Cayenta Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cayenta Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Cayenta Chief Executive Officer Jeff Bender (no image)
Jeff Bender
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cayenta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked here as a Business Analyst with the BI Team for two and a half years and can honestly say I have had nothing but good times, great laughs and incredible opportunities being a part of challenging and engaging implementation projects. The people at Cayenta are amazing and knowledgeable in their respective fields and are exceptionally understanding of the work/life balance. The vast majority of the projects are located in the US so you do have a great opportunity to travel, accumulate air miles and hotel points and to experience a very different type of work week. I cannot emphasize enough that the people are what really makes Cayenta a very special place. Managers will always be supportive of their staff if there are any project setbacks. I have had experiences with employers adopting a ‘who did it’ attitude in times of issue resolution, which could not be further from the Cayenta mentality. My one piece of advice to anyone joining the team would be to pinpoint the Old-School-Cool people who know the application really well as soon as you can. The amount that they know is unprecedented. Also they are a really great bunch and a lot of fun to have a beer with! Thank you Cayenta!

    Cons

    Some documentation is outdated but they are working on updates

    Continue reading
    Cayenta2018-10-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Onsite roles require independence and suit independent people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cayenta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. The Appcon job is a good job for younger people to gain a lot of experience quickly. There’s a lot to learn and some pretty smart people at the company. Appcons are in a position to learn quite a bit about technical stuff, some software development, software testing\training\implementation, projects, client management skills, etc. 2. Unlike some other places, you're unlikely to get executed for making a mistake, so again, it's a good environment for learning.

    Cons

    1. Some third party consultants are horrible. They think their job is to point out flaws in your work. 2. If you are on a rotten project, it can be a pretty long haul. 3. The biggest cause of turnover and complaints is that Cayenta has often hired recent business grads for roles that require a lot of travel. The recent grads often don’t really understand the work they’re signing up for, they're eager and would agree to anything that was close to what they studied in university, but they eventually get bored and leave. 4. Some of the products are aging. CU > CSS > WMS > FMS > HR. 5. Project timelines and financial targets can be unforgiving, so sometimes you have to work pretty hard.

    Cayenta2019-09-24
  3. "App Con"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cayenta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friday free breakfast. Annual bonus.

    Cons

    Total chaos. Upper management is clueless how to keep clients and employees. Constant shake up and reorg. Little to no new sales. Many installs.

    Continue reading
    Cayenta2019-10-10
  4. "Not a company for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cayenta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Nice people - Nice office (Re-furbished)

    Cons

    - Politics, unorganized and archaic

    Cayenta2019-07-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I Love Cayenta, and..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cayenta full-time

    Pros

    Pros: -Amazing People! -Great flexibility in terms of working hours and work/life balance (some teams are better than others) -Pets are allowed in the office -Flexibility in dress code -Social events like -- monthly birthday cake lunches, BBQs, etc, beach cleanups. It's happening less and less since some key people left in the social committee however. -If you are resourceful and persistent, you will find all the answers you need. Hunting down the right resource can be really fun -- people are friendly -Culture is that it's common for people drop what their doing to help someone else -Friday breakfasts

    Cons

    -On-boarding could be better. There was effort in improving it but the key person left recently -Documentation is outdated (if you can find it) -The cross-team communication/collaboration could be improved. -The company doesn't pause to recognize people's hard work and efforts -There are too many changes all at once. Just in the past year, Cayenta has split into two business units, lost a veteran senior Office Administrator/Everything, changed the office layout and relocated people's desks, moved a handful of Key Senior People/Managers to other business units -High turnover rate. It's becoming sadder and sadder to work at Cayenta due the loss of many colleagues

    Continue reading
    Cayenta2019-02-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Things need to change big time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cayenta full-time

    Pros

    People are very friendly and great to work with Great work/life balance There is a lot of flexibility in terms of working hours and working remotely Travel - Great opportunities to travel depending on your role the Friday breakfast is okay Great opportunity for young professionals to gain industry experience Excellent workplace diversity. Cons outway the pros!

