Clio Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Clio Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Clio CEO Jack Newton
Jack Newton
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "Few companies that offer a great culture also perform well(in 18 reviews)

  • "Genuine care about making a great place to work(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some growing pains in the transition from scrappy startup to industry leader(in 17 reviews)

  • "Office is in middle-of-nowhere Burnaby, which can be a pro for some commute-wise(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of the better places to work in Vancouver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time

    Pros

    - Get to work with some fantastic minds all striving for a common goal - Company culture values transparency, hard work, and inclusion - Ample opportunities to learn and advance your career

    Cons

    - Office is in middle-of-nowhere Burnaby, which can be a pro for some commute-wise

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and don't rest on your laurels! Continue to value your employees as they are your most valuable asset - especially as the company continues to scale.

    Clio2019-09-21
  2. "The Hard Thing About Hard Things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance Coach in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meaningful mission and interesting work Ambitious and driven to succeed Generous with resources for employees A fun, team oriented culture No limits to what you can learn about and participate in Low on bureaucracy and policies

    Cons

    Currently learning to operate as a larger organization. This comes with some pain and adaptation - which can feel hard and confusing at times - but that is true for most companies.

    Advice to Management

    Continue on this path of your own development and please keep challenging and supporting (and trusting) the rest of us to grow a head taller, with you!

    Clio2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Exciting environment, but not a sustainable workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We just got a huge round of funding, which will hopefully launch a new stage of growth and excellence for us. (Hopefully this will trickle down to improved compensation & less understaffing.) Lots of enthusiasm here. Great office with free lunch & snacks. A lot of people working incredibly hard to achieve what we're able to, despite the challenges & hiccups in culture & infrastructure that... we're seeing as we grow. Lots of talk & energy devoted to how we can succeed in our market. There's also some reassuring talk about how we're aiming to do better by our employees (in limiting burnout, and moving towards compensating & rewarding people fairly). We're not there yet in our attempts to balance achievement with humanity, but we're trying.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the pay is well below standard - especially in the CS department. In addition, we always seem to understaff. As a result, we have a hard time keeping good people - which exacerbates the problem and makes a job that can seem thankless even harder. (There's been a lot of talk about compensation lately, and we seem to be making an effort. But it's still too early to tell whether it's talk or substance....) As we scale, it's becoming increasingly difficult to stay in tune with company values. We do make efforts to maintain our values, but they're becoming increasingly secondary to financials & margins. (ie. everything is measured in revenue growth.) We're constantly stretched too thin in our day-to-day, under the crush from our exec teams, who constantly demand more effort, more time, more work from everyone on board.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There's so much potential here, but we need to deliver the conditions for our employees that will really allow them to crush their jobs and devour our market. It means spending money - but the return will be more than worth it. Want people to stop leaving? Comp is a real issue - more than we hear about in exit interviews & engagement surveys. Start paying market rates. (And barring that, at least be... honest & transparent on how we do pay.) Our hiring brand can help us attract people, but it won't keep them. When it comes to comp - there's nothing wrong with making promotions & merit increases dependent on demonstrating that you're providing increased value to the company. But it's critical to get the baseline right. (We need to be clear on what the baseline is/should be. And then we need to deliver it.) Culture was always one of our calling cards as an organization. We still do a reasonable job, but it's not what it was. I hope that it's not an inevitable result of our growth. We need to make sure that we're leading our functions by emphasizing teamwork, safety, and empathy.

    Show More
    Clio2019-09-13
  4. "Great opportunity, team, and culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll & Benefits in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    These people truly live the company's values Amazing Exec Team and leadership development opportunities Terrific culture Good compensation and review process Solid team, everyone works really hard and also takes time to socialize Great cross-team collaboration Fun company events Values diversity and inclusion

    Cons

    None that I've seen to date

    Advice to Management

    Great choice of Exec Team, keep it up!

    Clio2019-08-31
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Great culture but that's it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Burnaby, BC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Just like all the other reviews here on Glassdoor, Clio definitely has a great culture. They do TRY hard to make it a happy place for all the employees. Rest all the benefits are just like any other startup in town - free food, lunches, gifts etc etc etc.

