Bupa Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Mar 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
55%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Bupa Group CEO Evelyn Bourke
Evelyn Bourke
4 Ratings
  1. "Not a bad place to start."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -No weekends (during tax time its optional) -Good benefits such as the giving free lunches or keepcups -pretty relaxed environment, didn't need to dress a suit and tie -pretty helpful team leaders (for the most part)

    Cons

    Rotating roster (mon - fri) (8am-8pm). Could be put on 11:30 - 8pm shift two weeks in a row for example Micromanaged

    Bupa2020-03-20
  2. "TOXIC and UNPROFESSIONAL OVERALL ENVIRONMENT."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Palmetto, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    BENEFITS BONUS WELLNESS CLASSES Some really toxic and unprofessional employees lost their jobs in the USSC Center

    Cons

    BUPA is constantly getting rid of people . Most positions are given to women who are the favor of the managers and heads of departments. . Certain employees were groomed for future open positions when the CHANGE TRANSFORMATION was announced . New positions that were opened were given to the favorites ! Human Resources has no clue what really is happening.

    Continue reading
    Bupa2019-08-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary. Team members and Initial training.

    Cons

    Management bullying, they want you to fail. Team coaches just as bad. Boring job. horrible working environment. Fail you on every opportunity. HIgh school environment.

    Continue reading
    Bupa2019-06-30

    Bupa Response

    July 1, 2019Head of Resourcing, Bupa Global

    Thank you for your review, I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. I'm really sad and concerned to hear of your cons as it doesn't align to our culture or values at all. If you'd be willing to share more detail please contact myself, Caroline Owen on 07834 174 102 or via caroline.owen@bupa.com. Alternatively, you can provide feedback anonymously on Bupa’s “Speak Up” website www.bupa.com/speakup. I wish you every success for the future.

  4. "Flexibility"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Salford, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bupa part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked full time initially then dropped to part-time & now considering going back to full time (time with company 22years) Bupa have fully supported my work/life balance - would not consider leaving to go elsewhere.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Bupa2019-03-27

    Bupa Response

    April 1, 2019

    It's wonderful to read your review, and after 22 years that you would not consider leaving or going elsewhere is incredible... Thank you for your 5* review I really do appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

  5. "Reputable company but poor role"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    -40% off health insurance -company cares about employees - management was supportive and everyone was willing to lend a hand - met some really great people. super friendly and professional colleagues. - good office location

    Cons

    - limited career progression opportunities - very long hours, poor work life balance - no 40% discount on health insurance for immediate family. - low pay

    Continue reading
    Bupa2019-03-19

    Bupa Response

    March 20, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. I'm glad that you felt that your managers were supportive and that Bupa cares about it's people. We've recently launched our career development tools are actively looking to highlight career paths to our people. And our Performance Energy workshops and resources help our people to establish healthy ways to maintain their work/life balance. Best wishes in your next role.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Awful atmosphere"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Staines, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice team members and staff in canteen very friendly

    Cons

    Management do not want to listen to improvements when things are going wrong! When team once tried flagging huge issues with management we were pulled up for being negative and told to stop moaning. Long standing staff dropping like fly’s due to micro management. Staff spoken to like children even know they know the job more than the managers and expected to justify every toilet break to them. Managers go off for two /three hour lunches leaving staff stuck all whilst we are supposed to fit our 30 minute breaks around calls and other teams. All in all the general Bupa atmosphere is keep the sales team and big wigs happy and leave the front line staff picking up slack and with the least pay and least perks

    Continue reading
    Bupa2018-10-17

    Bupa Response

    October 18, 2018OD Consultant

    I’m really sorry to hear your feedback on working at Bupa, especially the feedback on culture and management. We pride ourselves on being an open and inclusive culture and a place where we treat all our people fairly – whether you’re a valued frontline colleague or work in sales or a senior role. The Bupa Code www.bupa.com/bupacode sets out how we expect all our employees - no matter where they work, to act and I’m sorry your experience does not reflect this. It would be a huge help to speak directly about your feedback so I can look into it further, please call Natalie Ward-Smith on 0113 381 6100 - I would of course be happy to speak confidentially. Alternatively, you can email our confidential Speak Up service www.bupa.com/speakup

  7. Helpful (1)

    "CSR"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Palmetto, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great matching 401 k plan ,

    Cons

    They use the USA to employ some people such as overpaid Directirs , managers and do not value their regular employees , outsource most to Mexico , Dominican Republic , no place for growth , increases are minimum and also they violate federal laws by employing unlicensed medical doctors in the USA to evaluate patient files and records and use a RN to sign medical review , preauth, to make it legal ...

    Continue reading
    Bupa2018-07-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Useless company run by ageist idiots who who should be shot"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Staines, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Useless company and MAnagers. All ageist and prefer kids working for them so they can mould them into their crap ways.

    Cons

    EVERYTHING HATE ALL ABOUT BUPA AND STAFF

    Continue reading
    Bupa2017-12-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "BUPA Benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Staines, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good bonus offers and staff points scheme - where you can win holidays to international destinations for just turning up doing your job well!!

    Cons

    Sucks the life out of you - trying to sell cover back to aged individuals who simply dont want it.

    Continue reading
    Bupa2017-10-24

    Bupa Response

    November 10, 2017Snr Digital Comms Manager

    Thanks for leaving your feedback. We appreciate your honesty and will take your specific comments on board.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Support in all aspects of your wellbeing and career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having an amazing Team Leader who will help move you up in the company

    Cons

    it can be a very clicky environment and if your face doesn't fit with certain people it can be stressful

    Continue reading
    Bupa2014-05-05
Found 12 reviews