BuildDirect Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
BuildDirect Chief Executive Officer Dan Park (no image)
Dan Park
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Seeing the world is really important to me and with BD's unlimited vacation benefit, I was able to cross off a lot on my bucket list(in 16 reviews)

  • "great work-life balance; generous with vacation time and benefits, very little crunch time(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "boys club mentality on sales team(in 5 reviews)

  • "A challenge to grow within the company as they usually hired from outside before promoting up or moving up internally(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to learn and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Executives listen to the needs of the employees. - People team encouraged continual feedback loop and support. - Cross functional work was encouraged and ideas are openly shared with the broader group. - Compensation was competitive with industry standard. - Teams were supportive of directional changes and provided feedback for optimization.

    Cons

    None, I loved my time at the company.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is welcoming and great. You really feel like being part of the family. The team is very supportive, awesome and fun! BONUS unlimited vacation!

    Cons

    Not really a con, but work is fast paced, with lots going on/happening so BE PREPARED!

    Continue reading

  3. "One of the best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hiring and on-boarding process was one of the best I've experienced. They ensure you're lined up for success. Absolutely fantastic culture. The energy from day one was noticeably different than past companies I've worked for. Truly a work-family.

    Cons

    I can think of any cons

    Continue reading
  4. "Traumatic experience - work here if you like working around passive aggressive people"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time

    Pros

    Was given a fair amount of ownership. A few good eggs littered in between.

    Cons

    Many passive aggressive people were working here. Could not trust most people. So glad I am not at this company anymore. Senior management publicly promoted leftist policies, politics or politicians.

    Continue reading

    BuildDirect Response

    June 23, 2020Manager, People Team

    Thank you for your recent feedback on your experiences while working for BuildDirect. I am sorry that it was not a positive one for you. Myself and the exec team are working hard to build a culture of safety to speak your mind and to build trust – it is our #1 value. If we have team members that don’t embody our values, I want our team to take ownership and have these difficult yet open conversations to affect a positive change. Creating an exceptional place to work is a continued journey, myself and the exec team are committed to this - so listening to all perspectives is important, even if they are challenging to hear. Thus, I would ask that you contact me directly so that I can get direct feedback on how we are doing as a team, and for me to learn about what I could be doing better as the leader. More importantly, I hope that your career journey lands you with a new and great team. Thanks again for sharing. Dan Park CEO BuildDirect

  5. "Crossing off my Bucket list while working at BD"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administration 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked with a leader that recognizes success, welcomes and offers feedback that encouraged me to become more engaged, effective and fulfilled at BD. A work/life balance that afforded me to work flexible hours and off-site was supported. Seeing the world is really important to me and with BD's unlimited vacation benefit, I was able to cross off a lot on my bucket list. Thank you BD!

    Cons

    Like many companies, BD have always survived tough economic times, however, this has not stopped employees to feel insecure with its stability.

    Continue reading

    BuildDirect Response

    January 29, 2020Manager, People Team

    Thanks for your advice, it is on point. We're continuing with some of the great communication processes we've put in place, and we're going to try to implement a few new ones in 2020. We believe the future is bright and want to make sure we're all on the same page. Thanks for your 5 years of service and we wish you all the best, and we'd love to see you back at some staff events.

  6. "What it feels like to enjoy going to work everyday"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Marketing in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing. Kind, thoughtful with high emotional intelligence. Ability to share ideas openly. Constant collaboration. Balanced work life and flexibility. The unlimited vacation truly shifts the way we approach how we work, this is a priceless benefit.

    Cons

    You will need to be able pivot and go with the flow when changes are happening. Things can change quickly, very much like a start-up. If you thrive in a changing environment, you will find it very exhilarating and fun. If you don't, you could get frustrated.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great team to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Worker in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people & benefits Equality and partnership mentality

    Cons

    Engagement of employees could improve

    Continue reading

    BuildDirect Response

    December 30, 2019Manager, People Team

    Thanks for the feedback, and it is great to hear that you enjoy the people you work with. Improving engagement for my colleagues is one of my main areas of focus for my first year in my new role here at BuildDirect. We are going to continue to build on the success that our monthly Fireside meetings contribute towards communication, transparency and building trust, but I am always looking for other ways to connect with my colleagues. I'd love to hear from you if you have any suggestions, or even just to discuss where we are at now and where should we go. Vonn - Manager, People Team

  8. "Great company, no room for growth"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation Great people to work with

    Cons

    -no room for growth

    BuildDirect Response

    December 30, 2019Manager, People Team

    I'm glad that you enjoyed your time at BuildDirect. With an office of 65 people, I can see how career growth could be a challenge, with only a few promotional opportunities coming up. We're committed to developing our colleagues, hopefully for internal movement, but if not we hope that we are helping to develop people within their careers. We are confident that we are helping build the skills of our colleagues that could help them in future roles, and that someday they may return to BuildDirect. Vonn - Manager, People Team

  9. Helpful (3)

    "great coworkers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation time. Coworkers are awesome people and great to work with. Positive working environment when I first started at BD. Felt part of a team in the big picture. Many opportunities to interact with various departments. Free fruit delivery twice a week.

    Cons

    Flexible working hours and can work from home only for select employees. The more people who leave (layoff or quit) the more work is dumped on those who remain, mostly with a lack of a thank you or compensation. Lack of timely and honest communication from the executive team. Frequently changing leadership also meant inconsistent company direction. Compensation is below standard. Work environment went from an awesome team environment to walking on egg-shells due to so many staff leaving (mostly not being their choice). Benefit is unlimited vacation time, but in reality, some managers started restricting approving time off, which was not fair to those who were not abusing it. Felt like a double standard of time off being approved depending on who your manager was. A challenge to grow within the company as they usually hired from outside before promoting up or moving up internally. Didn’t improve morale with this action as it repeatedly happened even with qualified internal applicants.

    Continue reading

    BuildDirect Response

    December 30, 2019Manager, People Team

    Thanks for the feedback, it was great to see that there were some areas that you enjoyed during your time with us, despite not getting a positive recommendation from you. We have a community of former colleagues and always strive to give people an experience that they'll remember fondly, and I am sorry that it is not that way for you. I hear your thoughts and suggestions for areas of improvement, and definitely understand your perspective. 2018 and 2019 were challenging years for us, which included hard decisions with recruitment selection and matching the needs of our redefined business focus to the skill set of our coworkers. 2020 gives us a lot of indications that the stabilization of the business will lead to a great future, and we are excited at what the future may hold. I agree that two way communication and transparency are important parts of a great place to work, and we are looking to build on some of the successes we've had in these areas. We have great people and believe that we are building the right base for success for our company and our colleagues, and part of building that great base takes from looking at our operation from all points of view. Your perspective, while critical, helps us to improve and for that I thank you. Cheers, Vonn - Manager, People Team

  10. Helpful (2)

    "."

    2.0
    Former Employee - Logistics Coordinator 

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time

    Pros

    Benefit is unlimited vacation time

    Cons

    Employees abused unlimited vacation time

    BuildDirect Response

    December 30, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. Having an unlimited vacation plan has challenges, but we believe it is important for coworkers to have a plan that is flexible for their needs. I trust my colleagues to take the time they need to approach their life and work with the drive and engagement that is needed to maintain balance, and thank those coworkers who support one another throughout the year to maintain this awesome program.Sogol - People & Culture Specialist

Found 83 reviews