CI Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

CI Financial Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
73%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
CI Financial CEO Kurt MacAlpine (no image)
Kurt MacAlpine
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay and favouritism present(in 4 reviews)

  • "Old school style of interviewing new candidates(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "CI has a supportive and nurturing culture with work that challenges and develops you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CI Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CI has been an absolutely fantastic experience. I have felt that my team, department and larger organisation have taken a personal interest in both, my professional and personal growth and development. I am given ownership of my work and allowed to develop and further hone my skills. There is no micromanagement, only encouragement and facilitation, which has lead me to enjoy my work and my environment even more. I am lucky to have such a fantastic team of hardworking and genuine individuals to work with and look forward to, what I hope, a bright future here.

    Cons

    I think the technology could be a bit more up to date but IT are working tirelessly to address this

    CI Financial2019-05-31

    CI Financial Response

    October 22, 2019Sr. HR Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience with CI! We’re glad to hear you had a positive experience with the many learning and development opportunities available to CI employees. We agree that our employees are fantastic, and we’re grateful to work with such a great team!

    Continue reading
  2. "CI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CI Financial part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vacation. Good work environment. Good benefits

    Cons

    Pay is average and could be in a face paced environment

    CI Financial2019-11-18
  3. "A professional working environment though with a corporate feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CI Financial full-time

    Pros

    - professional working environment - good camaraderie among colleagues within business unit who are high-level in both personality and intelligence - fair compensation

    Cons

    - pitfalls of large corporation: highly administrative, somewhat lacking in community between business units

    CI Financial2020-02-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "good company, bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Private Client Services Associate 

    I have been working at CI Financial full-time

    Pros

    good team environment, great offices

    Cons

    grossly underpaid for the work done

    CI Financial2020-02-13
  5. "Great environment if you're with the right team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CI Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CI has a lot of talented individuals working at the middle-management level. A positive overall environment.

    Cons

    A lot of heads of department are results of nepotism. If you're ever let go, they don't treat you with respect and will walk you out the door immediately without letting you clean out your desk. It really puts a damper on an otherwise positive experience.

    CI Financial2020-01-28
  6. "Transitions Services Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transition Services Coordinator in Toronto, ON

    I worked at CI Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large lunch room with TV's, internet access and rooftop patio access (in the summer).

    Cons

    Overtime required during evening and weekds.

    Continue reading
    CI Financial2020-01-21
  7. "Good company going through bumpy transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CI Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, good work life balance, competitive pay and benefits

    Cons

    Industry is tough, will be hard for company to grow in the future

    CI Financial2020-01-14
  8. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative 
    Recommends

    I worked at CI Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits package and great team members.

    Cons

    Not the best salary however there is a good training program and room for growth.

    CI Financial2019-11-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fair salary but bonuses shrinking - ain't what it used to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CI Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for upward mobility if earned.

    Cons

    Senior management seem behind on the curve on the future of asset management industry.

    CI Financial2019-11-21
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Salaries are not competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CI Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Location, people, benefits, that’s it

    Cons

    Compensation, bonuses, compensation, bonuses, compensation

    Continue reading
    CI Financial2019-12-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 176 reviews