Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Chartwell Retirement Residences President and CEO W. Brent Binions (no image)
W. Brent Binions
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefit package/ lots of room for staff at the residences(in 8 reviews)

  • "A work environment that allows employees to make a positive difference in the lives of seniors in our community(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Wish there was a head office headquarters in Western Canada(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low pay for a lot more work than you should have to do in a Retirement home(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Cambridge, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    awesome, very positive work environment

    Cons

    limited opportunities in the company

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-02-11
  2. "Fantastic Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lifestyle Program Manager in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have absolutely love working for Chartwell! It has been such an incredible journey and I truly love coming to work everyday. The residents are lovely, the support you receive is fantastic and there are endless opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Wish there was a head office headquarters in Western Canada

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-02-21
  3. "Energetic and fast learner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PSw 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and Good pay

    Cons

    Toxic environment and loud atmosphere

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-02-15
  4. "Both Good and Difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Senior Management is extraordinary - they have a vision that is about service and do their best to offer the tools needed to complete the job.

    Cons

    Local management is often self-absorbed and self-servicing without the sense of service that the senior leadership promotes.

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-02-06

    Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

    February 11, 2020Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and rating. We appreciate your honest feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. "Love what I do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Every day is different, keeps it interesting Interacting with residents & staff Chartwell is always looking forward & making changes for the better.

    Cons

    Salary could be higher

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-02-05

    Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

    February 11, 2020Communications Coordinator

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and rating. At Chartwell, we use all reviews as a way to listen, learn and improve wherever possible, and it's great feedback like this that helps us do that. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  6. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dietary Aide in Guelph, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The residents are very sweet, makes the job worth while

    Cons

    Not enough time to do your duties

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-02-08

    Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

    February 11, 2020Communications Coordinator

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. At Chartwell, we use all feedback as a way to listen, learn and improve wherever possible, and reviews like yours help us do that.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health & Wellness Manager in Mission, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very rewarding job. Incredible staff, all around team players. Everyone is so focused on the resident's happiness, safety and comfort. So happy to be a part of such an amazing team. Management is present and proactive. The company believes in a work life balance for it's employees, that of which I have for the 1st time in my life. I'm very happy... very very happy! Highly recommend working here.

    Cons

    Would really appreciate computer documenting, but I understand some positive changes are coming our way. Other than that, this is probably the best job I have ever had.

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-01-23

    Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

    February 11, 2020Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for this great feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. "Young Company in an Exploding Industry With Major Growth & Development Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Mission, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Canada's largest (and homegrown) retirement operator. Major latitude to grow and develop a long term career for people who are keen to learn and work hard. Locations all across BC, AB, ON and PQ, in a wide range of skill-sets, from entry level to exec. I have been fortunate to have started at the mid-manager level, was selected to train as a leader with internal development and mentorship programs, and was promoted into upper management, and have worked at multiple sites.

    Cons

    Corporate level opportunities are primarily situated at head office in Ontario, with a limited number in the West.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-01-16

    Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

    February 11, 2020Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great feedback. We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

    Continue reading
  9. "The pay sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PSw in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - friendly staff - amazing residents - relaxed work environment - great management

    Cons

    The pay sucks and it’s a heavy work load

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-02-01

    Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

    February 11, 2020Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for the feedback. At Chartwell, we use all reviews as a way to listen, learn and improve wherever possible, and it's feedback like this that helps us do that.

    Continue reading
  10. "Not that Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interacting with the residents. Lots of potlucks. Helpful staff members.

    Cons

    Poor management. Low wage. Inconsistent hours and days to work. No room to grow.

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Retirement Residences2020-01-25

    Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

    February 11, 2020Communications Coordinator

    Though these are not typical of the comments we normally receive, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and feedback with us.

    Continue reading
Found 168 reviews