BC SPCA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BC SPCA Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
BC SPCA CEO Craig Daniell (no image)
Craig Daniell
14 Ratings
  1. "Very Good Experience. Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Animal Assistant 

    I worked at BC SPCA part-time

    Pros

    Get to spend time with animals

    Cons

    A lot of tiring chores at times

    BC SPCA2020-01-23
  2. "Great people, poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Centre Operator 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BC SPCA full-time

    Pros

    Amazing staff and great work culture

    Cons

    Non for profit pay and benefits

    BC SPCA2019-11-24
  3. "Fulfilling Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BC SPCA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great values and mission - Pet friendly workplace - Great co workers

    Cons

    - Not enough communication between HO and branches - Not enough work/life balance - A lot of people are over worked

    BC SPCA2019-09-23

    BC SPCA Response

    November 4, 2019Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback! We love having a pet friendly workplace and truly appreciate the great team here as well! Communication between Provincial Office and branches across the province is definitely something we are continually striving to improve. We’re very happy to report that we recently wrapped up an all branch survey and consultation process, much was learned. We’re in the process of implementing new communications protocols and investing in new tools to improve communication as well. Work/life balance is difficult to achieve but something we take very seriously. It is important for all of us to take steps towards protecting our mental health by bringing all aspects of our lives into balance. It’s something we’ve recognized and there are a number of things we’ve implemented in this past year to make more health and wellness resources available to our team and continue to evaluate new ways to improve on this. Thank you again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  4. "Passionate and positive work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BC SPCA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support from managers, work culture is great.

    Cons

    Heavy workload, hard to find work-life balance, typical non-profit issues like minimal resources

    BC SPCA2019-09-14

    BC SPCA Response

    November 4, 2019Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We’re glad to hear you felt well supported by your manager and that you enjoyed the work culture here! Listening to our employees and empowering them to share ideas and improvements is something that is very important to us. Part of our current strategic plan is strengthening our work for animals. We will accomplish this by attracting and retaining skilled and diverse staff and volunteers. This will include investing in training and developing our people for effectiveness and resilience.

    Continue reading
  5. "They are doing incredible work for animals in BC but that's where the compassion stops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BC SPCA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Speaking for Animals, transparency, shelter welfare policies and protocols all geared towards the best animal welfare possible

    Cons

    Mental health issues due to workload, burnout PTSD. Little support from the employer. Suffering in silence. Compensation does not consider cost of living.

    Continue reading
    BC SPCA2019-04-18
  6. "it is not a bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BC SPCA full-time

    Pros

    Supportive managers, friendly colleagues, free coffee and snacks, good benefits

    Cons

    Head office is too old, and heater is not working properly, pay is not competitive

    Continue reading
    BC SPCA2019-01-24
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Kamloops, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BC SPCA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Passionate, satisfying work, community minded

    Cons

    Lack of communication, disjunction between provincial office and branches, some extremist policies/procedures, very Lower Mainland focussed

    Continue reading
    BC SPCA2018-09-12
  8. "Animal Care Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BC SPCA part-time

    Pros

    Great ethics, great people, great work

    Cons

    High stress environment, needs more employees

    BC SPCA2018-08-24
  9. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BC SPCA full-time

    Pros

    Great, supportive team of people to work with.

    Cons

    Heavy, sometimes overwhelming, workload. Tough to achieve work/life balance.

    BC SPCA2018-05-10
  10. "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BC SPCA full-time

    Pros

    Can be a stable place to work, lots of women on staff at lower levels.

    Cons

    Feedback not encouraged, and other staff expected my husband to make more money to offset the low wages (ie working for a cause means less fair pay for women).

    Continue reading
    BC SPCA2018-03-08
Found 28 reviews