Clio Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Clio Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Clio CEO and Co-Founder   Jack Newton
Jack Newton
122 Ratings
Pros
  • "Few companies that offer a great culture also perform well(in 18 reviews)

  • "The work environment also makes this a great place to work, with dogs roaming around the office and access to snacks 24/7 is amazing(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some growing pains in the transition from scrappy startup to industry leader(in 17 reviews)

  • "Office is in middle-of-nowhere Burnaby, which can be a pro for some commute-wise(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Clio is a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive, Mid Market in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The fast-paced high growth environment of Clio offers an endless number of opportunities and challenges that I find very stimulating and rewarding. It also offers a wonderful culture of work-life balance and great benefits, plus a real purpose in the mission.

    Cons

    Since the company is growing so fast, there are frequent structural changes. I actually appreciate those changes, but navigating them does require resilience and they can be challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to make data-driven decisions and also moon shots. Continue to invest in the API. The culture of the company is great; be proud but maybe more humble about it.

    Clio2020-01-10
  2. "Amazing place to work, great culture, fantastic people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in many places in the span of my career, and it is immediately apparent that Clio is a special place. The people are amazing, the work is interesting, and the company lives its values. Clio is a place where you'll work hard. There's no opportunity/time to coast, or fly by under the radar. This is a huge pro. It means that others are actively engaged with you, work happens quickly, and wins & results are always being delivered. You can feel the wind in your hair as a developer, and this is the greatest feeling ever! It also means there is ample opportunity to grow. I have seen so much personal/career growth and stretching in the last 6 months, and I don't see this stopping. What does it look like for a dev? Everyone can ship to production, up to 50 deploys a day, roughly 5-10 min build/test suites (30 min during rough periods), many automated checks & balances, and a culture that reflects & calls out how this can get better or improved. If you're a senior dev, you'll have no trouble committing to prod on your first day; junior or intermediate, it might take a few days. So many things have to go right for this to happen. What does it look like for a dev manager? There's a lot going on. You're empowered to run and manage your team the way you want. You're given lots of latitude and freedom, as well as opportunity to grow. See something that's broken? Draw the owl and fix it. The talent team provides amazing resources from the in house talent coach, to the basecamp leadership training, and more. I always feel supported when things are going well or not. And there is just so much going on! There is always a group you can join and lend your talent to. There's no shortage of opportunity for those that want to jump in. And there's also ClioCon! What an amazing event. 2 days of talking to customers directly, it takes a lot of work to get there, but well worth the effort.

    Show More

    Cons

    My cons are things I'd expect to see from a company in high growth mode like Clio, or things I've seen others struggle with. * Be prepared to be real, give direct constructive feedback, and to receive it as well. This is very jarring at first. Overtime it becomes liberating. It eliminates posturing, second guessing, and other terrible behaviours. You will know where you're at. * Circumstances change quickly. This can mean the thing that was important last week isn't this week. That's okay, but if you have trouble pivoting like that it can be frustrating. * Don't work against the company's framework and way of operating. Those that try to swim upstream against the flow of the company will have a hard time. Understand what the company is, where it's going, what it wants, and be prepared to follow that stream. Again this is okay, it means you're actually accomplishing things because everyone is aligned and driving to a common goal! * Benefits could always be better. Having to cover 20% of paramedical isn't ideal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Work on celebrating wins. Often times we go from problem to problem without calling out where things are going well.

    Clio2019-12-25
  3. "Serve a meaningful industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Development in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Unbounded career growth, opportunities abound - Meaningful industry, not selling stuff or showing ads - You can make a stack overflow joke with the CEO - Learn and implement growth/saas/scaling patterns - Not dogmatic on decision making, process or technology - Easy to go back and forth between IC roles and management roles - Human AND high performing - Diverse teams - Heavily invests in its people at all levels

    Show More

    Cons

    A vast majority of cons fall into the category of the good kinds of problems to have for any company: - company processes are not always keeping up with the hyper growth - a decent amount of VUCA - offices can get tight before a new office opens - people having to sept outside their immediate role to help - having to focus among all the opportunities Looking at my personal experience across multiple companies at various stages of growth, in my opinion Clio is doing a fantastic job to address these and I'm definitely enjoying the rocket ship.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep our amazing company culture, it has shown over and over to be our super power.

