Clio Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Clio Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Clio CEO and Co-Founder   Jack Newton
Jack Newton
125 Ratings
Pros
  • "Clio really puts an emphasis on having a great culture(in 18 reviews)

  • "The work environment also makes this a great place to work, with dogs roaming around the office and access to snacks 24/7 is amazing(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "There's the typical growing pains with the company accelerating so quickly(in 18 reviews)

  • "Office is in middle-of-nowhere Burnaby, which can be a pro for some commute-wise(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to accelerate your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clio is authentic in its commitment to its values and focus on a developmental culture. It's not always comfortable, but the opportunities to stretch and grow are there though they require you to know what direction you'd like your career to head in, as well.

    Cons

    Scaling comes with growing pains, and the environment isn't for everyone. Not the best place if you're looking for a casual 9-5 or a stable environment as there is constant evolution and change.

    Clio2020-02-13
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers and environment. Clio invests many resources into the individual and I was able to learn so much as a sales professional

    Cons

    Under paid, Base could be higher

    Continue reading
    Clio2020-03-04
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Perks are not worth the toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Originally, Clio seemed like a great place to work. They have a good benefits package, office perks you’d expect of a young tech company, and a great employee experience team always thinking of new ways to make the office seem more fun. It’s an extremely fast paced environment that forces you to push yourself to your limits (this works for some and is very detrimental to others, but is expected of everyone). The office space is designed nicely and there’s lots of places to work other than your desk (if you’re not frowned upon for being away from your desk). I was able to make some great connections through Clio, meet some lovely people, learn some very hard lessons and get great at knowing what my limits are and establishing healthy boundaries that I need to do my best work.

    Cons

    After starting at Clio, within a few months I soon realized that the company culture I'd read about on Glassdoor was purely surface level. Yes, they have perks, good benefits and a great x-team that make the office environment fun, when you get a minute to enjoy it. But I was very disappointed to find that favouritism is rife within Clio. To be promoted, or even appreciated, employees need to fit into a particular mould. If you don’t fit into that mould, I wouldn’t expect to grow at Clio. The company values are mentioned often, but rarely seen in action. Work from home days are taken regularly for some, but not quite so acceptable for others. Some employees are free to work from different areas in the office, while others are told off for not working at their desks enough. There are exercise classes at lunch time but if you attend to too many, despite hitting all deadlines and producing great work, you’ll be spoken to. Overall, it’s extremely confusing and varies person to person. There is very little mention of mental health. Other than the fact that we have a budget for mental health services included in our benefits package and that burnout has been mentioned on a few occasions, I’d never heard mental health mentioned in a town hall, in diversity and inclusion meetings, by leadership, or in any other capacity. When sick days were reduced from an unlimited number to 5 days, the CEO didn't mention mental health and how they can play into sick days. He did, however, mention in front of the whole company that in the last 10 years he'd only taken 2 sick days and that he’d come into the office the day after having surgery. This is a clear demonstration of the kind of impossible expectations that the leaders at Clio have for the employees. The company is all about the hustle, with the promise of time to relax and reconnect, that never seems to come into fruition. The level of burnout and mental fatigue I've seen across the company, experienced within my own team, as well as personally myself, is huge. Certain departments at Clio are known to be struggling and generally unhappy, and as you walk through the office, that feeling is palpable. If something was being done about this behind the scenes, my department never saw any of that effort in the two years I was part of Clio. Leadership need education around this. Especially around how to create an environment where employees can feel comfortable approaching leadership with concerns. Learning experiences were limited in my experience, growth was next to impossible to imagine under the mismanagement myself and my team went through, compensation was unimpressive, and unfortunately, the negatives at Clio far outweigh the positives that I experienced.

    Continue reading
    Clio2020-01-30
  4. Helpful (4)

    "It is a startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Calgary, AB
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Snacks and food: Fully stocked kitchen with spread and bread breakfast and with all kinds of snacks. Free lunch on Friday. 2. Gym: The office building in Calgary has Gym. 3. Young people: Very interesting and fun people. 4. Pay: Pay is slightly above the average.

