Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
74%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Chartwell Retirement Residences President and CEO W. Brent Binions (no image)
W. Brent Binions
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefit package/ lots of room for staff at the residences(in 8 reviews)

  • "Chartwell is a big professional company with good benefits and nice colleagues at the head office(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay for a lot more work than you should have to do in a Retirement home(in 5 reviews)

  • "Unhealthy food, terrible management, no room for advancement, no respect for family life(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Young Company in an Exploding Industry With Major Growth & Development Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Mission, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Canada's largest (and homegrown) retirement operator. Major latitude to grow and develop a long term career for people who are keen to learn and work hard. Locations all across BC, AB, ON and PQ, in a wide range of skill-sets, from entry level to exec. I have been fortunate to have started at the mid-manager level, was selected to train as a leader with internal development and mentorship programs, and was promoted into upper management, and have worked at multiple sites.

    Show More

    Cons

    Corporate level opportunities are primarily situated at head office in Ontario, with a limited number in the West.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-01-16
  2. "Unfair wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Services Manager in Vaughan, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with seniors is rewarding. Always leaving feeling like you made a difference

    Cons

    Salary does not match scope at all. Nursing seems to be too priority. ESM do not feel supported

    Advice to Management

    Scope of role and salary do not match. ESM do quite a bit of work and manage large budgets. Role should be valued.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-01-08
  3. "Chartwell Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker 

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time

    Pros

    Good after school time, short 4 hour shift, good food

    Cons

    Slightly Disorganized management, not best for full time opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Ensure staff is up to date to current events

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-12-23
  4. "Warm and inviting workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Coordinator Bilingual in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, great manager, flexible work hours and great for helping with balancing work/life. Great environment. Feels like I became the newest member of their family from day 1.

    Cons

    Can’t think of any at the moment

    Advice to Management

    None. Management is very approachable.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-12-11
  5. "Great place to work and great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Bus Driver in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoy the staff and residences and the hours I work are just perfect.

    Cons

    I have worked at Chartwell almost 2 years and have found no Cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and I will be happy

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-12-06
  6. "Working at Chartwell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoy serving the residents and making them happy and feel safe

    Cons

    I am not paid enough to live and need a second job

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build relationships with employees

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-12-06
  7. "Recommended to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The management is beyond my expectations, co-workers are great to work with.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any down side of the company, I really like working here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-12-05
  8. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lifestyle Assistant 

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time

    Pros

    Good families, friendly front line staff

    Cons

    Issues with the manager at location

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-12-01
  9. "Continuing care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Specialist 
    Recommends

    I worked at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All of the Residents and the families

    Cons

    Travel in winter is not the greatest.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on trucking

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-11-10
  10. "Psw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff are great to work with friendly out going

    Cons

    Always seem to work short. Doc is not very nice

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better and needs better benefits

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-10-26
Found 158 reviews