Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Chartwell Retirement Residences CEO W. Brent Binions (no image)
W. Brent Binions
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefit package/ lots of room for staff at the residences(in 7 reviews)

  • "Chartwell is a big professional company with good benefits and nice colleagues at the head office(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Employees get horrible raises, bad benefits and are expected to pull a work load much to heavy for the low pay(in 5 reviews)

  • "Unhealthy food, terrible management, no room for advancement, no respect for family life(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoying talking to seniors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are very goods people

    Cons

    Some are not understable .

    Advice to Management

    To improved on all what they are doing. Thanks

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-07-31
  2. "Great organization, takes care of Seniors and provides exceptional services in Making People's Life Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great management team - Systems and Technology is evolving here and tremendous growth opportunities - On-site gym - Cloud technologies

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think off

    Advice to Management

    - Keep up the great work !!!

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-10-14
  3. "Best first job, but nothing permanent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Food Server 

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time

    Pros

    - Good connection with the residents - Good practice experience for speaking and relationship building - Plenty of teamwork opportunities

    Cons

    - Team culture can be toxic sometimes - A disconnect between management - Work sometimes too much for the pay

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-10-16
  4. "Sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great corporate values and the company is growing so there is lots of opportunities

    Cons

    GM was jealous and not a good leader

    Advice to Management

    Don’t micromanage

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-09-28
  5. "not what it appears"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 

    I worked at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    helping families and individuals during times of crisis

    Cons

    disrespect from fellow department managers - lacking a 'sales culture' - lazy coworkers...after working long hours and record move-ins a 2% annual increase doesn't cut it.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-10-08
  6. "Friendly enviornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Attendant in Thornhill, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff and residents are extremely friendly

    Cons

    There is a heavy workload

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what the front line workers are sharing with you, and allow your employees to grow!!

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-09-08
  7. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Taxation 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People focused culture. Serving Seniors throughout Canada. Growth industry

    Cons

    Traditional working styles. Less flexibility

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-08-23
  8. "Chartwell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There for the employees Opportunity of growth

    Cons

    Listen to what the residents need to say , they are living here

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-07-31
  9. "Professionally managed providing a high level of job satisfaction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A work environment that allows employees to make a positive difference in the lives of seniors in our community.

    Cons

    I can not think of any "cons".

    Advice to Management

    None

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-07-12
  10. "Very supportive from both Management & Residents. I enjoy coming to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to make a difference in the lives of the Chartwell residents each and every day.

    Cons

    Benefits could be improved a bit.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-07-11
Found 146 reviews