Chipotle Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Chipotle Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Chipotle CEO Brian Niccol (no image)
Brian Niccol
593 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food 50% off days not working(in 1126 reviews)

  • "Free meal when working and half off when not(in 611 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours so difficult to manage lifestyles(in 205 reviews)

  • "If you're not good at working in a fast paced environment this job will be hard(in 203 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice and energetic place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier and Crew Member in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I improved my time managements skills, definitely is a place to learn how to work as a team, be ready to learn new skills about kitchen and customer service, being fast and smart is a must.

    Cons

    The line-ups can be a little be too much, but if the crew staff is on the same page and with the support of the management things can be done. Prepare yourself to clean the whole store in one hour.

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest to hire people with soft skills, people ready to work as a team and don't be afraid to show responsibility at work, the nature of this job is relying in the people as a whole crew, every single staff member adds up to creat a pleasant please to work, specially when is busy.

    Chipotle2019-01-14
  2. "pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member 
    Recommends

    I worked at Chipotle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun crew members , free limited food

    Cons

    long late hours, busy all the time

    Chipotle2019-11-26
  3. "Strong Team Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Chipotle

    Pros

    You get to try lots of food, you get paid breaks and you learn a lot of cooking techniques. A very good job for anyone who works well in a fast team oriented environment

    Cons

    Can be a lot of drama, management has a tendency to choose favourites, disgruntled customers over consistent portion sizes

    Advice to Management

    Understand peoples strengths and weaknesses

    Chipotle2019-11-09
  4. "Apprentice General Manager to store. Take care of operational work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Chipotle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food Great benefits Good pay Growth opportunities

    Cons

    Micromanaging Bureaucracy Longer work hours Compliance issues

    Chipotle2019-10-16
  5. "Draining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid breaks, awesome coworkers, pretty decent pay for students, free meals and drinks

    Cons

    Tiring work, rude management, forced to take breaks, lack of training

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your workers because they are what keeps your store running. Understand that we have lives out of work.

    Chipotle2019-10-22
  6. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, free uniform, good location

    Cons

    Long hours, can be hard work (unless you’re just a cashier)

    Advice to Management

    don’t hire unprofessional managers

    Chipotle2019-10-07
  7. "Fun, but demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great coworkers, qualitative training & good hours

    Cons

    physically demanding, you will get very dry hands and cuts during your shifts and (Ladies) no nails- they need to be cut short and non polished

    Chipotle2019-09-12
  8. "Aswm place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Chipotle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team Helpful managers Good benefits for employees who are studying

    Cons

    Basic pay Not much work/ life balance

    Chipotle2019-08-22
  9. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chipotle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Reimbursement program for students is a must

    Cons

    Not a lot of hour if you’re full time Can be demanding depending on location

    Chipotle2019-08-19
  10. "Great benefits, pay, and company, but not worth damaging my body for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chipotle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was great, free chipotle was always a plus, the hours were consistent, paid sick days even if you were only part time, and everyone was always nice there

    Cons

    SEVERELY PHYSICALLY DEMANDING. Chopping up veggies 8 hours a day while trying to keep up with the pace of each of my deadlines gave me carpal tunnel for a year and half. I couldn't grip on anything anymore with my right hand. I would wake up everyday with swollen fingers, they couldn't move properly and instead the bones would just click. By the end, the doctor demanded I quit before it got even worse.

    Advice to Management

    Put two people for positions that are physically demanding to lessen the physical pressure. Yes its impressive to see one person keeping up to speed but over time, you're going to have the deal with the consequences with the fact that you partly contributed to the damages on their body.

    Chipotle2019-09-01
Found 6001 reviews