Bruce Power Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Bruce Power Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mike Rencheck
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some other reviewers here gripe about the weather (it's Canada) and the distance from Toronto (aka the centre of the universe)(in 4 reviews)

  • "Although it can be challenging at times travelling to site through our Bruce County Winters, Bruce Power maintains a "Safety First" practice(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good learning opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Intern in Tiverton, ON

    I have been working at Bruce Power for more than a year

    Pros

    Some much exposure & systems to learn.

    Cons

    Very procedural, difficult to get clearly to do certain work.

    Bruce Power2019-08-16
  2. "Pump specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - we 

    I worked at Bruce Power

    Pros

    Equal opportunity, well paid,challenge

    Cons

    Far, cold, expensive, lonely, inconvenient

    Bruce Power2019-08-20
  3. "Engaging work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Steo 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bruce Power for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a good environment of learning and growth.

    Cons

    Some unclear direction for contractors

    Bruce Power2019-07-24
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Electrician 

    I have been working at Bruce Power

    Pros

    Good camaraderie, excellent pay, safe environment, interesting work

    Cons

    Winter driving was difficult at times

    Bruce Power2019-07-15
  5. "Don’t take their Business department personally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Independent in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bruce Power for more than 3 years

    Pros

    experience in the nuclear power plant. good pay. no competition in engineering

    Cons

    40% of pay check was kept by my agency. When I asked Bruce power to hire me full time, their Engineering business department tried to undermine me. Don’t take it personally, it’s their job to devalue you and put you in a non-negotiating position so you can’t ask for higher pay.

    Advice to Management

    It’s okay to acknowledge talents. Stop making points by getting other people to prove a point for you. Stop blackmailing your employees

    Bruce Power2019-08-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to live and work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineering Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bruce Power full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation and the people are really welcoming. Lots of different departments to move around to so you can easily spend your whole career here.

    Cons

    Big company and lots of procedures to follow which can make it difficult to get work done.

    Bruce Power2019-06-12
  7. "Great only if you find yourself in the right department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Co-op Developmental Student in Tiverton, ON

    I worked at Bruce Power for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Everyone is generous and willing to help. Safety is paramount.

    Cons

    Not very technical, more operational based.

    Advice to Management

    Engage students in more technical projects

    Bruce Power2019-06-05
  8. "GOOD COMPANY CULTURE SAFETY FIRST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bruce Power for more than a year

    Pros

    good working environment, a place to learn and grow

    Cons

    can not extend the contract within 12 months

    Advice to Management

    less opportunity for temporary and contract

    Bruce Power2019-05-21
  9. "Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bruce Power for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is reasonable with a lot of old people.

    Cons

    They treat contract employees like trash as they can hire / fire without giving them any respect. The management have no clue about project management processes and behaves like anything can be done by bullying. Hence they hire only very old contractors so they can have absolute control.

    Advice to Management

    Treat every employee regardless they are full time or contract with respect.

    Bruce Power2019-05-31
  10. Helpful (4)

    "If not unionized - stay clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Tiverton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bruce Power full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Management is ripe with politics and you get nothing done.

    Cons

    Great benefits and pay package.

    Bruce Power2019-04-23
Found 89 reviews