thrive as a triad member, you need to be able to stand your ground and communicate well. While that is a good thing to aim for, it takes time to get there. Set expectation with new product team members on this point. • Let product teams have greater autonomy over the product roadmap. I understand that there are sometimes urgent features/projects that need to be done, but it's also important to trust each team's depth of expertise to carry out their roadmap.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Transparent, Diverse and Innovative Workplace

      Apr 23, 2021 - Program Specialist in Burnaby, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best thing about Clio is the fact that one of our values is No Doors, Only Windows and the fact that we truly live and breathe this. The Leadership team is really transparent about what's going on in the company, and we often talk about issues that other companies usually shy away from. The company drives its people to do their best work, and a lot of programs are available for employees to continue their development. The leaders, especially the managers, are really invested in their people and will strive to get you to where you want to be. We offer mentorship programs and in-house coaching, which allows employees to really drive their growth. I also feel that the managers encourages us to work with high agency, which is so rare. Another plus point is that our company has shifted to a Distributed by Design workplace, so we have the ability to choose whether we want to continue working remotely or go to the office once in awhile (once the offices reopen).

      Cons

      Clio's compensation is competitive to the market's, but not as high as other companies might offer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A company that is truly human AND high performing

      Apr 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -"Deliberately Developmental Organization" that invests a ton in employee learning & development, career progression and personal growth -competitive salaries with clear progression pathways -an executive team that genuinely cares about employee well-being -an authentic commitment to Diversity, Inclusion, Belonging and Equity -fast paced environment ripe with opportunity to make a positive impact industry wide -audacious goals and clearly articulated vision that generates excitement -hiring for culture "add" and not "fit" ensures that your colleagues are smart, driven, inspiring and accountable people who seek to make the workplace experience better for everyone

      Cons

      Not really any I can think of! If you're not the type of person who wants to do meaningful work and stretch yourself to your maximum potential, this probably isn't the place for you ;)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      High-Performing and Value-Driven

      Apr 23, 2021 - Customer Onboarding Specialist in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Full transparency from the top of the organization down to entry-level employees - Incredible people. I know "culture" is becoming cliché but I haven't worked with a better, more supportive team in my career. - Clio wears its values in the open and there are so many initiatives (mental health, representation, access to law, etc) that make me proud to work here. - The product is a leader in the industry and we have a very unique opportunity to succeed - Will have the option to work remote or in-office once it opens back up - Amazing benefits including $2000 yearly for mental health spending. - Clio is open to career progression/growth/transitions and will actively help you pursue your goals.

      Cons

      - Some days can get very busy. Working a little overtime isn't unheard of. - Some processes in the Onboarding organization can definitely be streamlined - there is a lot of manual admin work that can add to an already full plate

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing people, amazing culture

      May 7, 2021 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The amount of support from the development community here I have received since I joined has reignited my love for development. I have grown more in the last 2 years than the 5 years in my previous company, both technically and personally. This is a place where I wish I had started my career in when I first graduated. Having access to free, in-house performance coach is almost unheard of. I'm continuously amazed at the culture here. It has been evolving as the company grows, but always with the best intention for the employees. All the leadership team are very approachable, carry themselves with integrity and honesty. No BS. They genuinely take employment engagment seriously.

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Take on once-in-a-lifetime challenges in a values driven company

      Apr 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      These ~5 years at Clio have been the most rewarding years of my professional working life. I have grown as a person, as an individual contributor, as a leader, and am continually provided new challenges to take on as the company continues to sky rocket. Especially during covid, Clio has more than stepped up to the plate in terms of making this difficult transition one that is human-centric. No company predicted this, but the decisions that have been made at every turn have felt well thought out, fair, and with the employees (and their families) best interest in mind. As the title states, what sets Clio apart is that we are a values-driven company; meaning, the work that you do has a direct impact on those who deliver--and require--legal services. I am proud to work for Clio.

      Cons

      I had to think hard about this, because the few issues/criticisms I've ever had, I was able to address those with the appropriate stakeholders at that time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company that values their employees

      May 7, 2021 - Account Executive Outbound in Burnaby, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Truly values employees and provides all the supporting resources and equipments needed for a work from home environment -Fast growing, super transparent CEO - A company built on the WHY, purpose - lots of career growth opportunities -Mentorship programs

      Cons

      - It's not so much a con but. a fact that this is a fast growing tech company with audacious goals, so hard work is required. Sometimes you put in longer hours but that's the nature of tech and in my roles as sales; however, you are rewarded and can definitely move up for career growth.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 236 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Clio Job Seekers

    Software Developer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Clio? Share Your Experiences

    Clio logo
    or