    Cons

    1) A lot of it is just talk - Clio does a GREAT job at telling people how much they care, much more than they actually do. Most of the meetings feel like the 'feel good' speeches. They handle/solve the easier problems like food, holidays, regular 1:1s but have been ignoring the biggest issue that is compensation and career development. 2) Compensation is very basic and they try to cover it up by asking you to... talk to your manager about it, saying they are listening etc. I mean really, what more do you want anyone to tell their manager other than - I deserve a hike, if not then tell me why not ( all this considering you are performing well). And all managers are just trained to respond - lets talk about your goals! sigh! 3) While I really like the people and culture here and I do not want to leave but the compensation issue will eventually force me to look out. 4) Clio has reached a point where it needs to stop operating like a start up and get some real experienced people in the middle management ( read director level). The very startup'y' mind set that the inexperienced middle management has is not what Clio needs for its next 10 years of growth. 5) There is a lot of favouritism - some people get salary hikes but others don't - without looking at the performance and numbers or tenure. I know my male colleagues who are just at par me with who were represented in the recent hike cycle but I was left out. Why? How do you decide you get the hike - If you can convince your inexperienced manager that you REALLY NEED that money? 6) Too much pep talk about passion - I am sorry but what am I getting in return? Free salad? I would prefer a salary raise. Kudos and recognitions and public praise are NOT A REPLACEMENT for salary. 7) There are comments like - if people are not happy with the salary then why aren't they leaving? - Are we waiting for that? I am quite sure that is not what Clio stands for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While you guys are doing a great job at the pep talk, that won't be enough to retain smart/experienced people. Solution - focus on retention before it becomes an issue. Answer to everything cannot be 'talk to your manager'. There are a number of new, inexperienced managers. Solution - Open other channels. Get proactive about asking feedback about managers from their direct reports - in a safe environment.

    Clio2019-08-19
  6. "People-centric culture with a promising future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Designer in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow professionally with the company recently taking on funding with aspirations to expand and a culture that is rooted in helping people develop internally.

    Cons

    Difficult commute to the Burnaby office without a car, especially from Vancouver.

    Clio2019-09-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "The best culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Trainer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clio really puts an emphasis on having a great culture. From the wonderful office spaces, to the emphasis on the core values and mission, positivity radiates throughout all teams. Those who work hard and want to take on extra responsibly are rewarded and offered promotions. Everyone is empowered to take action to make processes better and drive better business results, no matter how low on the totem pole you may... sit. They even have a career coach on site for all employees!

    Show More

    Cons

    Salaries seem to be a bit low for a tech company.

    Clio2019-08-09
  8. "One of the best places I've ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, teammates, and interesting work.

    Cons

    A little hectic and maybe even disorganized at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on!

    Clio2019-08-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clio is that mystical workplace that you hear about, but don't believe really exists until you make the journey out to Burnaby. (I for one, was sure all these Glassdoor reviews were somehow written by the CEO himself). Exciting, varied work? Check. Managers that care? Check. Smart colleagues that challenge you to level up your game? Check. Approachable, empathic senior leadership? Check. Support for... diverse career growth opportunities? Check. Extensive programs to invest in their people? Check. I feel like Clio is the Vancouver tech scene's best kept secret (maybe because it's in Burnaby).

    Show More

    Cons

    It's in Burnaby. Obligatory 'pay us more' comment (it does feel like market rate, but hey, I'll take more!)

    Clio2019-06-11

    Clio Response

    July 4, 2019CEO & Founder

    Seems like Clio is ticking a lot of boxes for you, anonymous! We’re thrilled to hear it. Keep up the hustle—there’s more good stuff ahead!

  10. Helpful (18)

    "Not much different than other customer-focused orgs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are the best part of the job, no question. Best coworkers I've ever had and the dogs are pretty cute too. Great rewards for referring candidates, and a big bonus if they're hired and make it past probation. Hackathons are a ton of fun to participate in or just to watch. The people at Clio are incredibly imaginative in their problem-solving skills and the teamwork during these sprints is inspiring.... Extended health insurance that covers $2000 a year for counselling, which depending on your department, you'll need. Lots of other options for fitness classes and physio/massage/etc., but if you're on a customer facing team you won't be able to attend unless they're outside your working hours. Opportunities to travel to conferences including Clio's own yearly conference, which is a ton of fun and a great way to see the impact of your day-to-day on real people. Clio has a fresh-stocked salad and sandwich bar for lunch every day with hot catered lunch on Fridays, in addition to a substantial breakfast offering, so your grocery bills will be low. It truly feels like a great place to work some days, but other days the cons make the days absolutely dreadful.

