Bechtel Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Bechtel Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1188 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Bechtel CEO Brendan Bechtel
Brendan Bechtel
226 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Scheduler 

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time

    Pros

    Friendly Environment, Good benefits, Good management

    Cons

    Low Job Security, Senior management doesn't involve with employee

    Bechtel2019-07-05
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Millwright in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people , good money , good safety culture

    Cons

    Disorganized , fail to seek advice from employees who may have prior experience

    Bechtel2019-08-23
  3. "Design office architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bechtel full-time

    Pros

    paid well, training well, good management

    Cons

    long work hours, difficult to get promoted

    Advice to Management

    workers need to have more vacation days for overseas projects

    Bechtel2018-11-01
  4. "Excellent Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Accountant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Professionalism all around, appropriate induction and training, support from colleagues and other departments, periodic contact with top management, organized processes and procedures, excellent working and hiring conditions.

    Cons

    Work by project, job description somewhat narrow.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Bechtel2018-03-27
  5. "Working at Bechtel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bechtel gives employees opportunities around the globe and is consistent with high standard for training and development across all projects.

    Cons

    It is a large company and staffing is very disconnected and takes a lot of time.

    Bechtel2018-02-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Review by an employee who experienced M&M, OG&C and Infrastructure GBUs in Bechtel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You meet nice and professional people in this company. They give the best support when it comes to relocating you.

    Cons

    Make sure you enter in this company in right level and grade as it will be too difficult for you to promote. Network and internal relationship will sometime work more than your contribution to this company.

    Advice to Management

    I learnt a lot in this company and found beautiful working environment in Bechtel, though it is not the same at different GBUs and countries. As I am loyal to this company, I think you should now that it is very frustrating to prove yourself to managers who change almost twice a year for a grade promotion. After seven years in Bechtel, I am now convinced the PMP system and annual reviews designed for keeping you... static than dynamic and thriving. As many ex-colleague say, if wanna get what you are eligible in Bechtel, leave it and return again with good negotiation upfront.

    Show More
    Bechtel2018-01-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Think before you jump"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Estimator in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big company and wide range of locations and types of projects to work on.

    Cons

    HR is the worst I've seen in the Industry. To them you are a number and disposable no matter how hard you work. Don't expect any help from management finding another position when your project is complete.

    Advice to Management

    The culture you have created is very poor and will catch up to you.

    Bechtel2018-03-01
  8. "Great Company with lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Team, great benefits, training, challenging, international assignment

    Cons

    can sometimes be stressful, often working extra hours to get the job done because of tight deadlines and satisfaction of a job well done.

    Bechtel2018-01-17
  9. "Bechtel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Bechtel

    Pros

    Great company Family atmosphere Room for growth

    Cons

    it was a contract position

    Bechtel2018-01-08
  10. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bechtel

    Pros

    perfect environment and friendly people

    Cons

    not friendly bosses because of strict supervision

    Advice to Management

    no advice

    Bechtel2017-12-13
Found 1188 reviews