    Cons

    1. The office: Calgary office sucks. The desk is very small. It is open space and it feels like university library. 2. Lack of professionalism: Some people are extremely unprofessional. You can expect people mocking others with different political views. 3. Work-Life balance: No work life balance. Your work is your life and your life is your work. 4. Inflated titles: A person who barely can be a team lead is a director. Same applies to VPs, managers, senior developers, and staff developers. 5. Startup culture: At the end of the day, it is a startup. If you don’t like startup culture, then it is not for you. 6. Collaborative work: At Clio, there is no such thing as independent work. For every task you get, you end up working with somebody else. 7. Some managers are bullies: A manager at Clio will bully you to show that they have power. 8. Ruby on Rails: No developer wants to work on Ruby on Rails. I remember they started project in Ruby on Rails in 2019! The argument is: “everybody at Clio knows RoR”. 9. Feedback culture: Everybody constantly asks for feedback. One thing they don’t understand is feedback is very valuable and a person should feel comfortable and willing to give feedback. You wouldn’t give a feedback to a person you have known for a week. 10. No QA team: There is no QA team and as a developer you are expected to write end to end tests. 11. It doesn’t matter what level are you at, you are expected to act like manager. Manager will throw some of the responsibilities to you. They don’t care if you are interested in it or not, only thing they care is “growth”. 12. They encourage you to challenge your teammates/managers when you disagree with them, but at the end you will hear “No” and when you ask “why?” and they can’t provide reasonable argument. the answer will be “because I don’t like it”. 13. Benefits start after 3 months. 14. RRSP matching starts after 6 months.

    Continue reading
    Clio2020-02-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Positive Work Environment, but Not a Fulfilling Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment Strong teamwork Great perks and benefits Good vacation options

    Cons

    Not a 9-5 job - can get so busy that most days are spent working extra hours Getting a pay raise or promotion can take a lot of work If you are starting in a Support position, deciding what to do next is a challenge When most people are off in Canada, you are working. Vacations are mostly based on US holidays. High turnover

    Continue reading
    Clio2020-02-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Clio is a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive, Mid Market in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The fast-paced high growth environment of Clio offers an endless number of opportunities and challenges that I find very stimulating and rewarding. It also offers a wonderful culture of work-life balance and great benefits, plus a real purpose in the mission.

    Cons

    Since the company is growing so fast, there are frequent structural changes. I actually appreciate those changes, but navigating them does require resilience and they can be challenging.

    Continue reading
    Clio2020-01-10

    Clio Response

    January 21, 2020CEO & Founder

    Thank you for your feedback! You’ve certainly seen Clio evolve over the years, and we are tremendously glad to have you here with us still. Thank you, too, for your reminder for us to stay humble; we’re far from perfect and never want to rest on our laurels. Keep pushing us to be better!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work, great culture, fantastic people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in many places in the span of my career, and it is immediately apparent that Clio is a special place. The people are amazing, the work is interesting, and the company lives its values. Clio is a place where you'll work hard. There's no opportunity/time to coast, or fly by under the radar. This is a huge pro. It means that others are actively engaged with you, work happens quickly, and wins & results are always being delivered. You can feel the wind in your hair as a developer, and this is the greatest feeling ever! It also means there is ample opportunity to grow. I have seen so much personal/career growth and stretching in the last 6 months, and I don't see this stopping. What does it look like for a dev? Everyone can ship to production, up to 50 deploys a day, roughly 5-10 min build/test suites (30 min during rough periods), many automated checks & balances, and a culture that reflects & calls out how this can get better or improved. If you're a senior dev, you'll have no trouble committing to prod on your first day; junior or intermediate, it might take a few days. So many things have to go right for this to happen. What does it look like for a dev manager? There's a lot going on. You're empowered to run and manage your team the way you want. You're given lots of latitude and freedom, as well as opportunity to grow. See something that's broken? Draw the owl and fix it. The talent team provides amazing resources from the in house talent coach, to the basecamp leadership training, and more. I always feel supported when things are going well or not. And there is just so much going on! There is always a group you can join and lend your talent to. There's no shortage of opportunity for those that want to jump in. And there's also ClioCon! What an amazing event. 2 days of talking to customers directly, it takes a lot of work to get there, but well worth the effort.

