BMC Software Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BMC Software Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1336 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
BMC Software CEO Bob Beauchamp
Bob Beauchamp
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Technical Support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, excellent benefits, good place to work. Very professional team. increase one week of vacation every 5 years. They match up to $6000 to RRSP, Dental benefits, health benefits

    Cons

    Small office in Montreal. 90% of the teams are remote. They can increase other benefits and invest in education but there's a budget problem.

    BMC Software2019-02-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Connecting the how and the what in IT service management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation, health care and commission.

    Cons

    Management are not transparent in their plans

    BMC Software2019-07-02
  3. "BDR Manager that Coaches and Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software for less than a year

    Pros

    My manager deeply cared about my progression and was very flexible

    Cons

    BDRs did often seem left out of the deeper concern of the organization at the higher management/executive levels. But this could have been my misunderstanding.

    BMC Software2019-02-05
  4. "Great company to work in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    Hire the best, good salary & strong technical team. Strong training.

    Cons

    A lot of pressure but worth it.

    BMC Software2019-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "PAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    strong sales methodology and training

    Cons

    The micro management and political environment

    BMC Software2018-11-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "EXCELLENT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Analyst in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly collaborative culture. Can-Do attitude.

    Cons

    Without home office. that would be very useful if you live far away.

    BMC Software2018-09-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "great people, office needs a reno"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    Good culture Great people flexible work life balance

    Cons

    office was a bit run down at the time. No proper kitchen. Had to wash dishes in the bathroom!

    BMC Software2018-03-12
  8. "Web Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    Not very high investments into UI in certain project groups

    Advice to Management

    Needs to work upon with priority to improve the look and feel of products

    BMC Software2018-03-08
  9. "Great time spent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BMC Software for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great strategic vision. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Need to execute on vision faster.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in faster moving more agile people.

    BMC Software2017-09-11

    BMC Software Response

    September 18, 2017Employee Experience Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time today to provide some very insightful feedback regarding your employment. Your comments regarding our vision, culture and employees are greatly appreciated. we also want to thank you for taking the time to comment on our vision and execution time lines. ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Beware of BMC Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BMC Software full-time

    Pros

    There was a time when working at BMC Canada meant something, we had some of the most talented & polished sales people. BMC Canada was known as a great place to build a solid career and you were treated with respect. Unfortunately over the past year, BMC Canada has instituted a boiler room approach to sales. Where at all costs reps must have 4x funnel and spend 3 days a month dialing for dollars in the office, while...

    Show More

    Cons

    Cons Management could care less about the employees, they only care about the company going public again as they have been promised shares, reps will not get shares! Sales, Presales, Professional Services, Operations all have different agenda's, getting small tasks done takes tremendous effort Bribing reps with gift cards to post positive reviews on glassdoor.ca = Pathetic!

    Advice to Management

    Align Canada back to US, or bring in someone who knows how to lead and inspire.

    BMC Software2017-04-20
Found 1336 reviews