AltaML Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 42 reviews

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
AltaML Co-Founders Cory and Nicole Janssen (no image)
Cory and Nicole Janssen
22 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Place to Work

    Sep 27, 2021 - Senior Machine Learning Developer in Edmonton, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Amazing People and culture. The people at AltaML are some of the nicest people that I've ever worked with. More over everyone at Alta is incredibly smart I've never met so many people with big time credentials * Variety of work, you get to engage with so many domains while working at Alta * Support for you professional development, management works extremely hard to help people grow * Opportunity for impact. Due to the nature of the projects at Alta you get many opportunities to leave your mark. Projects are not managed to death and there's a lot of trust in developers to succeed * Big Emphasis on Diversity and Inclusion along with the ethics of AI.

    Cons

    * Not a place to coast. AltaML has a good work life balance with generous vacations and very little crunch or over time. That said you are expected to get things done * Variety of work can mean that you can't settle into a groove.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Building something special

    Aug 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, very open and transparent - lots of fun too Co-CEOs are realistic and humble Excellent team of professionals from data science, to sales and everything in between Working in a sector that is on the brink of taking off in Canada

    Cons

    We tend to over meet - but getting better now that we’re hybrid and not so beholden to zoom There is never a shortage of things to do - driven people beware of burning yourselves out - you need to strongly self manage - it’s a scale up There are a few snowflakes around - they can bring the culture down, they are slowly leaving which is good

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Too many people with no direction, work, or leadership

    Aug 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting projects and clients, AI looks good on a resume

    Cons

    Work went from general project data exploration and analysis, to very specialized work and roles. Pointless more meeting and middle managing. Far too many project managers hired and over paid for little work accomplished. Projects often end with little useful output and clients do not pursue them further or money is continuously pumped into pointless endeavors.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Gutsy, culture-rich, progressive tech company

    Aug 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Amazing diversification - the Applied AI Lab is outstanding among a number of ambitious business models - Culture is great. Not culty but still fun and the communication is thoughtful and thorough - Nice offices but also allow working from home 2x per week plus remote sprints - Interesting and promising clients - Lots of smart people + encourage promotion - No dress code, open vacation policy, socials - Competent HR

    Cons

    - Still finding their legs, management can be ineffective - Basic benefits - Growing very fast, many people suffering from over-time exhaustion - Working across locations + with remote people can be frustrating and inefficient

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    ML Engineer at AltaML

    Aug 6, 2021 - Senior Machine Learning Engineer in Edmonton, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture Good benefits Nice People Projects in different areas of machine learning

    Cons

    Low salary Not very challenging projects

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Shiny on the outside, not so great on the inside

    Aug 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Have met a lot of smart and talented people working here. But most of them have already left and gone off to other companies.

    Cons

    -If you work here expect to work around the clock. That includes evenings, weekends and on vacation. If you don’t answer right away, you’ll get slacked or email until you do. -Culture in the company used to be great until they started hiring people who didn’t fit the culture. Most people that made the culture great have long since left and it seems like they still try to hang on to the past saying how much culture is important. Anyone that’s been at the company from before Covid hit, can see that it’s gone. No one is tap dancing to work like they used to. -People with no expertise in what I did would dictate how to do my work. If I gave them my professional opinion, I would get told on to my direct manager. The worst part was my direct manager not supporting me and telling me to do whatever the person wanted. -There was a lack of direction, no clarity, and no work prioritized coming from my manager. -​​Socials are mandatory for you to attend. If you can't make it due to personal life events you will get reprimanded. Again, culture is extremely forced. -The startup culture is often used as an excuse to burn people out. Mental breakdowns, crying at work have become too common. HR says take time off, but things don't change when you come back. It happens all over again. -When people have gone to HR to voice their concerns confidentially it gets dismissed and we’ve been told to chat with our managers even if the issue is about them. -Don’t forget to do your Squadley Goals! On top of all the work you have to do, you have to find time to try to accomplish all your goals. We’re not given any free time to work on these Squadley goals that are pushed on us. -AltaML is primarily a consulting company. Cool AI products are non-existent as they market themselves to be. -The leaders are not industry experts yet act like they know it all. Accountability is non-existent and there is no vision in the company.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don’t be fooled by the noise they make