    Cons

    My cons are things I'd expect to see from a company in high growth mode like Clio, or things I've seen others struggle with. * Be prepared to be real, give direct constructive feedback, and to receive it as well. This is very jarring at first. Overtime it becomes liberating. It eliminates posturing, second guessing, and other terrible behaviours. You will know where you're at. * Circumstances change quickly. This can mean the thing that was important last week isn't this week. That's okay, but if you have trouble pivoting like that it can be frustrating. * Don't work against the company's framework and way of operating. Those that try to swim upstream against the flow of the company will have a hard time. Understand what the company is, where it's going, what it wants, and be prepared to follow that stream. Again this is okay, it means you're actually accomplishing things because everyone is aligned and driving to a common goal! * Benefits could always be better. Having to cover 20% of paramedical isn't ideal.

    Continue reading
    Clio2019-12-25

    Clio Response

    January 21, 2020CEO & Founder

    Thanks for your feedback! It’s always great to read first-hand accounts of what it’s like to be a developer or a people leader at Clio on Glassdoor. Thank you for the reminder to focus more on wins; it’s something the exec team is committed to working on actively in 2020 and beyond! Also: have you checked out the gold-level benefits package? You can eliminate the co-pay for paramedical expenses if you upgrade to that tier. Food for thought!

    Continue reading
  8. "Serve a meaningful industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Development in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Unbounded career growth, opportunities abound - Meaningful industry, not selling stuff or showing ads - You can make a stack overflow joke with the CEO - Learn and implement growth/saas/scaling patterns - Not dogmatic on decision making, process or technology - Easy to go back and forth between IC roles and management roles - Human AND high performing - Diverse teams - Heavily invests in its people at all levels

    Cons

    A vast majority of cons fall into the category of the good kinds of problems to have for any company: - company processes are not always keeping up with the hyper growth - a decent amount of VUCA - offices can get tight before a new office opens - people having to sept outside their immediate role to help - having to focus among all the opportunities Looking at my personal experience across multiple companies at various stages of growth, in my opinion Clio is doing a fantastic job to address these and I'm definitely enjoying the rocket ship.

    Continue reading
    Clio2019-12-12

    Clio Response

    January 21, 2020CEO & Founder

    Thank you for your feedback! It has been absolutely phenomenal to watch the Calgary office grow and evolve over the last few years. Keep up the great work with the team there. Onwards and upwards!!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "I'll remember my time here for the rest of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I believe in a growth mindset. Instead of seeing my failures as setbacks, I see them as opportunities to learn. I value working hard, working smart and being empowered to make great changes. This is the type of company that Clio is and it has been a great fit for me. Dev: The dev culture here is fantastic. A+ environment for any developer wanting to accelerate their development skills. They take quality very seriously and invest heavily in the developer process, from training, development tools, monitoring, infrastructure. I can't overstate how much my development and communication skills have shot up by working here. They have a great CI and CD pipeline. The deploy process here is one of the best I’ve seen. People are empowered and supported to deploy anytime themselves. This is makes it easy and fast for people to drive out customer value. For example, if I see a quality of life change I can make, or some bug that I know the solution to, I can make the fix for that, open a PR, get it reviewed, merged and shipped all within an hour. I am not only supported in doing that but the culture built here encourages and invests in that. That is value. Additionally, they've invested heavily in making it easy to test out your changes. One example is they have invested in infrastructure to allow any developer to create a production-like beta instance with their changes with a single button click that they can test their changes on before shipping to production. I've gotten to work a large variety of tasks and projects here, not only given to me but because I actively stretch myself and seek challenges out and they respond to that. People here care about best practices and try to follow it as much they realistically can. We don't accept spaghetti code here, or untested code. If we see something that doesn't fit our quality bar on a PR, we reject it and are willing to the take the time to make it better. People: The people are great. I really enjoy the people here and I look forward to coming to work. The people Clio hires are smart but also kind. They’re willing to work hard, collaborate and do so with very low ego. They also know how to have fun. Managers regularly have 1 on 1s with you to check in with you and see how you're doing. They care about feedback here and practice giving and receiving radical candor. Product: The product here is a web app targeted at making lawyers lives easier, from client intake to the management of their entire practice. This is a product that has real impact on people. The work we do here improves the lives of lawyers thereby allow them to better improve the lives of real people. That is a satisfying feeling and thought on its own. Couple that with the fact that Clio is the industry leader by a large mile; we have our own yearly conference that attracts speakers like Daniel Pink, Bryan Stevenson, Kelly McGonigal and Chris Hadfield. We’re growing rapidly and getting great people from companies such as Amazon and Shopify. And we recently got a $250 million USD investment from an investment firm that also backed Netflix. It results in a very exciting time to work here. Environment: The environment is great here. They believe in a learning mindset here and that is embodied from the top down. Instead of seeing setbacks, we see problems to solve and opportunities for learning. We’re not punished for our mistakes, but encouraged to learn from them. People here are rewarded for working hard. People who do good work are publically praised and honored. Promotions are given out for you if you are worthy of one and many people often are. It's not a place for slackers or people who just want it easy. You will be challenged here, but if you're the type that can handle and thrive in that, you will do well. There is a transparency to the leadership. They are open and approachable and vulnerable about their setbacks but also their successes. This makes me feel like I can approach any of them (and I can by booking a 1 on 1 with them). The offices are great and heavily invested into as well from standing desks, ergonomic chairs, snacks, strong communication technology and social events.

