BC SPCA Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 46 reviews

3.6
50%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
BC SPCA CEO Craig Daniell (no image)
Craig Daniell
19 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome

    May 18, 2021 - Animal Care Attendant in Cowichan Bay, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very mental health oriented and amazing g

    Cons

    It’s a hard job to see cruelly cases

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Good people but corporate and patriarchal environment

    Jun 13, 2021 - Provincial Staff in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good people in many locations great place to gain experience and then move on

    Cons

    Senior management has closed doors for decisions and direction. Lack of communication leads to rumour based environment and movement of information. A strict new work from home policy has been held over staff's heads since the start of pandemic but will not be released until pandemic is over, leading to a lot of gossip and for some fear on what it says. This organization will not be moving with the shifts from the pandemic, they place a lot of value on having people fill seats in an office rather than the productivity.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Choose carefully

    Jun 29, 2021 - Animal Care Attendant in Burnaby, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent experience and exciting job.

    Cons

    terrible pay for a very hard job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    no

    May 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    best company to work for

    Cons

    best employer to work for

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Favourite job I've had

    Mar 20, 2021 - Call Centre Representative in Victoria, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very interesting job content, good pay for the role, supportive management

    Cons

    Responding to members of the public calling in about a crisis without crisis experience/training

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to volunteer!

    Jan 31, 2021 - Volunteer in West Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very welcoming and fun environment!

    Cons

    I have no cons to write at all!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Tough place to work

    Apr 20, 2021 - Investigator in Kamloops, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Making a difference, and great karma

    Cons

    High Burn out, poor management and high demand on employees to work constantly

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    A Passion Driven Organization

    Sep 23, 2020 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Front runner in animal welfare.

    Cons

    Can be an emotionally difficult industry.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Very Supportive

    Jul 10, 2020 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at the BC SPCA for 15+ years at many levels and as a visible minority, I have never personally experienced any forms of racism while I have been here. During these challenging times, the senior management team has been extremely supportive and they have given me the strength to overcome my own personal challenges.

    Cons

    Wish I had more hours in a day

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fear-based

    Jul 7, 2020 - Office Staff 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Likeminded teammates, flexible work hours, working with animals around, feeling of making a difference

    Cons

    Racism and low-turnover in senior management, verbally dismissive and petty comments common, wages low for cruelty staff, many staff leave after experiencing narcissistic upper management culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    BC SPCA Response

    Recruitment Advisor

    We take this review to heart and encourage this employee and any of our existing employees to talk to us directly so that we can resolve any concerns related to their employment experience. To-date, we have not received a complaint related to racism on our senior management team and we are currently devoting organizational time/resources to looking at the issues of equity, diversity and reconciliation both within our organization as well as in the services we provide to our stakeholders. We believe these to be important topics and are providing multiple ways for our employees to engage in the discussions around them and help inform next steps. The comment that there is low turnover in our senior management team is true and we take that to be a good sign that we are able to retain highly-skilled professionals in what can be really difficult, high-pressure roles. Many of our executive team members started with us in front-line roles and have worked their way into these leadership positions over time. It is career progression like this that we believe we can be proud of!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

Popular Careers with BC SPCA Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BC SPCA? Share Your Experiences

BC SPCA logo
or