    Aug 20, 2021 - ML Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Might be lucky to find some nice people

    Cons

    Don’t be fooled by the noise they make on LinkedIn or webinars or other events. They are just making noise to make themselves look credible, but they have no quality. Only meaningless noise. You’re better off work at companies where you are valued and can learn. Majority of stuff they do is very basic. You will be amazed how much learning opportunity time you will lose when you work with this company. They talk a lot about personal development plans, but let me tell you its all just “talk”. They make you work like a slave on basic stuff that you not only don’t have any time for personal development and learning, but you will feel burnt out everyday, even though at the end of day you will feel you have not learned much even after that hard work. They really like to think of themselves as big players in AI in Alberta, but that does not come with just making number one noise in alberta but quality. AltaML, you are not there and you are way way far from that. Poor developers that end up here for their first job. They think its a nice place to learn and become known. Don’t do that to yourself. There are too many nice companies out there for you. Don’t think this is the only place. You will waste your time here. Majority of technical managers are not qualified. They just give themselves manager title but to be honest when you challenge them a bit you will realize they only know some basic stuff in general terms. By the way, they have a limitless vacation policy. Don’t be fooled by that either. They just really love to imitate what big tech companies are doing with this, but guess what: they just like to make themselves feel good by saying they have similar policy to Google. Here, limitless vacation means not enough vacation at all. Why? Because there is culture there that people do not take much vacation and if somebody does, even for a week, they will look really bad. The salaries are below average as well. No bonus, no yearly salary increase. You will have a low fixed salary generally. I don’t know what is good here. Focus on your other opportunities. I am so happy I am out of there. Also, people leave this company quickly. Low retention rate. You will see a lot of people leave only after a few months. That should tell you something about this company by itself. Also, they talk about being gritty as one if their values. In reality that only means pushing you to overwork all the time. It brings value to the company of course, but nothing for you as an employee.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Good people, but swings between not doing things and bureaucratic box ticking

    Jul 28, 2021 - Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have a very good DEI culture. Good work life balance if you are not in a niche technical role (basically anything other than Machine Learning/Data Science developers). Great place to launch a data science career. No jerks. I haven't met one mean person here.

    Cons

    We used to have a pretty open culture. That is now gone, a combination of it not mattering (as little gets done about employee problems and concerns anyway as follow through is terrible) and them lecturing people using the suggestion box as "negative." Increasingly bureaucratic. Endless forms and slide decks and reports and updates and time tracking. Main piece of management software is a checkbox software called Squadley where we have to generate goals we all view as useless to check off each quarter. I only ever hear from my manager about my goals, not my day to day project work. It is worse than when I worked for the provincial government. It is a decent place to be. Less so if you actually want to get work done.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    AltaML Response

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you believe we have a good DEI culture and that we are a great place to launch a data science career. When we were in a startup space, we had an easier time getting to know each other and supporting one another (especially prior to COVID). We are working through some growing pains and are working to ensure our employees feel they are heard and that our managers encourage open and constructive feedback in their teams. We will continue to improve these practices as we scale.

  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Ask the how many people get fired here

    Aug 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The marketing and people groups could help you pull off amazing frauds, like the external image of the culture here. Volkswagen should have hired them to cover up their diesel scandal.

    Cons

    Ask how many people get fired here.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    disorganized

    Jul 21, 2021 - PdM 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    friendly people that are easy to work with

    Cons

    very disorganized with focus on some unimportant stuff

    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with AltaML Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at AltaML? Share Your Experiences

AltaML logo
or