BuildDirect Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 of over 97 reviews

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
BuildDirect Chief Executive Officer Dan Park (no image)
Dan Park
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "The unlimited vacation truly shifts the way we approach how we work, this is a priceless benefit(in 17 reviews)

  • "great work-life balance; generous with vacation time and benefits, very little crunch time(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "boys club mentality on sales team(in 5 reviews)

  • "Employees abused unlimited vacation time(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company to work at!

      Jul 21, 2021 - Strategic Initiatives Analyst in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture at BuildDirect is exceptional. People are warm and supportive. You feel encouraged and endorsed by your leaders and peers. It operates like a startup which allows you to work across different opportunities and enables fast-paced growth. You get great visibility and access to learn from senior leaders and executives. Unlimited vacation days and flexibility in work hour structuring adds to the company's charm

      Cons

      Expect a fast paced environment. So, if you are someone who is used to slacking, this firm would not be a right fit

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      na

      Jun 15, 2021 - Data Analyst in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very good company and people to work with

      Cons

      no cons as of now

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      great company

      Jun 15, 2021 - Database Engineer in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice people, good location, new tech

      Cons

      high turnover at some point

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales consultant at BuildDirect.com

      Apr 8, 2021 - Sales in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Unlimited Vacation - Good experience learning a complete sales cycle - Work from home

      Cons

      - Constant change and pay cuts - Micro Management - Oppressive atmosphere and management style

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      BuildDirect Response

      Manager, People Team

      Thanks for your feedback. I take your concerns seriously, and if you'd like to connect with me offline, I'm happy to connect to discuss. Our sales commission structure does change as our organization is growing and evolving, but that is why we include a base pay component as well. We feel our on-target earnings (OTE) projected for each position is competitive and rewarding. Sales is hard work, and it isn't for everybody, but we hope the rewards are worth it. Our company is growing, and with that, we're scaling up our Sales team and their efforts. We needed to make changes with how our sales team operates to meet the new challenges, and I am sorry that you found it to be micromanaging. This certainly isn't our intent, or how we operate. We have a great Sales team and believe that each of us brings great experience and suggestions, and want to hear all the voices on the team, even if they have a different viewpoint. I am glad to hear you gained some good experience with a complete sales cycle, and hope that it is helpful in your next career endeavour. We wish you all the best in your next role. Vonn Parker, Manager, People Team

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Management doesn't know what they are doing

      Jan 26, 2021 - Project Manager in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      BuildDirect is filled with great people and some of the great minds working there. They lose productivity in the lack of clear directions from the senior management.

      Cons

      Senior management is confused about what they want to achieve in the near term. It's a sinking ship.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      BuildDirect Response

      Manager, People Team

      Thanks for your response, we appreciate feedback, particularly when we could use it to improve. I am not sure of your timeline with the company, but I have been at BuildDirect for 14 months and can attest that the singular vision we enacted in 2019 has come to fruition with every quarter improving on all metrics we used to gauge our success. I am sorry to hear that your time with us didn't meet your expectations, but hopefully there was some value to your time spent with us, and that you have hopefully found a match in your career. Cheers, Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Enjoyed my time despite company’s difficult financial situation

      Dec 28, 2020 - Business Manager in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits were solid including unlimited vacation

      Cons

      No clear direction from leadership

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      BuildDirect Response

      Manager, People Team

      Hello, thanks for the great rating. It was great to hear you had a good time with BuildDirect. "Enjoy the Journey" is one of our values, and truly hope that everyone does just that with their time with us. Certainly, 2018 was a difficult time for us, but we have moved past our difficult financial situation with the support of an amazing Board of Directors, an Executive team executing a singular focus, and team members whose amazing work has contributed to increasing results, quarter after quarter, for the last two years. 2021 is going to be bright for the organization, and reflective of the pride and effort of the team. Thank you for your contributions while you were on the team, and we wish you all the best in your career journey. Thanks, Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing company to learn and grow

      Jul 19, 2020 - Business Development Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Executives listen to the needs of the employees. - People team encouraged continual feedback loop and support. - Cross functional work was encouraged and ideas are openly shared with the broader group. - Compensation was competitive with industry standard. - Teams were supportive of directional changes and provided feedback for optimization.

      Cons

      None, I loved my time at the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      BuildDirect Response

      Manager, People Team

      Thanks for the kind words and review. We are glad to see you loved your time here, hopefully our pathes will cross again! Thanks again, Vonn Parker, Manager, People Team

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Company transitioning

      Feb 9, 2021 - Senior Product Manager in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generally good culture, inclusive and work/life balance.

      Cons

      Job stability, limited resources, been in start-up mode for too long.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      BuildDirect Response

      Manager, People Team

      Thanks for your comment. We have had to work hard over the last couple of years to watch our resources in order to continue to perfect our offerings. We have big plans in 2021 and hope to move to the next stage in our operation. Keep an eye on us! Cheers, Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company, nice environment.

      Nov 25, 2020 - Customer Consultant in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, nice environment, friendly collegues

      Cons

      Not too many oportunities to grown.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      BuildDirect Response

      Manager, People Team

      Thank you for your review, and we completely understand your perspective. Right now we're running with a very small group of dedicated employees, and sometimes that means there isn't always the room for people to grow in their career, or the timing may be off. We love to promote internally and do so whenever we can. We hope that we give employees the skills and experience that helps them grow in their career - whether at BuildDirect or elsewhere, and hope that maybe someday people will return for the right role. We are always happy to keep in touch with former BD'ers, and to hopefully share in the success of their careers. Cheers, Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      One of the best

      Jun 24, 2020 - Director of Sales in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The hiring and on-boarding process was one of the best I've experienced. They ensure you're lined up for success. Absolutely fantastic culture. The energy from day one was noticeably different than past companies I've worked for. Truly a work-family.

      Cons

      I can think of any cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      BuildDirect Response

      Manager, People Team

      Thanks, remotely onboarding new team members in 2020 was a huge challenge, and one we continue to perfect as we go. Thanks for the HR feedback, we appreciate it! Cheers, Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 92 Reviews

    Popular Careers with BuildDirect Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at BuildDirect? Share Your Experiences

    BuildDirect logo
    or