Cover image for CN
Logo
See All Photos

CN

Engaged Employer

CN

Add a Review

CN Reviews

Updated Dec. 5, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,095 of over 1K reviews
3.3
56% Recommend to a Friend
CN CEO Tracy Robinson
58% Approve of CEO

Found 1,050 of over 1K reviews

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
CN CEO Tracy Robinson
Tracy Robinson
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay and benefits for the job performed(in 59 reviews)

  • "Good Pay: company discounts for cellphone plans 35% off(in 109 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Overworked/underpaid no work life balance(in 59 reviews)

  • "Difficult to manage hours especially at first, on call 24/7(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about CN

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of CN and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      excellent

      Dec. 2, 2022 - Track Foreman 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      too many to share here

      Cons

      distance from home to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Heavy Duty Mechanic

      Nov. 27, 2022 - Heavy Duty Mechanic in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays well and full benefit.

      Cons

      Some jobs require working afternoons or nights

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great pay and benefits. When we recruit talent to our teams, we spend a lot of time going over the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for helping move our business and the economy forward. Please share your thoughts during our regular Pulse surveys.

    3. Join the CN team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Life at the other railroad...

      Nov. 22, 2022 - Manager, Labour Relations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, Respect, Travel, Share Purchase Match, Signing Bonus, Office.

      Cons

      Away from home, Travel (excessive), Excessive expectations (Workload), No support, No vacations/breaks uninterrupted, Competitive interdepartmental relationships.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great pay and benefits. When we recruit talent to our teams, we spend a lot of time going over the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. We strive hard to create a work environment where all employees have an opportunity to develop and grow their career. CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for having helping move our business and the economy forward.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      na

      Nov. 20, 2022 - Business Analyst Senior Professional 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company railway to work

      Cons

      not too much opportunity to grow

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work. We strive hard to create a work environment where all employees have an opportunity to develop and grow their career. CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for having helped move our business and the economy forward.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good

      Nov. 21, 2022 - Train Conductor in Grande Cache, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - good pay - good benefits - pension -stock purchase plan

      Cons

      - not the best locations

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great pay. CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for helping move our business and the economy forward.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great teams, terrible senior leadership

      Dec. 5, 2022 - Procurement Manager in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work with amazing, smart people within your own department. Working for a company that plays a major role in the economy

      Cons

      Senior Leadership main priority is not people. They care about their personal profits and those of their shareholders. People are treated as numbers and everyone is replaceable. Long hours- most work weeks are 50hours at a minimum

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work - for undergraduates - high salary

      Nov. 18, 2022 - Account Representative in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great Salary -Is hybrid for now

      Cons

      -Culture -Don't really listen to employees' comments -Top Management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great pay, and strive hard to create a work environment where all employees have an opportunity to develop and grow their career. CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for helping move our business and the economy forward. Please share your thoughts during our regular Pulse surveys.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      good place to work

      Nov. 29, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great salary, good benefits, good to work for a big company

      Cons

      poor management, not respectful for front line works, no work-life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great pay and benefits and strive hard to create a work environment where all employees have an opportunity to develop and grow their career. When we recruit talent to our teams, we spend a lot of time going over the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for having helped move our business and the economy forward..

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Nov. 15, 2022 - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Everyone is respected in the team and you feel valued 2. Your opinion and ideas are heard and action is taken 3. Employee and overall Safety is given priority 4. You actually get to feel "One Team" when connecting with peers and leaders 5. Virtual Open houses are conducted regularly and your questions are taken by them and answered appropriately by the concerned leader 6. Good Salaries and competitive retirement benefits 7. People residing away from office are respected and accommodated in the hybrid environment 8. Good career opportunities as I have seen people who have moved from technical careers as a Conductor to a Tech lead into various IT roles and many other internal growths as an example

      Cons

      Some outdated tools not at par with the industry. Doesn't matter much as change is constant at CN and investments are done to improve them

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great pay and benefits, and strive hard to create a work environment where all employees have an opportunity to develop and grow their career. CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for helping move our business and the economy forward. Please share your thoughts during our regular Pulse surveys.

    11. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not too Bad

      Nov. 9, 2022 - Railroad Conductor in Jasper, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money, location, co workers, training and benefits.

      Cons

      Work / life balance, can be dangerous, some co workers

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      CN Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your hard work. We pride ourselves on providing our team members with great pay and benefits. When we recruit talent to our teams, we spend a lot of time going over the realities associated with the railroad operating 24/7/365 days a year, including how being on call can disrupt your family life and important events. CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We thank you for helping move our business and the economy forward.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,050 Reviews
    </>Embed

    CN Reviews FAQs

    CN has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 1,235 reviews left anonymously by employees. 56% of employees would recommend working at CN to a friend and 56% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, CN employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at CN. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    56% of CN employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated CN 2.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.8 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with CN Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CN? Share Your Experiences

    CN logo
    or

    Affiliated Companies

    CN Careers

    Cover image for CN

    More Than a Job, a Passion As a global leader in our industry, we have a responsibility to set the example. Our focus is on moving both...More

    • Culture & People
    • Day in the Life
    • Sustainability
    This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

    Reviews by Job Title

    CN Photos

    + Add Photo
    CN workplace photo
    CN workplace photo
    CN workplace photo
    CN workplace photo
    CN workplace photo
    CN workplace photo
    CN photo of: Community volunteering
    See All Photos

    CN Job Seekers Also Viewed

    BNSF Railway Logo
    BNSF Railway

    3.2

    2,041 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 1,235 CN reviews submitted anonymously by CN employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if CN is right for you.