    Clio2019-12-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "I'll remember my time here for the rest of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I believe in a growth mindset. Instead of seeing my failures as setbacks, I see them as opportunities to learn. I value working hard, working smart and being empowered to make great changes. This is the type of company that Clio is and it has been a great fit for me. Dev: The dev culture here is fantastic. A+ environment for any developer wanting to accelerate their development skills. They take quality very seriously and invest heavily in the developer process, from training, development tools, monitoring, infrastructure. I can't overstate how much my development and communication skills have shot up by working here. They have a great CI and CD pipeline. The deploy process here is one of the best I’ve seen. People are empowered and supported to deploy anytime themselves. This is makes it easy and fast for people to drive out customer value. For example, if I see a quality of life change I can make, or some bug that I know the solution to, I can make the fix for that, open a PR, get it reviewed, merged and shipped all within an hour. I am not only supported in doing that but the culture built here encourages and invests in that. That is value. Additionally, they've invested heavily in making it easy to test out your changes. One example is they have invested in infrastructure to allow any developer to create a production-like beta instance with their changes with a single button click that they can test their changes on before shipping to production. I've gotten to work a large variety of tasks and projects here, not only given to me but because I actively stretch myself and seek challenges out and they respond to that. People here care about best practices and try to follow it as much they realistically can. We don't accept spaghetti code here, or untested code. If we see something that doesn't fit our quality bar on a PR, we reject it and are willing to the take the time to make it better. People: The people are great. I really enjoy the people here and I look forward to coming to work. The people Clio hires are smart but also kind. They’re willing to work hard, collaborate and do so with very low ego. They also know how to have fun. Managers regularly have 1 on 1s with you to check in with you and see how you're doing. They care about feedback here and practice giving and receiving radical candor. Product: The product here is a web app targeted at making lawyers lives easier, from client intake to the management of their entire practice. This is a product that has real impact on people. The work we do here improves the lives of lawyers thereby allow them to better improve the lives of real people. That is a satisfying feeling and thought on its own. Couple that with the fact that Clio is the industry leader by a large mile; we have our own yearly conference that attracts speakers like Daniel Pink, Bryan Stevenson, Kelly McGonigal and Chris Hadfield. We’re growing rapidly and getting great people from companies such as Amazon and Shopify. And we recently got a $250 million USD investment from an investment firm that also backed Netflix. It results in a very exciting time to work here. Environment: The environment is great here. They believe in a learning mindset here and that is embodied from the top down. Instead of seeing setbacks, we see problems to solve and opportunities for learning. We’re not punished for our mistakes, but encouraged to learn from them. People here are rewarded for working hard. People who do good work are publically praised and honored. Promotions are given out for you if you are worthy of one and many people often are. It's not a place for slackers or people who just want it easy. You will be challenged here, but if you're the type that can handle and thrive in that, you will do well. There is a transparency to the leadership. They are open and approachable and vulnerable about their setbacks but also their successes. This makes me feel like I can approach any of them (and I can by booking a 1 on 1 with them). The offices are great and heavily invested into as well from standing desks, ergonomic chairs, snacks, strong communication technology and social events.

    Show More

    Cons

    Keep in mind that this is my singular perspective, but I honestly don’t have a single complaint. I probably come off like a shill with my praises, but this is how I feel. The salary is great, the Calgary office is beautifully furnished and has great amenities (goodlife-quality gym, pool table, lounge, free snacks and drinks). I get to work in a flexible environment where you’re measured based on what you produce and not that you sit in the chair for 9-5. The people are fantastic and driven to work hard and are low on ego. I get to work on a product that is not only impactful to people but also a trailblazer in a technologically lagging industry. A downside of being so engaged in work is that you sometimes overwork yourself and lose track of time. Sometimes the job calls for extra hours worked because it is needed. For the most part, they’re great with alleviating that with 4 week (20 days) of vacation, responsible sick time, and benefits. However, we do live in the real world. It's not all "Clio is Amazing" all the time. There is nuance to this, Sometimes they make mistakes with people and with projects. Sometimes bad code does go out and sometimes there are failures that cause customer pain. If you're not a high performer and can hustle, then you're not likely to last here. Not to say that they overwork you here but there has to be an element of "killing it" and "hustle" that you bring. If you're not performing up to par, they will have a conversation with you and try to work with you. But it has resulted in people being let go. Additionally, this is also my take from the dev side. Maybe other departments or people don't feel the same way. There is also growing pain as we are scale fast and hard and learn how to operate at a bigger size. But despite all this and the reason I give them the praise that I have is that they care. They care about the work they do, the people they have, and care enough to try to learn from their mistakes and do better.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on

    Clio2019-12-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company culture and values transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    How a company welcomes you can give you insight to how this long-term relationship will play out. Clio welcomed me with open arms and the interview process was one of the best that I’ve ever been through. When working with medium-sized companies, it’s not often that you get to have conversations with the executive team, but one of the values here, “no doors, only windows” is truly practiced day to day. Every leader values your opinion and they are so open to feedback.The compensation is fair and getting 4 weeks of vacation is definitely a major win! The work environment also makes this a great place to work, with dogs roaming around the office and access to snacks 24/7 is amazing.

