BuildDirect Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
BuildDirect Chief Executive Officer Dan Park (no image)
Dan Park
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "The unlimited vacation truly shifts the way we approach how we work, this is a priceless benefit(in 17 reviews)

  • "great work-life balance; generous with vacation time and benefits, very little crunch time(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Amazing company to learn and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Executives listen to the needs of the employees. - People team encouraged continual feedback loop and support. - Cross functional work was encouraged and ideas are openly shared with the broader group. - Compensation was competitive with industry standard. - Teams were supportive of directional changes and provided feedback for optimization.

    Cons

    None, I loved my time at the company.

    Continue reading

    BuildDirect Response

    January 28, 2021Manager, People Team

    Thanks for the kind words and review. We are glad to see you loved your time here, hopefully our pathes will cross again! Thanks again, Vonn Parker, Manager, People Team

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Sales consultant at BuildDirect.com"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Unlimited Vacation - Good experience learning a complete sales cycle - Work from home

    Cons

    - Constant change and pay cuts - Micro Management - Oppressive atmosphere and management style

    Continue reading

  3. "Management doesn't know what they are doing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BuildDirect is filled with great people and some of the great minds working there. They lose productivity in the lack of clear directions from the senior management.

    Cons

    Senior management is confused about what they want to achieve in the near term. It's a sinking ship.

    Continue reading

    BuildDirect Response

    January 28, 2021Manager, People Team

    Thanks for your response, we appreciate feedback, particularly when we could use it to improve. I am not sure of your timeline with the company, but I have been at BuildDirect for 14 months and can attest that the singular vision we enacted in 2019 has come to fruition with every quarter improving on all metrics we used to gauge our success. I am sorry to hear that your time with us didn't meet your expectations, but hopefully there was some value to your time spent with us, and that you have hopefully found a match in your career. Cheers, Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

  4. "Enjoyed my time despite company’s difficult financial situation"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Business Manager in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time

    Pros

    Benefits were solid including unlimited vacation

    Cons

    No clear direction from leadership

    BuildDirect Response

    January 28, 2021Manager, People Team

    Hello, thanks for the great rating. It was great to hear you had a good time with BuildDirect. "Enjoy the Journey" is one of our values, and truly hope that everyone does just that with their time with us. Certainly, 2018 was a difficult time for us, but we have moved past our difficult financial situation with the support of an amazing Board of Directors, an Executive team executing a singular focus, and team members whose amazing work has contributed to increasing results, quarter after quarter, for the last two years. 2021 is going to be bright for the organization, and reflective of the pride and effort of the team. Thank you for your contributions while you were on the team, and we wish you all the best in your career journey. Thanks, Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

  5. "Company transitioning"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Generally good culture, inclusive and work/life balance.

    Cons

    Job stability, limited resources, been in start-up mode for too long.

  6. "Good company, nice environment."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, nice environment, friendly collegues

    Cons

    Not too many oportunities to grown.

    BuildDirect Response

    January 28, 2021Manager, People Team

    Thank you for your review, and we completely understand your perspective. Right now we're running with a very small group of dedicated employees, and sometimes that means there isn't always the room for people to grow in their career, or the timing may be off. We love to promote internally and do so whenever we can. We hope that we give employees the skills and experience that helps them grow in their career - whether at BuildDirect or elsewhere, and hope that maybe someday people will return for the right role. We are always happy to keep in touch with former BD'ers, and to hopefully share in the success of their careers. Cheers, Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

  7. "great work experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time

    Pros

    the people were great to work with

    Cons

    opportunity for growth was limited at the time

    BuildDirect Response

    September 17, 2020Manager, People Team

    Thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed working with the team, and we thank you for your 10+ years of service. We recognize that with a small office we don't always have the opportunities available as people are ready for the next step in their career, but we hope that we gave you a great experience that you can take forward with you. All the best to you in your new role. Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

  8. "One of the best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hiring and on-boarding process was one of the best I've experienced. They ensure you're lined up for success. Absolutely fantastic culture. The energy from day one was noticeably different than past companies I've worked for. Truly a work-family.

    Cons

    I can think of any cons

    Continue reading

    BuildDirect Response

    January 28, 2021Manager, People Team

    Thanks, remotely onboarding new team members in 2020 was a huge challenge, and one we continue to perfect as we go. Thanks for the HR feedback, we appreciate it! Cheers, Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

  9. "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is welcoming and great. You really feel like being part of the family. The team is very supportive, awesome and fun! BONUS unlimited vacation!

    Cons

    Not really a con, but work is fast paced, with lots going on/happening so BE PREPARED!

    Continue reading

    BuildDirect Response

    August 19, 2020Manager, People Team

    Glad you are enjoying your time at BuildDirect. We're fast paced, but just excited to share our expertise in the online renovation space. Exciting things are happening, and we are glad to have you aboard! Vonn Parker Manager, People Team

  10. "Crossing off my Bucket list while working at BD"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administration 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked with a leader that recognizes success, welcomes and offers feedback that encouraged me to become more engaged, effective and fulfilled at BD. A work/life balance that afforded me to work flexible hours and off-site was supported. Seeing the world is really important to me and with BD's unlimited vacation benefit, I was able to cross off a lot on my bucket list. Thank you BD!

    Cons

    Like many companies, BD have always survived tough economic times, however, this has not stopped employees to feel insecure with its stability.

    Continue reading

    BuildDirect Response

    January 29, 2020Manager, People Team

    Thanks for your advice, it is on point. We're continuing with some of the great communication processes we've put in place, and we're going to try to implement a few new ones in 2020. We believe the future is bright and want to make sure we're all on the same page. Thanks for your 5 years of service and we wish you all the best, and we'd love to see you back at some staff events.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 89 Reviews

Popular Careers with BuildDirect Job Seekers

Front End Developer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Site Merchandising Specialist
Learn About the Job
Digital Marketing Specialist
Learn About the Job
Software Engineer, Front-End
Learn About the Job

Work at BuildDirect? Share Your Experiences

BuildDirect logo
or