AMEC Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AMEC Reviews

Updated Oct 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
AMEC CEO Guy Mazzola
Guy Mazzola
3 Ratings
  1. "Technical Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Editor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AMEC for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. High standards, lots of integrity

    Cons

    Sometimes manager didn't know what I was capable of so I had to hunt for the work I was hired to do.

    Advice to Management

    Hire me back

    AMEC2017-01-29
  2. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CAD Drafter in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AMEC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to start career.

    Cons

    low pay, and quick staff turnover

    AMEC2019-05-19
  3. "Chemical Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AMEC full-time

    Pros

    good management. good ppl and staff

    Cons

    pay is low compared to other companies

    AMEC2018-05-28
  4. "Electrical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Designer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AMEC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunities within a company and lots of training

    Cons

    Oil and gas driven and laid offs

    AMEC2017-11-19
  5. "Sr. Electrical Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Electrical Designer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AMEC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, very professional engineering practice culture. Friendly and cooperation team members. Every second Friday off, flexible schedule. Good RRSP matching on top of basic benefits. Great 5 years employed with them.

    Cons

    Expanding your skills and knowledge in related disciplines are discouraging.

    Advice to Management

    There are many levels of management for different disciplines which caused a disconnect and no relationship between disciplines group.

    AMEC2017-04-04
  6. "Instrumentation Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Instrumentation Designer in Prince George, BC

    I worked at AMEC for less than a year

    Pros

    great team, well structured and cares for their contractors

    Cons

    In my experience there have been no negatives

    Advice to Management

    Bring me back

    AMEC2016-12-31
  7. "Senior/Lead Structural Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Structural Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AMEC for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large well established and reputable company with International assignments.

    Cons

    Concentrated on Oil Sands industrial projects.

    Advice to Management

    Diversifying the industry field.

    AMEC2016-12-12
  8. "Good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at AMEC

    Pros

    Good management and good management.

    Cons

    Downsizing because of downturn in oil prices.

    AMEC2016-11-06
  9. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AMEC full-time

    Pros

    The people I worked with were great, I enjoyed going to work each day even when times were tough. The freedom to direct my career was good as well.

    Cons

    Lack of work made it difficult to expand my career, I really don't have any negative feed back for the company though.

    Advice to Management

    I felt management was successful in leading the company towards a larger AMEC company. Some growing pains were felt one the way, however I believe management made the best decisions within the framework provided by corporate.

    AMEC2015-10-28
  10. "Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AMEC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth are present as well as to see various job sites on a lodng-term basis. However, you need to push for these opportunities and be very patient. Great work-life balance, overall.

    Cons

    It can take 3-4 years to see a significant change in position or career growth. Employees are not fairly rewarded for performance.

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be greater focus osne rewarding young employees for great performance.

    AMEC2015-08-03
Found 35 reviews
</>Embed