    Show More

    Cons

    Having a clear goal and path for development is important for me, and my team didn’t really have an outline of success. This made it hard for me in the first few months to know whether I am doing things right or what gaps are there for me to fill

    Clio2019-12-06
  6. "You'll stay for the experience but leave because of the compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Burnaby, BC
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time

    Pros

    - Experience in a growth-stage organization

    Cons

    - Scale of the product is not what it may seem - Salary compensation is just average and disappointing - Equity amount is not enough to be considered an incentive - No bonus, no equity top-up

    Advice to Management

    The Vancouver talent market is getting a lot more competitive. To keep your best talent you'll need to learn to pay for it.

    Clio2019-12-23
  7. "Great place to work with Management that cares about you and your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Management cares about you and your career. - Constant one-ones to make sure you are always engaged and working towards your goals (whether that is advancing in your current role or exploring other opportunities). - Friendly and approachable senior management. All C-level and VP level staff are welcoming and even though they are at a higher position they treat you with respect, dignity and are open to feedback. You can start up a conversation with any of them including the CEO. - I've seen countless numbers of colleagues advance their careers here. It's a great launching pad for future work of which you can continue to be passionate about. - Great product that truly helps others in gaining access to attorneys and legal assistance. - We run a conference every year and this should be one of the main reason why anyone should work here. If you get hired, go to Clio Con. - Great perks too including free lunch, breakfast etc...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Sometimes the work can be a bit of grind - but that is the nature of being in a rapidly growing company. - Sometimes in certain departments you may feel like a bit of an outsider to the rest of the company - however, there are many opportunities for you to change this and engage with the rest of the company, it is simply up to you to take advantage of the times that you can. (i.e. using your lunch breaks or staying a bit later to engage with others outside of your department).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great culture. I've enjoyed by time here.

    Clio2019-12-07
  8. "Great opportunity for growth but the place is changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the smartest coworkers you'll ever meet. It was a joy to get to meet all of them. Company is transitioning towards industry leader status. They give you all the tools to succeed and want you to. Lot's of chances to learn more with workshops as well. Great place for learning. Free snacks and food.

    Cons

    They like you to believe that you can get promoted and move up quick but it's clear that this isn't as much of the case anymore -- people are likely to remain in the AR role longer now than before. They have a "culture" but everyone knows post-investment that the company is now behaving more like a corporation. The place has become very top-down and favoritism by management is all over the place. Salary is slightly below the industry standard.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Centralize the sales process more, there's very little prospecting standardization and this comes down to a failure of the sales management. Also, you shouldn't rely on reps to craft, write and validate the story or drive urgency -- these talking points instead should be scripted and passed from the sales leaders or sales enablement so that everyone is on the same page. Mentioning tips in meetings instead is frankly lazy, especially given the high amount of new recruits you're trying to squish in the office

    Show More
    Clio2019-12-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A great place for temporary growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clio full-time

    Pros

    • Clio has a really high bar for hiring/keeping people there. Due to that, you are constantly exposed to smart people that will make you push yourself to grow on your own. • The people are the best part of working there. There are a lot of fun and positive people there. • The X-team does an awesome job on company events and office perks (like the amazing workout classes).

    Cons

    • Although the company keeps preaching about work/life balance, you are expected to work far more than the average 9-5, the execs keep saying they never stop working (even after they leave the office), you often get contacted outside of work hours and only the people that work the most hours (including staying late every day and going to work every Saturday morning) get recognized. To make things worse, there was a wave of people that were fired/quit due to hitting burnout. If you're burnout, you're expected to take a vacation day instead of a PTO/Sick day. • You can very easily feel like a cog in the machine, especially if you're an individual contributor. It often seems like the highest managers are merely interested in the profits. • The location is horrible if you are planning to use public transit. There is a shuttle that takes you to the SkyTrain but it's never on time. Also, this is not a location where you can go for a coffee walk. Accept the fact that this is an isolated campus in the middle of nowhere. • A lot of departments don't have levels, so it's a battle to push for promotions and raises. The pay is below average for a tech company as successful as Clio is and they push you to talk directly with your manager, who often says you're getting paid above average, even when you come with concrete examples.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember people are human beings, not machines and tools that you can exploit until its limit and then proceed to replace it with a new one.

    Clio2019-12-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits, good people, hard work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Researcher in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a fairly positive culture where people push you to do better and be better. As long as you show up and work hard, it's a great place to be. They're great about people moving in between departments and finding ways for the people who work hard to get what they want out of their time at Clio.

    Cons

    Like most companies, the top level execs are not very diverse. They mentioned wanting to have more diversity within the exec team, but nothing has happened quite yet.

    Clio2019-12-03
Found 147 reviews
</>Embed