BuildDirect Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BuildDirect Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
BuildDirect Chief Executive Officer Dan Park (no image)
Dan Park
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Seeing the world is really important to me and with BD's unlimited vacation benefit, I was able to cross off a lot on my bucket list(in 15 reviews)

  • "great work-life balance; generous with vacation time and benefits, very little crunch time(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "boys club mentality on sales team(in 5 reviews)

  • "A challenge to grow within the company as they usually hired from outside before promoting up or moving up internally(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "What it feels like to enjoy going to work everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Marketing in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing. Kind, thoughtful with high emotional intelligence. Ability to share ideas openly. Constant collaboration. Balanced work life and flexibility. The unlimited vacation truly shifts the way we approach how we work, this is a priceless benefit.

    Cons

    You will need to be able pivot and go with the flow when changes are happening. Things can change quickly, very much like a start-up. If you thrive in a changing environment, you will find it very exhilarating and fun. If you don't, you could get frustrated.

    Continue reading
    BuildDirect2019-12-30
  2. "Crossing off my Bucket list while working at BD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administration 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked with a leader that recognizes success, welcomes and offers feedback that encouraged me to become more engaged, effective and fulfilled at BD. A work/life balance that afforded me to work flexible hours and off-site was supported. Seeing the world is really important to me and with BD's unlimited vacation benefit, I was able to cross off a lot on my bucket list. Thank you BD!

    Cons

    Like many companies, BD have always survived tough economic times, however, this has not stopped employees to feel insecure with its stability.

    Continue reading
    BuildDirect2020-01-27

    BuildDirect Response

    January 29, 2020Manager, People Team

    Thanks for your advice, it is on point. We're continuing with some of the great communication processes we've put in place, and we're going to try to implement a few new ones in 2020. We believe the future is bright and want to make sure we're all on the same page. Thanks for your 5 years of service and we wish you all the best, and we'd love to see you back at some staff events.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great team to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Worker in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people & benefits Equality and partnership mentality

    Cons

    Engagement of employees could improve

    Continue reading
    BuildDirect2019-11-14

    BuildDirect Response

    December 30, 2019Manager, People Team

    Thanks for the feedback, and it is great to hear that you enjoy the people you work with. Improving engagement for my colleagues is one of my main areas of focus for my first year in my new role here at BuildDirect. We are going to continue to build on the success that our monthly Fireside meetings contribute towards communication, transparency and building trust, but I am always looking for other ways to connect with my colleagues. I'd love to hear from you if you have any suggestions, or even just to discuss where we are at now and where should we go. Vonn - Manager, People Team

    Continue reading
  4. "Great company, no room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation Great people to work with

    Cons

    -no room for growth

    BuildDirect2019-10-15

    BuildDirect Response

    December 30, 2019Manager, People Team

    I'm glad that you enjoyed your time at BuildDirect. With an office of 65 people, I can see how career growth could be a challenge, with only a few promotional opportunities coming up. We're committed to developing our colleagues, hopefully for internal movement, but if not we hope that we are helping to develop people within their careers. We are confident that we are helping build the skills of our colleagues that could help them in future roles, and that someday they may return to BuildDirect. Vonn - Manager, People Team

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation time. Coworkers are awesome people and great to work with. Positive working environment when I first started at BD. Felt part of a team in the big picture. Many opportunities to interact with various departments. Free fruit delivery twice a week.

    Cons

    Flexible working hours and can work from home only for select employees. The more people who leave (layoff or quit) the more work is dumped on those who remain, mostly with a lack of a thank you or compensation. Lack of timely and honest communication from the executive team. Frequently changing leadership also meant inconsistent company direction. Compensation is below standard. Work environment went from an awesome team environment to walking on egg-shells due to so many staff leaving (mostly not being their choice). Benefit is unlimited vacation time, but in reality, some managers started restricting approving time off, which was not fair to those who were not abusing it. Felt like a double standard of time off being approved depending on who your manager was. A challenge to grow within the company as they usually hired from outside before promoting up or moving up internally. Didn’t improve morale with this action as it repeatedly happened even with qualified internal applicants.

