Bupa Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Bupa Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Bupa Group CEO Evelyn Bourke
Evelyn Bourke
248 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management in Miami they should a more diversified group of employees ,a high % of employees or managers are from Havana Cuba(in 23 reviews)

  • "Some times the work life balance can be difficult but that comes hand in hand with the role and is something i am aware the organisation is looking at(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good company but very chaotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partnership Manager 

    I worked at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    Overall good programs for employees and decent salary. Good work-life balance

    Cons

    No proper CRM and no client retention based KPI

    Bupa2020-03-25
  2. "Not the best , Not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    Good coworkers that became personal friends after I left.

    Cons

    Long working hours , NOT work/life balance, LOW pay

    Bupa2018-11-21

    Bupa Response

    November 22, 2018

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. It's lovely to hear that you are still connected with your colleagues. We do encourage and support work-life balance and personal wellbeing. If you'd be willing to provide more detail of your experience, please contact Natalie Ward Smith on 0113 3816100. Alternatively, you can use our confidential Speak Up service (www.bupa.com/speakup). Best wishes for the future.

    Continue reading
  3. "So, So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    Overall culture is good and somewhat positive. Majority of fellow employees/ team are friendly and respectful. Appropriate support when/where needed.

    Cons

    Large organisation with some ‘red tape’ and obstacles to jump to try new things in your role.

    Bupa2017-08-30

    Bupa Response

    September 7, 2017Head of Digital Comms

    Thanks for this feedback. It’s great to see you’ve highlighted a positive culture, as it’s something we’re really proud of. Likewise with good team work and support. We hear you on the ‘red tape’ too. With many large organisations, things can often take a little time, but we’re working on ways of improving, so people can innovate and put forward ideas on how we can better serve our customers.

    Continue reading
  4. "pp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Radiographer in London, England

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Modern and clean and respectful of every culture

    Cons

    Can be busy and not well organized

    Bupa2020-03-12
  5. "Poor management and nepotism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Advisor 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some benefits, competitive Salary and location

    Cons

    Worst management experience, bad company culture

    Bupa2020-03-22
  6. "Not a bad place to start."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -No weekends (during tax time its optional) -Good benefits such as the giving free lunches or keepcups -pretty relaxed environment, didn't need to dress a suit and tie -pretty helpful team leaders (for the most part)

    Cons

    Rotating roster (mon - fri) (8am-8pm). Could be put on 11:30 - 8pm shift two weeks in a row for example Micromanaged

    Bupa2020-03-20
  7. "Strategically misaligned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Capability Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are customer focused and care deeply about providing quality services Great community feel and progressive people policies

    Cons

    Senior leadership can't stay strategically aligned, with conflicting priorities Technology is backwards and projects cannot deliver many leaders out to protect their own space, instead of thinking what the organisation needs to be successful long term

    Continue reading
    Bupa2020-03-19
  8. "Amazing Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Operations Manager in Chesterfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    Customer Focused Supportive Engaging Great working environment Flexibility Treat you as an individual

    Cons

    To much red tape at times which can have an impact on getting projects off the ground.

    Bupa2020-03-03

    Bupa Response

    March 11, 2020Strategic Attraction and Social Media Manager

    Thanks for sharing your 5* review. It's great to hear positive feedback on our customer focused approach and supportive working environment. If you do feel there are some obstacles to getting projects off the ground we encourage everyone to speak with their managers to discuss how to overcome. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    Great purpose (longer, healthier, happier lives), many great people

    Cons

    Profit comes mainly from mature markets, making growth hard to come by. Not great at technology

    Bupa2020-02-29

    Bupa Response

    March 11, 2020Strategic Attraction and Social Media Manager

    Thanks for leaving your review. We love the fact that you also love our purpose - it's hugely important to us. Thanks once again for making the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  10. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Team Manager in Staines, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team spirit Company Values Development opportunities Customer Focus

    Cons

    Stressful at times Some things at Bupa feel outdated and need bringing into 21st century

    Continue reading
    Bupa2020-02-27

    Bupa Response

    March 11, 2020Strategic Attraction and Social Media Manager

    Thanks for sharing your 5* review. I definitely agree about the team spirit being so much of what makes working at Bupa but also the importance of our values. We're committed to providing a great customer experience - and supporting our people to provide the best possible service. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
Found 798 reviews
</>Embed