    Cons

    Swim or sink! The location is not ideal Being sent to client sites with minimal training and no experience is the norm There is a huge culture of management lying to employees - just tell you what you want to hear Higher management are out dated and disconnected from employees There is a MASSIVE turnover, Cayenta fails to retain staff and its is absolutely mind boggling how they are not doing anything to rectify this. Salary is too low and employees take move on to roles where they pay a decent wage Limited career opportunities Outdated software Documentation is out dated. Knowledge is in individuals head who are either too busy to divulge or have left for new opportunities

    Continue reading
    Cayenta2019-01-17

    Cayenta Response

    January 24, 2019Talent and Development

    Thank-you for your feedback glad you enjoyed the friendly culture and work life balance we work to provide our employees. To address some of your concerns: 1) TRAINING: We realize how much information our team members need to learn in order become fluent in our product to a level where we can provide great service to our clients. We have started rolling out new methods and tools to help our team members feel ready to be face to face with our customers, however, the growth that takes place when on-site with customers is also vitally important. We have also added a training manager position within the last year to improve our team members onboarding experience. 2) LOCATION: In order to improve the commute for those that take transit we are working to have a shuttle bus service set-up from the SkyTrain to our office starting next month. For those that drive we have ample parking free of charge. 3) TRANSPARENCY: We are surprised to hear you feel it is a culture of lying as management strives to build a culture of transparency and has been given as a reason many appreciate working here on our latest employee survey. Thank-you

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Poor compensation and micro-management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cayenta full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are nice and the benefit is average, nothing stands out.

    Cons

    No work life balance. If you have kids, you are screwed. Horrible micro-management and low pay. Stay away.

    Cayenta2018-12-18

    Cayenta Response

    December 28, 2018Talent and Development

    Sorry to hear about your experience. With medical and dental on day 1, 3 weeks holidays, RRSP matching program, lifestyle benefits and more we are surprised to hear you feel the benefits is average. From our benefits research we pride ourselves on being ranked with the top offerings. There are tight timelines sometimes extra hours need to be put in, however, we work to balance this out at slower times. As for managers we are continuing to add to our manager training to help them be the best that they can be. Thank-you for your contributions over the years and wishing you all the best on your next career chapter.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "BEST COMPANY EVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cayenta full-time

    Pros

    I don't know what these other reviews are talking about! Cayenta is one of the most cutting edge technology companies around Vancouver's silicone valley. Great leadership team, who are non political and are open to your feedback (you just have to go into their offices). Starting salary is also very good at the low 70s mark for new App Cons. Travel - fun and exciting! You get the opportunity to explore the world! Culture is very much like a technology start up! Processes are being shaped everyday! Product is evolving, the leadership team is just making sure our expansive roadmap is followed by focusing the JIRAs. No politics type of environment. Open office is a good send.

    Cons

    Very large business to learn quickly.

    Cayenta2018-09-15

    Cayenta Response

    October 1, 2018Talent and Development

    Thank-you for your testimonial and sharing the great experience you are having with the company and product we provide to our clients. An individual's compensation package is determined based on level of education, knowledge, skill, and experience needed to perform each job. You starting salary is a reflection of this, glad you feel it is very good. Great to have you as part of the team and looking forward to have you continue to grow with us.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Experience is okay, but don't stay for too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cayenta full-time

    Pros

    RRSP matching is nice, annual bonus is okay, ability to work from home is nice, the annual fly-back week (company-wide training) is nice, and the Friday breakfast is okay. Think of it like McDonalds...the experience may be good on your resume, though you won't want to work here for too long.

    Cons

    - Low pay, even after taking the bonus and RRSP matching into account. - Other benefits are costly (some employees have bought their own packages rather than go through the company policy). At least one employee was required to take a lower wage in order to work remotely. - Managers seem disconnected from higher levels of management resulting in conflicting directives for non-management employees. - There is no such thing as work-life balance. - There is a culture of lying. Management just tells you whatever they think you want to hear. - Process takes precedence over employees (or even over customers) - Quality of the product they sell is sub-par - Being sent with no experience and limited training to difficult customers is the norm - When you're given a raise it's 1 to 2% tops, and that's for top performing employees - HR works for management, not employees - Initiative is punished - High employee turnover (for a reason) - Management is out-of-date, following practices that were cutting edge a decade ago.

    Cayenta2018-01-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cayenta full-time

    Pros

    Interesting product with great potential. Great work/life balance when you are not traveling. Cayenta has done a great job hiring smart and friendly people. Work from home benefits compensate for long hours traveling and working on client site. Excellent workplace diversity.

    Cons

    Compensation and annual raise is below industry average. Lack of growth opportunities and employee recognition. High turnover (0-3 years) due to better compensation and employee development elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Cayenta2017-11-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 25 reviews