    Cons

    Keep in mind that this is my singular perspective, but I honestly don’t have a single complaint. I probably come off like a shill with my praises, but this is how I feel. The salary is great, the Calgary office is beautifully furnished and has great amenities (goodlife-quality gym, pool table, lounge, free snacks and drinks). I get to work in a flexible environment where you’re measured based on what you produce and not that you sit in the chair for 9-5. The people are fantastic and driven to work hard and are low on ego. I get to work on a product that is not only impactful to people but also a trailblazer in a technologically lagging industry. A downside of being so engaged in work is that you sometimes overwork yourself and lose track of time. Sometimes the job calls for extra hours worked because it is needed. For the most part, they’re great with alleviating that with 4 week (20 days) of vacation, responsible sick time, and benefits. However, we do live in the real world. It's not all "Clio is Amazing" all the time. There is nuance to this, Sometimes they make mistakes with people and with projects. Sometimes bad code does go out and sometimes there are failures that cause customer pain. If you're not a high performer and can hustle, then you're not likely to last here. Not to say that they overwork you here but there has to be an element of "killing it" and "hustle" that you bring. If you're not performing up to par, they will have a conversation with you and try to work with you. But it has resulted in people being let go. Additionally, this is also my take from the dev side. Maybe other departments or people don't feel the same way. There is also growing pain as we are scale fast and hard and learn how to operate at a bigger size. But despite all this and the reason I give them the praise that I have is that they care. They care about the work they do, the people they have, and care enough to try to learn from their mistakes and do better.

    Continue reading
    Clio2019-12-06

    Clio Response

    January 21, 2020CEO & Founder

    Wow. Thank you for taking the time to offer up such thoughtful, detailed feedback! I am beyond thrilled to hear that your experience at Clio has been positive so far. If there is ever anything I or we could do differently to improve your experience even further, please do not hesitate to reach out.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company culture and values transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    How a company welcomes you can give you insight to how this long-term relationship will play out. Clio welcomed me with open arms and the interview process was one of the best that I’ve ever been through. When working with medium-sized companies, it’s not often that you get to have conversations with the executive team, but one of the values here, “no doors, only windows” is truly practiced day to day. Every leader values your opinion and they are so open to feedback.The compensation is fair and getting 4 weeks of vacation is definitely a major win! The work environment also makes this a great place to work, with dogs roaming around the office and access to snacks 24/7 is amazing.

    Cons

    Having a clear goal and path for development is important for me, and my team didn’t really have an outline of success. This made it hard for me in the first few months to know whether I am doing things right or what gaps are there for me to fill

    Clio2019-12-06

    Clio Response

    January 21, 2020CEO & Founder

    Thanks for your feedback, and welcome to the team!! We’re glad to hear that you’ve had a warm welcome and are finding your feet in your new role. You’re right to point out that we don’t necessarily have a blueprint for what success looks like in every role, but understand that your development path is something that's unique to you and that can be co-developed with your manager. We want managers and their teammates to co-define what success looks like, and to engage in dialogue to chart a developmental path that works for both individuals. Hopefully over time that will become something you love about working at Clio. Also keep in mind you can always reach out to your People Business Partner and they can help facilitate a more deliberate individual development planning process with you and your leader.

    Continue reading
Found 153 reviews
</>Embed