AppFolio Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AppFolio Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 350 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
AppFolio CEO Jason Randall
Jason Randall
147 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons outside of the expected stresses of a Customer Success position(in 24 reviews)

  • "It is expensive to live in Santa Barbara(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I feel lucky to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best people work here, the events are super fun, work life balance is very balanced. Rewarding work, amazing mentorship

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    AppFolio2019-07-16
  2. "Amazing workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great company, great job. The teams are super tight-nit, everyone is friendly, helpful & super smart. Company is growing a lot, so, many opportunities for improvement and advancement. Great leadership, that really cares about the success of the employees. All in all, a place that I enjoy staying till 7PM on a Friday.

    Cons

    Santa Barbara is kinda expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in the company culture! All the hard work has definitely paid off.

    AppFolio2019-06-27

    AppFolio Response

    July 11, 2019CMO

    So glad to hear you feel we're investing in our culture - thank you for taking the time to write a review!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Employee and Consumer Conscious Company -- Great Gateway for Entry-level Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contact Center Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Appfolio is a fantastic company to gain experience for anyone new to the workforce or shifting careers. While I cannot speak to the office atmosphere or management for all office locations or departments, I have been continually impressed with the operation of the contact center. The management team cares not only for the profit and future of the company but for the employees as well and it shows. It is a call center...

    Show More

    Cons

    Although the Legacy Shopping area is nice for taking lunchtime stroll, the traffic is fairly awful regardless of which direction you are coming or going and public transportation is a poor option. While there are bus stops only a few blocks away, the TRE/DART does not have any stations nearby. While there is plenty of promise for internal growth and the management team is eager to bring forward opportunities whenever...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep collaborating and supporting your employees. It is rare to feel like an important and useful part of the company as only an entry-level employee.

    AppFolio2019-07-02

    AppFolio Response

    July 11, 2019CMO

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience as a representative for our Maintenance Contact Center service - glad to hear you felt cared for as an employee.

  4. "Fun and agile work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time

    Pros

    -leadership truly invests in employee growth -open communication is practiced -awesome company culture

    Cons

    Growing so quickly (pro) it can be challenging to find a conference room.

    AppFolio2019-06-19

    AppFolio Response

    July 11, 2019CMO

    Love to hear that you feel that we're investing in employee growth - in a fast growth company a great team makes all the difference.

  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time

    Pros

    great exec leadership, new opps

    Cons

    nothing really to say here

    AppFolio2019-06-13

    AppFolio Response

    July 11, 2019CMO

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review!

  6. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Appfolio has great people, culture, and opportunity for career growth.

    Cons

    Salaries are slightly below average for the market, but the benefits and the people make up for it.

    AppFolio2019-06-05

    AppFolio Response

    July 11, 2019CMO

    Great people and culture are so important to us - thank you for appreciating it too!

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Goleta, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth company with lots of opportunity.

    Cons

    The expectations are unrealistic. Small teams don’t necessarily make sense anymore and a larger investment needs to be made into developing employees. Sure PTO is generous but you’ll either feel bad using it or never have a chance.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your teams. Stop making decisions at a level that doesn’t understand the day to day issues employees face .:. and your employees need time to re charge. PTO should not feel like a stretch

    AppFolio2019-06-05

    AppFolio Response

    June 6, 2019CMO

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We do value small, autonomous teams and believe that allows us to innovate faster and deliver better customer and employee experiences. As we grow we will continue to look for even more opportunities to listen at all levels of the company.

  8. "Great Culture and Exciting Products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is great. Very supportive and care about your personal career growth.

    Cons

    None come to mind, parking perhaps but that is how it goes when you area . fast paced company and growing rapidly.

    AppFolio2019-05-23

    AppFolio Response

    June 4, 2019CMO

    So glad to hear you find the management team here supportive of your growth, we have many leaders who have grown their careers with us. And yes - parking is a challenge....but we're working on it!

  9. "Spinning out of control - management flip flops constantly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppFolio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free lunches, flexible hours some smart people work here offer good amount of PTO

    Cons

    low salary for a variety of positions management flip flops on ideas (you're constantly working on a project only to be told it is no longer important and to just drop it) pick and choose who they service/support (no longer are clients equal) co-workers are pretty immature and hostile (fake) - I can count the number of genuine individuals on my 1 hand there are cliques (like in a stereo typical high school) some...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    hire management that is truthful and respectful, and that can take responsibility for not delivering on a goal, then your teams will follow that example stop piling on extra work on teams that are already understaffed - hire more employees higher wages upper management needs to fix the hostility between managers

    AppFolio2019-06-03

    AppFolio Response

    June 4, 2019CMO

    It sounds like you've found a new opportunity elsewhere and hopefully it will be a better fit for you.

  10. "Great Environment, Stressful Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Associate in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AppFolio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, place, culture and snacks are all great.

    Cons

    Stressful deadlines, an incomplete product and of course your typical call center stresses

    AppFolio2019-05-29

    AppFolio Response

    June 6, 2019CMO

    Glad to hear that you appreciate the pace, your team and the culture. With a high paced role there can be stressful times and I encourage you to work with your manager to find coping strategies.

Found 350 reviews