BuildDirect Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BuildDirect Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Dan Park
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Good benefit 2. Flexible vacation policy 3. Beautiful view

    Cons

    The software engineering team is relatively small

    BuildDirect2019-05-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • unlimited vacay • flexible working hours • challenging work

    Cons

    • horrible pay • leadership/direction is all over the place • communication is difficult • work culture is hostile

    BuildDirect2019-06-04
  3. "Culture Plus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketplace Account Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, young, vibrant culture. Open and transparent leadership. Always available to talk.

    Cons

    Constantly changing goal posts. Long term goals often dropped for immediate short term gains to please investors

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the long term vision and commitment as laid out by the strategic plan and success will follow.

    BuildDirect2018-09-26
  4. "Solid tech team, job stability can be a bit of a worry though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Note that I can only speak from the perspective of the tech team: - lots of really great people on the tech team; smart, friendly, care about their work, committed to improving - opportunities to learn interesting tools and frameworks (AWS lambda, serverless, docker/Kubernetes, react-redux) - great work-life balance; generous with vacation time and benefits, very little crunch time

    Cons

    Again, this perspective is limited to my experience on the tech team: - flip-flopping on internal tools to use causes throwaway code and sometimes feels like we waste our time developing things that end up being re-written anyway - recent financial troubles have lead to a slightly uneasy feeling of job instability in the back of many of our minds - workplace culture has degraded slightly in recent years; this is in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - you've done a better job than previous management in fostering a sense of trust in your communication and transparency; keep doing this - stop flip-flopping on internal tools and technology; get an engineering perspective from those who would be implementing the tools at the start

    BuildDirect2018-09-13
  5. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to learn, unlimited leaves and flexible working hours

    Cons

    Low compensation and slow growth for some areas

    BuildDirect2018-08-16
  6. "Good People, poor direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    constant change in direction makes it difficult to stick to one goal

    BuildDirect2018-07-31
  7. "Inside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, fun atmosphere, unlimited vacation. Managers will have your back in almost all situations and you'll make lasting friendships

    Cons

    Very hard to advance anywhere else in the company. BD will frequently hire outside before moving people internally, but I have seen it happen.

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to give people an opportunity to work with other departments, create a development plan to foster talent and retain employees.

    BuildDirect2018-06-27
  8. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time

    Pros

    People are friendly, and there are good benefits and flexibility

    Cons

    There is not a lot of opportunity to learn or grow.

    Advice to Management

    Need to figure out direction, and plans, and help employees see where they fit into that.

    BuildDirect2018-06-04
  9. "Starting next chapter with new focus and recent investment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BuildDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Scrappy but mature start-up proving itself in huge market; movement towards more profitable pro customer segment is creating new problems and challenges that will be impactful to solve; company is structure leaner and burn rate is lower so we have more time to prove our business model.

    Cons

    We have lost some key talent at all levels of the company over the past few months.

    Advice to Management

    Bringing in some external talent / experience is important at this point; balance by promoting from within through strategic career development planning (when possible)

    BuildDirect2018-04-02
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BuildDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited vacation, Good location, Smart people, Flexible work hours, Work/Life balance

    Cons

    The company is not financially stable

    Advice to Management

    Do your best to make the company profitable

    BuildDirect2018-03-12
Found 73 reviews