    Show More

    Cons

    By far the biggest one is the recent switch to only 5 days PTO. All your sick days, your kids' sick days, appointments/life events, need to take up less than 5 days per year or else come out of your vacation bank. When asked why they chose 5, the answer was that was the average days taken by Clions in previous years, ignoring that there was a well-understood problem of underreporting these days in Bamboo prior to... the switch. If there is a plan to re-evaluate the number of PTO days offered in upcoming years, it has not been communicated to anyone who's voiced concerns to date. If you're customer facing, the Clio value #CustomerSuccessComesFirst drives everything you do. Staff have actually been told to think about customer needs before their own. Your schedule is barely flexible, and opportunities to work from home or even away from your desk are limited. I wish I could go to the fitness classes Clio everyday, but I have to choose between those and my lunch. There are no Cost of Living adjustments to salary after you start, which means your only option to increase your salary while at Clio is to leave for another company, or be a top performer on your team (this often requires working 10+ hour days on special projects and being available on Slack after-hours and during the weekends). Clio's entire approach to salary is highly secretive, despite the #NoDoorsOnlyWindows value on the wall, to the degree that you're not allowed to know when your compensation is even being evaluated (they say they review 3x a year, but in reality your individual salary is only reviewed once per year starting from the first anniversary date). If you're considering an offer with Clio, really think about whether you'll be happy with that same dollar amount in 2-3 years' time. As well, there is no subsidy for transit and parking is $100/month. In Burnaby, if you start work after 8, you can take a shuttle from Gilmore to the office, but that only covers a portion of the customer-facing workforce. In short, prepare for far fewer benefits than advertised depending on your role. Sales are incentivized to oversell the product, and it's common knowledge that reps will tell customers to purchase the Elite plan for the training and downgrade to Boutique after 60 days (which just happens to the be period that sales needs to retain their sale in order to keep the commission). The agents who make the most sales and get shout-outs at the All Hands are the same ones who send the worst clients to Customer Success for training/support. Management seems to be unable to fix this problem even though it has been raised by many people in the CS department including their leadership. It is incredibly discouraging to never be recognized for saving these terrible deals, and worse, to see that behaviour encouraged by the CEO.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember that Customer Success has a different Clio experience than everyone else at Clio, and that customer success is not just the support team. It is easy for someone outside of CS to think that making a difference is as easy as speaking up, but in that department there is a strict adherence to processes that don't mesh with the way that Clio claims to get things done. It is hard to know what you're allowed to do... in terms of starting/working on initiatives. Do some ridealongs with the CS team (both enablement and support, since there are enough people including execs who seem to think they're the same team) or even better, jump in and do a few tickets/appointments yourself. You'll be surprised how many times you hear the customer complain about how they were sold on the product, or how many times you have to use the phrase "I'll add that as a feature request."

    Show More
    Clio2019-05-14

    Clio Response

    July 4, 2019CEO & Founder

    This was a tough review to read. We want Clio to be a great place to work every day, not just every now and then. While I can’t respond to all of the points you make in your comment in this reply, we do hope that you’ll share your concerns in person with your leader, line executive or with me directly sometime soon. That said, I’d like to address the comment you made about our number one Clio value: Customer Success Comes First. This value speaks to the customer-centric approach we take when we develop, market, sell, and support our product. We endeavour to make data-driven decisions that will ultimately improve the lives and businesses of the customers we serve. We recognize that some teams have a set working schedule, due to the nature of the support they provide for our customers. For these teams, we have made adjustments to our programs and workplace offerings to ensure those team members can take advantage of as many of the benefits as possible; for example, we offer fitness/wellness classes as different times of the day, our free daily lunch program is available outside of the noon hour, and we are committed to being flexible with work from home and/or adjusted work hours when planned and communicated in advance. We aren’t perfect. The journey towards becoming truly customer-centric is one that we are committed to, and I believe we’re improving every day. I’m proud of the work the CS team is doing to help make Clio the choice of lawyers everywhere. Thank you for the work you do in helping us get there, and thank you again for your feedback.

    Show Less
Found 135 reviews
</>Embed