    Continue reading
    BuildDirect2019-09-13

    BuildDirect Response

    December 30, 2019Manager, People Team

    Thanks for the feedback, it was great to see that there were some areas that you enjoyed during your time with us, despite not getting a positive recommendation from you. We have a community of former colleagues and always strive to give people an experience that they'll remember fondly, and I am sorry that it is not that way for you. I hear your thoughts and suggestions for areas of improvement, and definitely understand your perspective. 2018 and 2019 were challenging years for us, which included hard decisions with recruitment selection and matching the needs of our redefined business focus to the skill set of our coworkers. 2020 gives us a lot of indications that the stabilization of the business will lead to a great future, and we are excited at what the future may hold. I agree that two way communication and transparency are important parts of a great place to work, and we are looking to build on some of the successes we've had in these areas. We have great people and believe that we are building the right base for success for our company and our colleagues, and part of building that great base takes from looking at our operation from all points of view. Your perspective, while critical, helps us to improve and for that I thank you. Cheers, Vonn - Manager, People Team

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Logistics Coordinator 

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time

    Pros

    Benefit is unlimited vacation time

    Cons

    Employees abused unlimited vacation time

    BuildDirect2019-07-18

    BuildDirect Response

    December 30, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback. Having an unlimited vacation plan has challenges, but we believe it is important for coworkers to have a plan that is flexible for their needs. I trust my colleagues to take the time they need to approach their life and work with the drive and engagement that is needed to maintain balance, and thank those coworkers who support one another throughout the year to maintain this awesome program.Sogol - People & Culture Specialist

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • unlimited vacay • flexible working hours • challenging work

    Cons

    • horrible pay • leadership/direction is all over the place • communication is difficult • work culture is hostile

    BuildDirect2019-06-04

    BuildDirect Response

    November 21, 2019Manager, People Team

    We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review. It is good to hear you saw value in the company benefits and felt the work/life balance was good. We put a lot of thought into what we do and that is driven by employee feedback. It is concerning to hear that you feel the work environment is hostile. Our Leadership and People Team’s goal is to foster an environment that enables our teams to do their best work as we move quickly to achieve our mission to be the #1 online flooring destination in North America. We pride ourselves on building a culture of trust, excellence and ownership – all while having some fun along the way. Feedback, like yours, helps us on our journey to be the best. We would love to connect with you if you would like to elaborate on your feedback, and share perspectives. – The People Team

    Continue reading
  8. "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Good benefit 2. Flexible vacation policy 3. Beautiful view

    Cons

    The software engineering team is relatively small

    BuildDirect2019-05-03

    BuildDirect Response

    December 30, 2019Manager, People Team

    Thanks for your review, and the positive comments. We're a small team all around, but we have the right people aboard to achieve greatness! Thanks for your service while you were here, and we hope someday that we may be in a position to be in business together again. Cheers, Vonn

    Continue reading
  9. "Culture Plus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketplace Account Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, young, vibrant culture. Open and transparent leadership. Always available to talk.

    Cons

    Constantly changing goal posts. Long term goals often dropped for immediate short term gains to please investors

    Continue reading
    BuildDirect2018-09-26
  10. "Solid tech team, job stability can be a bit of a worry though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Note that I can only speak from the perspective of the tech team: - lots of really great people on the tech team; smart, friendly, care about their work, committed to improving - opportunities to learn interesting tools and frameworks (AWS lambda, serverless, docker/Kubernetes, react-redux) - great work-life balance; generous with vacation time and benefits, very little crunch time

    Cons

    Again, this perspective is limited to my experience on the tech team: - flip-flopping on internal tools to use causes throwaway code and sometimes feels like we waste our time developing things that end up being re-written anyway - recent financial troubles have lead to a slightly uneasy feeling of job instability in the back of many of our minds - workplace culture has degraded slightly in recent years; this is in part due to the financial difficulties (hard to have parties when you have no money), but also because the company has failed to hold on to some key people who helped foster a great culture in the dev team. Important to note that the overall workplace culture is still good, just not as great as it has been in the past

    Continue reading
    BuildDirect2018-09-13
Found 79 reviews